We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value at quaint, convenient B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Morrill Mansion Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 12 Portland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great value at quaint, convenient B&B”
Reviewed 26 March 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Morrill Mansion B&B over New Year's weekend. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable and David is always around if you need something but never intrusive. The breakfasts are fresh and delicious and have something for everyone - you can have a more substantial gourmet brunch or something lighter, like yogurt and cereal. There is parking at the inn, but on a nice day, you will not need the car if you are going to the Old Port, which is an easy walk from the inn.

Five Fifty-Five and Fore Street are excellent if you are looking for great dinner spots. Maine Mead Works is also well worth the trip if you like mead or are interested in trying it.

We will definitely return to Morrill Mansion. Thanks for a great stay, David!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jpl09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    368
    27
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
29
277
19
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pelham, MA
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We stayed at the perfectly appointed Morrill Mansion B&B based on TripAdvisor reviews, and we weren't disappointed. It's obvious from the moment you enter this delightful building that you are inside an historical treasure.

We stayed in the Vaughn room, with it's well maintained 19th century ornate casings, oak floor, beautiful period furniture, bright, but appropriate color scheme, and decoratively tiled bathroom. The window view isn't outstanding in any way, but the room had enough character that it really didn't matter to us. The bedside tables were carved antiques, the bed mission style, the two antique chairs upholstered in heavy tapestry weave, the armoire another large, mirrored antique. Somehow all of this authentic furniture was excellently maintained. There was a ceiling fan and lights, and a dvd player and tv with a huge stock of movies in case of cold or rainy weather.

The private bath was small, bright, and no obvious expense was spared on the fixtures and tile. The shower was done completely in terra cotta european-styled tile, which somehow managed to comfortably update the historical nature of the place, it had plentiful hot water and fine fixtures. Sadly, no water-saver, though. All the wall decorations were interesting and not at all the predictable and tiresome stuff that is usual in many places.

David was the proprietor, and while he was quietly and unobtrusively in the background, he always seemed available if needed for questions about the Inn or the town. The breakfast was marvelous...french toast with real Maine wild blueberries, mellons, toast, bagels, and so on. The coffee was great, too. This is a place we'll go back to next time we're up in Portland.

All in all, a really delightful experience!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MisterJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoboken, NJ
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

My husband and I were very pleased with Morrill Mansion. David, the owner/innkeeper, was very friendly and gave us great recommendations. Boda, the Thai restaurant he suggested, was our favorite during the entire trip! The inn was quiet and very clean. We stayed in the Burnham room which felt much larger than the pictures on their website show. The bathroom was almost as big as the bedroom! My husband loved the snacks David left out for us too...whoopie pies and fudge! We were really happy with Morrill Mansion and would definitely return!

Room Tip: David mentions this on the website I think, but it's true...there's no elevator and a small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LunaCali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, MA
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Yes, the previous reviewers had it right - Morrill Mansion is indeed a gem in Portland! We spent a long weekend in January at this beautiful and clean B&B and enjoyed it immensely. The rooms and breakfasts have been described fully in other reviews. Food and snacks were terrific, and I don't know why David bills breakfast as continental, as it was much more than that. There was a hot entree every morning, in addition to the wonderful custards, fruit crisps, fresh fruit, and many other items (not to mention the yummy afternoon snacks!). While it was noted in other reviews that the guests sit at separate breakfast tables, it was very easy to initiate conversations with others if desired.

The B&B's location was much closer to the museums than we had expected, and it wasn't that long a walk to the Old Port area. While it was quite cold and icy the weekend we visited, we didn't feel the need to take a cab at all, even late at night. Many interesting restaurants are within walking distance, and Boda, the Thai restaurant, has excellent, half-priced tapas after 9:30 on Sunday nights.

I peeked in all the rooms, and you can't go wrong with any of them. The halls are carpeted, keeping it quiet throughout. David is a gracious and accommodating host, and is very helpful with recommendations. Morrill Mansion will definitely be at the top of our list for our next visit to Portland.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NEReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisbane
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2011

We were on a 10 day driving tour through the New England, and would spontaneously look for accommodation when we were ready to stop for the night. We always were lucky and happy with what we found but the gem was the Morrill Mansion which had 2 rooms available for the night (we are two couples) at the best (and reasonable) rate we had yet been offered. Both rooms were spacious and quaintly decorated, in keeping with the old-world style that these B&B's in old mansions do so well, and each with a very comfortable king bed, and good sized bathroom. There was a communal tea making/coffee facility right outside our doors, in the hallway. (we hadn't seen this in any of the hotels/B&B's where we had stayed since starting our trip, 7 days earlier.) There was a also a very well-equipped sitting room on the second floor, with a TV, library, games, DVD's, fridge and loung chairs, and a big plate of cakes on the table (we didn't realise at the time that these were the Maine sweet specialities of whoopie pies!) David, our host, was very welcoming, and helpful, and recommended some restaurants in walking distance. We choose the French restaurant which was excellent (and the young waitress was genuinely friendly and professional in her service) The breakfast next morning was also excellent and different - lobster soufle was the hot dish. It certainly was a treasure.Thank you David very much for providing us with such a lovely accommodation and service while we were overnighting in Portland.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.8 km away
The Westin Portland Harborview
1.5 km away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 19 in Portland
1,367 reviews
1.5 km away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
1.9 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
1.0 km away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morrill Mansion Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morrill Mansion Bed & Breakfast

Property: Morrill Mansion Bed & Breakfast
Address: 249 Vaughan St, Portland, ME 04102-3301
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price range (per night): $299 - $397
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Morrill Mansion Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au and Hotels.com so you can book your Morrill Mansion Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morrill Mansion Bed And Breakfast
Morrill Mansion Hotel Portland
Morrill Mansion Bed & Breakfast Portland, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing