We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (126)
Filter reviews
126 results
Traveller rating
69
16
13
13
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
69
16
13
13
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot tub the main lodge the owner moosehead lake rustic cabin roaring fire prime rib beautiful spot front porch only negative full kitchen lodge rooms maine lodge great hospitality cross country skiing rented a pontoon boat great food
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 126 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2016

We just returned from a fantastic week at the Birches Resort! The resort is everything you expect in northern Maine. Real rustic charm to step back, relax and enjoy life. Everyone there made you feel like old friends. After a long day of snowmobiling, we would stop in the bar for a drink, and hop in the hottub. Then off to dinner at the Birches restaurant, yummy! Usually, it was just the 2 of us, but they also accommodated our group of 12 one night with no issues. One of my friends worked out every morning in the onsite gym, but snowmobiling was enough of a workout for me! A special thank you to Dana for fixing our snowmobile.
We happened to have rain one day and I was shocked at how well their groomers were able to take the bumps and icy corners out of Route 66! The riding going west and north was good to great. There was no riding south to Greenville but that didn't matter because it is easy to go in so many other directions from the Birches.
The views from our house on Moosehead Lake straight across to Kineo were stunning.
There were a dozen ice sailboats on the lake as we were leaving. I wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NewEnglandPatriots08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2016

My friends and I are private pilots of small airplanes and every winter we make it a point to visit the Biches. This is our favorite destination for the entire year. John and his entire staff treat us like family! The Birches is a destination with many different experiences to offer. Our group really enjoy the rustic cabins with the feel of the olden days.
We travel to the Birches in our airplanes each winter and land on the ice right in front of the main lodge. We come here for the tranquility and hospitality that John and his staff offer. Whether it's cross country skiing, snowmobiling or just relaxing in the lodge you will find no better place to let yourself unwind.
I can't speak for the higher end accommodations they have to offer here as we come looking for the feeling that the old cabins offer. They are top shelf.
If you want to get away from it all and like the sitting by the wood stove and taking in the million dollar views you must visit the Birches!

Room Tip: The Lakeside Cabins Are My Favorite!
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Cain B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2016 via mobile

If you want to be in nature, enjoy bold mountain and lake views, have lots of fun, and have a great restaurant and lounge to visit for breakfast, lunch and dinner, this is the place!.
Lodging options for every budget and taste.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Tania M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2015

We stayed in one of the lodges at The Birches Resort and dined in their kitchen. If you're looking for an old fashioned Maine lodge experience with really good food, friendly people, and dazzling views...this is it.

Room Tip: We had a large group and stayed in a common lodge with separate rooms. Fabulous!
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2015 via mobile

The Birches resort and rental homes on the shore of Moosehead Lake in what has to be the finest location across from Mount Kineo was all we imagined for a week surrounded by beautiful natural surroundings in the great outdoors. The bar and restaurant offerings at the lodge were very good as were other amenities including a large fitness center, sauna, outdoor hot tub, boating(for a fee), a gift shop, concierge services, housekeeping, and oodles of nature trails for wildlife viewing. The management at Birches aims to please so if you have any issues I can assure you everything under the sun will be done to make sure you are happy and enjoying your stay. The two resort dogs Sochi and Jack stop by the lakefront cabins and lodge to greet guests. You can get take out dinners or bagged lunches to go at the front desk. You should make reservations for dining on holiday weekends otherwise it's walk in. We stayed at Feelin Groovy which was perfect for our small party and was nicely situated. We left feeling refreshed and satisfied at a very successful and invigorating vacation for our family. There was not a television at our cabin but we had so much to occupy our time that none of us missed it whatsoever. The lodge has wifi for the mobile attached types. The lodge has satellite TV if you can't live without it. Thank you so much for the peaceful retreat from the hustle and bustle of everyday life Birches staff and management. We will be returning!

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
Thank happyincharlietown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews