We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (784)
Filter reviews
784 results
Traveller rating
670
65
14
10
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
670
65
14
10
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews anna marie marginal way perkins cove third floor great conversation old victorian ocean view get away each morning delicious breakfast gracious hosts look forward bed and breakfast relaxing weekend first morning sitting area park your car
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 784 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2017

My husband and I can't say enough about our stay at Rochmere. Bob and Andy are the best hosts ever. The breakfasts were yummy out on the veranda overlooking the rocky coast. Our room, 5, was very comfortable with views of the shoreline. The lodge is seconds away from the Marginal Way a paved path along the shoreline. Don't miss the Ogunquit Playhouse with broadway caliber productions. We liked the Cape Neddick Inn for dinner and the Cornerstone for pizza.

Room Tip: Room 5 has good views out two windows.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank fig_mar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEInnkeeper, Owner at Rockmere Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

John and Diane What a Pleasure to have You both as Guests at The Rockmere Lodge and To become Friends so Fast . Sitting and chatting and getting to know one another was so much Fun .Thank You for Loving Our Breakfast which We make fresh each Day . It was Sad to see You drive away after Your Stay with Us. We so look Forward to Your Next Visit to us in The Future .Again Thank You for Being You . XO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

This is one of those places one doesn't want to share with others because its well-deserved popularity will prevent our being able to book one of its 8 rooms. Our hosts were congenial and attentive to our comfort and concerns. We took full advantage of the tray of assorted brandies when we returned in the evening. Breakfast, while not exceptional, was more than sufficient and satisfying. We have stayed in Ogunquit many times but the Rockmere will be the place we wish to stay in the future.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Bruce L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEInnkeeper, Owner at Rockmere Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Bruce there are many other nice places in town that maybe you would love their breakfast better. Sorry We could not please you . Don't give up on Ogunquit .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

My wife and I had a delightful stay at the Rockmere Lodge. We've been to Ogunquit many times, but this stay will be the most memorable - the close proximity to the ocean, a comfortable room, delicious breakfasts and a beautiful garden setting helped us to relax and unwind. Bob and Andy were excellent hosts - friendly, helpful and easy to get to know. We'll definitely come back.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017

It was stroke of luck that brought us to The Rockmere. This is a beautiful old mansion with fabulous ocean views. The room was comfortable as was the bed. Breakfast was delicious and served on the wrap around porch with views of the ocean. The innkeepers were delightful and having owned the Inn for twenty six years had insight into the attractions and restaurants of which most were within walking distance using either the Oceanside walkway or the Shore Drive. It is well positioned half way between the town and Perkins Cove If you just want to sit and read there are plentiful areas for that both inside and out.. This was a delightful find and we will surely return.

Room Tip: would not suggest for families with small children. Not all rooms are ocean view but there are places to sit and enjoy the view.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank harold66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEInnkeeper, Owner at Rockmere Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

We are So Glad You consider Our Home Your Home Away From Home . That is what We always try to do over the last 26 Years while in Business here in Ogunquit Maine . And on Top of It All You were a Joy to be around making Us Smile and Yes Laugh over little things each day . Laughter is the Best Medicine for All of Us and You sure know how to do that !!!! P.S. Bob Loved The Book You left for Him . Thank You for Your Kindness. Until The Next Visit stay Well and Happy !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

The Rockmere Lodge setting & grounds are SPECTACULAR. It's directly next to the Marginal Way halfway between downtown Ogunquit & Perkin's Cove. Location couldn't be better. Ocean views are amazingly beautiful. That's the good news.

I've read several reviews & the owner's responses to negative remarks (too bad they're so defensive & feel people are "out to get them"). It's all about expectations. If you seek an old-style Maine experience in "rustic", "cottage-like" surroundings you'll probably be OK. But there's a confusion here between casual and messiness & poor management. This is NOT an upscale lodge, 2 stars, 3 max. Definitely not a candidate for Select Registry. Price point is debatable.

The Lodge itself has great potential. It's a lovely older structure but overdue for a serious remodel. Owners say that rooms have been upgraded recently; if so not professionally done. Repairs seem to have been completed in a haphazard, amateur manner. (The free standing room AC unit sits on the floor w/ a big hose running though a board in the window. Wooden molding replaced w/ plastic. Dangling electrical wires look dangerous. Paint is cracking inside & out, shingles are rotting, the wallpaper is sad, the paint colors & rugs are dark, dreary & outdated. Bed linens & towels are cheap & worn thin, the windows filthy. The entire place is overrun w/ plastic flowers, cheap beach junk decor & dust. Some artwork is quite nice, the rest not so much. It was hard to find an empty inch with all the "collectibles". The surplus of signs/messages (9 in my room alone) is not a big deal but adds to the tackiness.

Breakfast is OK. No options, they just deliver your plate (I think some of mine had been sitting in the kitchen for awhile). The porch view is GORGEOUS & cloth table settings are a plus. Thankfully, the rotting porch rail did not collapse during breakfast.

Several guests seem to be return patrons & know the owners. One of the owners was quite rude during my reservation & the other frankly a bit abrupt. Both seemed over-worked & annoyed w/ requests, maybe they just need help. I will not return, I wasn't an insider so was tolerated.

There are lots of options in this charming town.

Room Tip: go elsewhere for the money
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank bostermj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews