We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (126)
Filter reviews
126 results
Traveller rating
69
16
13
13
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
69
16
13
13
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot tub the owner moosehead lake the main lodge rustic cabin float plane wood stove xc ski take advantage full kitchen ribs lodge rooms outdoor activities roaring fire wonderful place beautiful location prime rib
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 126 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2015 via mobile

The Birches resort and rental homes on the shore of Moosehead Lake in what has to be the finest location across from Mount Kineo was all we imagined for a week surrounded by beautiful natural surroundings in the great outdoors. The bar and restaurant offerings at the lodge were very good as were other amenities including a large fitness center, sauna, outdoor hot tub, boating(for a fee), a gift shop, concierge services, housekeeping, and oodles of nature trails for wildlife viewing. The management at Birches aims to please so if you have any issues I can assure you everything under the sun will be done to make sure you are happy and enjoying your stay. The two resort dogs Sochi and Jack stop by the lakefront cabins and lodge to greet guests. You can get take out dinners or bagged lunches to go at the front desk. You should make reservations for dining on holiday weekends otherwise it's walk in. We stayed at Feelin Groovy which was perfect for our small party and was nicely situated. We left feeling refreshed and satisfied at a very successful and invigorating vacation for our family. There was not a television at our cabin but we had so much to occupy our time that none of us missed it whatsoever. The lodge has wifi for the mobile attached types. The lodge has satellite TV if you can't live without it. Thank you so much for the peaceful retreat from the hustle and bustle of everyday life Birches staff and management. We will be returning!

Date of stay: August 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank happyincharlietown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2015

My fourth trip to the Birches. It had been six years since my last visit and I wondered what effect the recession had on this idyllic place. Happily it was just as wonderful as my previous visits. The cabins are rustic and showing their age but are immaculate with new fresh clean bedding and towels. New this time was purchasing firewood which was fine as there was plenty of kindling and old papers at the cabin to start fire with.

We were in Cabin 20 which is the last one toward the marina. It had a sweet deck set out over the lake and a pocket beach. We cooked two dinners and lunches over the fire pit and enjoyed our last night's dinner in the lodge - try the prime rib! We had neighbors on both sides (a cozy cabin was beyond us) but everyone there seems to appreciate and respect the quiet wonder of the place and we heard not a peep when we shouldn't have.

We enjoyed cocktails several afternoons on the porch of the lodge. The bartender was great. We watched a rain storm move across the lake while we sipped our drinks dry as could be. We also had breakfast the last morning of our visit in the lodge. Best corned beef hash ever.

We enjoyed a Moose Cruise with Max at the helm. He was very informative and we saw two moose! We took the ferry over to Kineo and had a beer in the club house of the golf course. And, the best for me was a float plane ride with owner John Willard. I've always wanted to go and this time I did. It was a spectacular, thrilling one hour ride. And we saw another Moose. It was a flight I will always remember.

If you are looking for the perfect quiet, off the beaten path get away that takes you to a time long gone we highly recommend the birches. We can't wait to get back next year and hope we can coordinate our dates with our extended family.

Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terryinthenorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2015

We rented one of the 2 bedroom cabins on the lake for a 3 day getaway this August. It was perfect. Rustic but clean, picturesque location, friendly and helpful staff. It was dog friendly, which can sometimes mean less than clean. But, this place was great. It was just as we had hoped and expected. The water does smell and it doesn't taste good so we brought our own. For brushing teeth and showering it was fine. There was no odor from the standing toilet water, just when you ran it from the faucets. I'm sure it is safe, but I prefer spring water to drink.

Room tip: There is wifi available in the main lodge only. Maybe the closest cabins would have access there as well.
Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lisanewportw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2015 via mobile

Having read previous reviews going back several years, it is apparent that this resort has problems which have not been rectified. It isn't worth the effort of listing them all in detail as the owner appears to show no interest in fixing them. If you are happy to stay somewhere where the curtains don't cover the windows, the toilets don't flush properly, the water tastes of iron, there are no locks on the cabin doors, there are rickety beds which seem to be on the verge of collapsing and the shower head is held on with duct tape and a rubber band, or being able to see outside daylight through the many gaps in the logs, you will have no problem with The Birches.

We had a 3 night reservation, but only lasted 2 as we were so fed up with the place. It seemed odd upon checking in that the girl on reception pointed out the hotel offered no refund for early check out. This would not be something we would expect either, but it did feel like it was being stated for a reason, and sadly that became apparent fairly early in to our stay. Our expectations were reasonable, one of us grew up in a log cabin, but we were very disappointed as this place has so much potential. Rich, the bar manager, is great, the location by the lake Is beautiful and the restaurant is reasonable, but everything else is a massive let down.

Date of stay: August 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4  Thank Harvey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john w, Owner at The Birches Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2015

I am sorry this person did not have a nice stay. We advertise our original log cabins which were built in the 1930's as rustic but comfortable. Had this guest contacted our front desk and requested one of our more modern accomodations on the lake , perhaps they would have had a nicer time.

Our public water supply has some iron taste as does most water in Rockwood, however it is tested monthly by the state. We do offer bottled spring water to our guests.

We are generally full this time of year which is why we have a no refund policy as do many other Maine accomodations businesses. Our peak season is short and we have a large staff.

Cabin 10 which is the one referenced here is one of our most popular with a nice stone fireplace and a great spot overlooking the lake.

I am available through our front desk at all times on premise for guests requests. We respond immediately with maintainence issues including housekeeping issues such as blinds and curtains.

We want very happy guests and our large percentage of repeat customers prove that they are are pleased with The Birches.

We do try to please all of our guests, however some expectations for a north woods experience in a real hand made log cabin are perhaps not so easy to fulfill.


John Willard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2015

The odor from the water was disgusting, sulfur smell.You should advise people prior to ck in if they have health issues to go elsewhere.We have been refused a refund for early ck out.not good business

Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sf5253if
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john w, Owner at The Birches Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2015

Hi,

We did have a problem with a hot water heater. It was corrected in about 15 minutes. We have a full time maintainence staff to address problems such as this. The Iron in the water reacted with the heater. It posed no heath problem. We try to address guest requests immediately.

John Willard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews