We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again”
Review of Clarion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Clarion Hotel
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Portland
GreenLeadersBronze level
Beverly, MA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Never again”
Reviewed 24 January 2012

My husband and I were traveling with my parents and booked this hotel last minute through Priceline. Well, although Priceline usually comes through for me this was a disaster! We booked 2 rooms side by side and I had emailed the hotel in advance to let them know our bedding preferences. At no point was I told that renovations would be underway when we got there. Although they were desperately needed.

The lobby area was just depressing and our initial rooms weren’t much better. Carpets had seen better days. Everything had an older dirty feeling to it. I thoroughly checked the beds to ensure the sheets were clean which they appeared to be. Fortunately we were just passing through so we only needed to stay one night and because we were with my parents we didn’t want to make too much of a fuss but if it had been just my husband and I we would have gone elsewhere.

When my husband attempted to use the shower before we headed out for dinner it came off in his hand. Not a good sign. The hotels response was to “upgrade” us – ok, this should be interesting we think. The “upgrade” consisted of the same size and set up room, one floor higher and with the inclusion of a small fridge that didn’t work! Great, but at least the shower did. We left as early as we could the next morning and felt like everything needed to be fumigated when we got home. Not a great hotel experience at all and unfortunately it left such a bad taste in our mouths that we won’t even consider staying at another Clarion. I know that may seem unreasonable (and unfair to the entire chain) but that’s how bad that experience was for us.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deeob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg M, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
We have taken all of your comments into consideration, and we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

At the Clarion we strive to meet every guest’s needs and we guarantee their satisfaction. I’m very sorry to hear that we fell short of your expectations and that we were unable to make your stay enjoyable. We were indeed in the process of upgrading all of our rooms with new furniture, flat screen televisions, and bathroom decor. While we are very happy with the outcome, we deeply apologize for the inconvenience that this may have caused you. Thank you also for bringing the maintenance issue with the shower to our attention. While we work hard to identify these problems before our guests do, we sometimes fail to catch them and are disappointed that this had a negative impact on your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    226
    128
    64
    37
See reviews for
159
187
45
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Meredith, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
99 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

This isn't the typical type of location I visit, but I got a great deal on Priceline for the Clarion for a last minute getaway. It is more on the outskirts of Portland, so you will need to have your car available to get around. Very busy traffic area. We visited while they had a wedding party in house, and aside from seeing the slew of wedding guests in the lobby and the limos and entourage outside, we didn't notice much noise once in the room. Either the hotel did a good job of keeping it's regular guests away from the wedding party, or the rooms have decent noise insultation... either way it was good. Bed not the best, but again this is a value chain hotel, not a high end hotel where I would expect a luxe bed. Definitely keep this in mind if you need a good deal and check out their prices through online discount sites like Priceline.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lilahNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg M, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a response regarding your stay at our hotel. I’m glad that were able to accommodate you with your last minute needs. I was also happy to hear that the hustle and bustle of the wedding group did not disturb you during your stay. We do our best to make sure every guest is happy and comfortable. Feedback like this is great because it lets us know that what we are doing is working, and more importantly, it is leaving our guests satisfied with their stay!

Thank you for choosing the Clarion, and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Maine
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

A friend and I stayed overnight for a work function. Our room was large and very clean. There isn't much of a view out the window - you basically look out onto the parking lot and the highway, but that's ok - unless I am at the beach or in the mountains, I keep the curtains drawn anyway....so that didn't deter from my overall feelings about the hotel.

The location is great - close to the Old Port where there are great restaurants, stores, museums, and the hotel is visible from the highway, so it's easy for out-of-towners to find. I spend a lot of time in Portland, so I already knew how to get there.

The staff was very friendly and helpful, and while we were there the night before New Year's Eve, we headed to Pete and Larry's Lounge downstairs. It was my friend, me, and two people watching a Celtics game. Not a "hot spot," but the bartender was friendly and the nachos we ordered were delicious! And they had plenty of TVs on which to watch the game.

It's affordable. It's clean. It's nothing fancy but if you are looking for a clean, warm place to stay while spending time in Portland...I would recommend the Clarion. If you are looking for a view of Portland Harbor, then this isn't the hotel for you - but if you would rather save your money to eat at amazing restaurants in the Old Port, then stay here...it's an easy cab ride downtown and back, and you can use your money to buy your dinner, admission to the Portland Museum of Art (well worth the visit) and still have some money to purchase your lobster-themed souvenirs to take home.

Enjoy!

Room Tip: All the rooms basically have the same view. We were told that the poolside rooms are mostly filled w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bethinmaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg M, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
We appreciate your taking the time to post a review, and your compliments about our hotel are well received. It’s always great to hear that our staff was able to lend a helpful hand to make a guest’s stay more pleasant.

I also have to agree with you that the nachos in Pete & Larry’s are delicious! If you return in the near future, I would urge you to stop in to catch another game at the restaurant.

Thank you for the kind words, and hopefully we’ll see you when you return to Portland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We got a great deal on Priceline and used this for our last night in Maine because it is halfway between downtown and he Airport. Staff was friendly. R. Bar opened at 5PMoom was clean with a refrigerator and excellent big screen TV.Comfortable bed. Only complaint was plastic cups for water. Nothing really bad nor really great

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gashrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg M, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Thank you for posting your review of our hotel, and we appreciate your comments. Our location is perfect for anyone using the airport, as it is half way between the airport and the Old Port area. I am glad to hear that this worked well for you.

As for the beds, I’m happy they were to your satisfaction. We do our best to make sure that our guests are comfortable. And just to inform you for a future stay, we now have glass cups in the rooms!

Thank you again, and we hope to see you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2011

Great sized room, spotless and Great water pressure. I will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveltheworldfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg M, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Thank you for you compliments! We are glad that we were able to make your stay pleasant and that you were satisfied with all these aspects of our hotel.

Thank you for choosing the Clarion, and we hope we can accommodate you again on your next trip to Portland!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
4.2 km away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#12 of 19 in Portland
1,549 reviews
4.0 km away
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland
0.7 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
The Westin Portland Harborview
2.4 km away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
2.8 km away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 19 in Portland
1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel

Property: Clarion Hotel
Address: 1230 Congress St, Portland, ME 04102-2129
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Portland
Price range (per night): $105 - $356
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Hotel is a full service hotel located just 5 minutes from downtown Portland, Maine. The hotel offers a dining room, lounge, business center, pool, Jacuzzi, fitness center, on-site laundry. We pride ourselves on offering exemplary products and service to all our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Portland, Maine
Clarion Portland
Portland Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing