We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (45)
Filter reviews
45 results
Traveller rating
31
4
5
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
31
4
5
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews full kitchen old orchard we've stayed living room many years ocean beach oob
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 45 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2016

We have been staying at the Skylark for 6 years now and highly recommend the place. This is the only place on the beach that has its own private grassy overlook of the ocean as well as grills and sitting areas as well. The rooms all have ocean views and are equipped with their own fridges. We have met so many great people and would highly recommend to anyone that wants a nice quiet getaway.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank jerry w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2016

The room was a tomb. Absolutely,no view . The view is small alley parking lot and an elevated two foot wide cement walkway. On the walkway there is a faded plastic type chair. In it people sit and smoke right at your door. Literally, right at your door. There sits the air conditioner to your room that draws the smoke. Did I say the air conditioner was so loud that you want to shut it off, but you cannot because you cannot open windows due to noise and smoke and parking cars. The box spring and mattress are filthy. The sheets are paper thin and the blanket was totally pilled. More pills than blanket. A rusty old pipe runs the perimeter of the room. It hangs about one foot off ceiling. The refrigerator is brown. The racks inside are rusted and any chrome is worn so that now it is crusted. The sink and stove are combined. Electricity and water is scary. We did not dare use . The burners are covered with tin foil to hide the rusted out condition underneath. Is this actually code? The bathroom shower has a leak that squirts out from behind the wall. It had been puttied and painted over. But the foul water squirts through onto your head. The checked us into a handicap room . The room is for people with their needed animals. For two days my eyes swelled and my husband had problems breathing. We have allergies. No one informed us that the room had animals staying there. Then I asked, have there been animals staying in the room. The response was, "Not Lately". We checked out. You ask why did I stay as long as I did? Because they take your money up front. No refunds. Our vacation was ruined. This place is fraud. I have pictures to back everything!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skylark Beach I, Owner at The Skylark Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2016

Pam,

We are sorry to read here that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I won't address all of your comments but a few of them:

The manager had met with you in your room when you complained that the room was too dark. The manager suggested that you open your curtains to let the light in. You told her that you did not want anyone to look into your room, thus you kept the curtains closed. That would make the room feel less sunny, and it would of course remove the view of the ocean. When the curtains are open, there is an ocean view.

All kitchenettes are supplied with sink/stove/mini refrigerator combos - and they are quite safe - and the industry standard.

You were booked into our handicapped room, so yes there was a ramp outside of this room. Many of our guests have complimented us on having this ramp as it allows easier access into the rooms.

Our manager offered you a free upgrade to an oceanfront room following your complaints - but you refused. Please do not posted offensive comments like "this place is fraud" when that is not the truth. Instead of the room change & free upgrade, you asked for another price reduction and to keep your same room.

Our mattresses are replaced on a schedule - and the sets in this room are less than five years old.

The "rusty old pipe" that hangs below the ceiling is the pipeline for the fire sprinkle system. As the system was installed after the building was erected, it does show. Most guests are relieved to see that we have added a fire sprinkler system for their safety. And it is quite common to see this type of pipe in motels/hotels/inns.

I hope that other travelers reading your review will take the time to read the reviews posted by our other guests. With a 70% repeat clientele base, many of your comments cannot be accurate.

Thank you for taking the time to let us know of your complaints. We care about our guests' comments and their vacations.

Respectfully,

The Skylark Beach Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2016

The Skylark Beach Inn is the true meaning of the word..vacation. We found it to be very relaxing and laid back. Everyone was so kind, Dave, Marie and also the housekeeping staff all went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable and had everything we needed. We especially want to say kudos to Marie, she is an absolute joy and spreads her happiness to others. The view from the ocean front rooms are just breathtaking!

Room Tip: Ocean front is the way to go
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank rlg8285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2016 via mobile

I've found this to be one of the friendliest, quiet family Inns in Old Orchard Beach. Very clean rooms with very helpful staff. Right on the beach and so close (but not too close) to the hopping downtown shops and amusement park.
Highly recommend staying here

Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
3  Thank Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2016

My wife and I go to Maine every year and enjoy ourselves largley due to our stay at The Skylark Inn. The owners...Donna and Roger are wonderful people who want your stay to be great...one example is our TV would not work, we called Roger well past 10pm and he just brought a new TV plugged it in and we were all set. The manager Marie is the most friendly helpful person. She is a wealth of local information and just a pleasure to talk with. Marie does everything in her power to insure a relaxing dun stay...I play in a band in NY and our whole band and their spouses come out at times and we all enjoy our stay so much. We can not say enough about the place, the people, the location and the fun and relaxation you can have here and in close by. The Skylark is the only place on the whole beach with a lawn out back with tables with nothing between you and the ocean except sand...you have to see it!!

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews