We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“From Karole & Josée”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Old Orchard Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Royal Anchor Resort
Ranked #16 of 43 Hotels in Old Orchard Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“From Karole & Josée”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

Our parents took us there many years ago. Now that they have "left" us, we just love to go there and recall memories of them while taking some relaxing time away from work and husbands !!!!!!!!!!!!! (Oh Oh ! did I really say that ?) September is a great time to go !

Room Tip: All rooms are great but of course ocean view and pool views are the best !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    34
    12
    7
    4
See reviews for
94
49
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

if you like body surfing decent size waves in fairly warm waters of the atlantic then this area is the place to be. Weather was pretty hot so the water was inviting and the waves became our best friends.Clean hotel with good breakfast right on a nice quiet piece of beach real estate made this holiday an enjoyable one. Great walking on the soft sands to either the funky pier or to gaze at the how the other half live in their regal manors. Bring your bicycles to cruise the avenues around the maine landscape and don't forget a trip to the famous Clam Bake seafood eatery where your palate with have a pleasurable time.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angscotjer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abilene, Texas
Level Contributor
87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

This was our first visit - wonderful location right on OOB. We came at the very end of the season, so it was not crowded. We stayed in one of their "upgrade" rooms, which has its own private terrace with lounge chairs overlooking the ocean. Beds were comfy, linens/pillows were nice. The bathroom is teeny but it worked out ok. The one thing I didn't check when booking was air conditioning - they did have ceiling fans, but no A/C. If we had come in the summer that would have been a deal-breaker for us, but it worked out for October. Their continental breakfast buffet was wonderful - fresh fruit; bagels, English muffins, and bread for toast with multiple toppings; boiled eggs; oatmeal; coffee, juices, and teas - I appreciated that the food was fresh (and not pre-packaged). Short drive to the pier or to other coastal locations. Would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mamahahn98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherbrooke, Québec Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

First visit. stayed 3 days and loved it. Clean rooms, great breakfast included. Very nice staff and owners very friendly. Great location. Very nice grounds with easy access to the beach. Easy parking. Rates equals quality of hotel. AAA (CAA) or Senior discount during low season. We will defenetly go back.

Room Tip: 3 floors but no elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brisimono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

My husband and I have always a really nice time at Royal Anchor Resort. Employees and owners ( Mark & Claire Bureau ) are really sympatic.
The rooms are clean, the deluxe breakfast is good. The pool is nice with warm temperature, the beach and the view are fantastic
We suggest you this nice and quiet motel to spend your vacations.
Valerie

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Old Orchard Beach hotels
2.6 km away
Old Colonial Motel
Old Colonial Motel
#18 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.1 km away
Ocean Walk Hotel
Ocean Walk Hotel
#10 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
1.1 km away
Alouette Beach Resort
Alouette Beach Resort
#11 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#6 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
1.7 km away
Crest Motel
Crest Motel
#8 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.7 km away
Friendship Oceanfront Suites
Friendship Oceanfront Suites
#9 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Anchor Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Anchor Resort

Property: Royal Anchor Resort
Address: 203 E Grand Ave, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064-3017
Region: United States > Maine > Old Orchard Beach
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
#15 Family Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
Price range (per night): $92 - $237
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Royal Anchor Hotel Old Orchard Beach
Hotel Royal Anchor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing