We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing People and Amazing Location”
Review of The Birches Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rockwood
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Birches Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rockwood
Reviewed 13 February 2016

My friends and I are private pilots of small airplanes and every winter we make it a point to visit the Biches. This is our favorite destination for the entire year. John and his entire staff treat us like family! The Birches is a destination with many different experiences to offer. Our group really enjoy the rustic cabins with the feel of the olden days.
We travel to the Birches in our airplanes each winter and land on the ice right in front of the main lodge. We come here for the tranquility and hospitality that John and his staff offer. Whether it's cross country skiing, snowmobiling or just relaxing in the lodge you will find no better place to let yourself unwind.
I can't speak for the higher end accommodations they have to offer here as we come looking for the feeling that the old cabins offer. They are top shelf.
If you want to get away from it all and like the sitting by the wood stove and taking in the million dollar views you must visit the Birches!

Room Tip: The Lakeside Cabins Are My Favorite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Cain B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

37 - 41 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2016 via mobile

If you want to be in nature, enjoy bold mountain and lake views, have lots of fun, and have a great restaurant and lounge to visit for breakfast, lunch and dinner, this is the place!.
Lodging options for every budget and taste.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Tania M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2015

We stayed in one of the lodges at The Birches Resort and dined in their kitchen. If you're looking for an old fashioned Maine lodge experience with really good food, friendly people, and dazzling views...this is it.

Room Tip: We had a large group and stayed in a common lodge with separate rooms. Fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2015 via mobile

The Birches resort and rental homes on the shore of Moosehead Lake in what has to be the finest location across from Mount Kineo was all we imagined for a week surrounded by beautiful natural surroundings in the great outdoors. The bar and restaurant offerings at the lodge were very good as were other amenities including a large fitness center, sauna, outdoor hot tub, boating(for a fee), a gift shop, concierge services, housekeeping, and oodles of nature trails for wildlife viewing. The management at Birches aims to please so if you have any issues I can assure you everything under the sun will be done to make sure you are happy and enjoying your stay. The two resort dogs Sochi and Jack stop by the lakefront cabins and lodge to greet guests. You can get take out dinners or bagged lunches to go at the front desk. You should make reservations for dining on holiday weekends otherwise it's walk in. We stayed at Feelin Groovy which was perfect for our small party and was nicely situated. We left feeling refreshed and satisfied at a very successful and invigorating vacation for our family. There was not a television at our cabin but we had so much to occupy our time that none of us missed it whatsoever. The lodge has wifi for the mobile attached types. The lodge has satellite TV if you can't live without it. Thank you so much for the peaceful retreat from the hustle and bustle of everyday life Birches staff and management. We will be returning!

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
Thank happyincharlietown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2015

My fourth trip to the Birches. It had been six years since my last visit and I wondered what effect the recession had on this idyllic place. Happily it was just as wonderful as my previous visits. The cabins are rustic and showing their age but are immaculate with new fresh clean bedding and towels. New this time was purchasing firewood which was fine as there was plenty of kindling and old papers at the cabin to start fire with.

We were in Cabin 20 which is the last one toward the marina. It had a sweet deck set out over the lake and a pocket beach. We cooked two dinners and lunches over the fire pit and enjoyed our last night's dinner in the lodge - try the prime rib! We had neighbors on both sides (a cozy cabin was beyond us) but everyone there seems to appreciate and respect the quiet wonder of the place and we heard not a peep when we shouldn't have.

We enjoyed cocktails several afternoons on the porch of the lodge. The bartender was great. We watched a rain storm move across the lake while we sipped our drinks dry as could be. We also had breakfast the last morning of our visit in the lodge. Best corned beef hash ever.

We enjoyed a Moose Cruise with Max at the helm. He was very informative and we saw two moose! We took the ferry over to Kineo and had a beer in the club house of the golf course. And, the best for me was a float plane ride with owner John Willard. I've always wanted to go and this time I did. It was a spectacular, thrilling one hour ride. And we saw another Moose. It was a flight I will always remember.

If you are looking for the perfect quiet, off the beaten path get away that takes you to a time long gone we highly recommend the birches. We can't wait to get back next year and hope we can coordinate our dates with our extended family.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terryinthenorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockwood
35 km away
Kineo View Lodge
Kineo View Lodge
#1 of 3 in Greenville
118 reviews
28.1 km away
Lodge at Moosehead Lake
Lodge at Moosehead Lake
#2 of 5 in Greenville
257 reviews
3.1 km away
Gray Ghost Camps
Gray Ghost Camps
#1 of 5 in Rockwood
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.8 km away
Moose Mountain Inn
Moose Mountain Inn
#4 of 5 in Greenville
78 reviews
30.9 km away
Greenville Inn at Moosehead Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Birches Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Birches Resort

Address: 281 Birches Rd, Rockwood, ME 04478
Region: United States > Maine > Rockwood
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rockwood
Price Range: $26 - $512 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the northwestern shores of Moosehead Lake, The Birches Resort features the best in north-woods style accommodations, dining, and family fun. Our lodging options right on the lake and with a close up view of Mt. Kineo range from our famous Rustic Cabins, Kozy Cabins, Private Homes, Lodge Rooms, Camp/RV sites, Suites, and more. With so many summer and winter activities to offer you can see why our satisfied guests have come back year after year for generations! Boat, canoe, kayak snowmobile rentals. Jeep tours, Moose Safaris. Sea Plane tours. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Birches Hotel Rockwood
Birches Hotel Rockwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing