We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Serene and restorative week on a lovely lake”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Madeline Cottage

View from Shore
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from Shore
Entry way view Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
View from Shore
Entry way view
Kitchen
Kitchen
View from Kitchen
View from stairs
Bathroom Jacuzzi tub
Bathroom
Step-up Shower
View from living room
Living Room
Living Room
Walking upstairs
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom
Looking down Stairs
Twin Bedroom
Twin Bedroom
View of House
View from Living room door
Entryway
Shoreline View
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Lincolnville, Maine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
90Judith
Newton, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Serene and restorative week on a lovely lake”
Reviewed 21 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I have stayed on all of the lakes in Lincolnville and this place was one of the best. The house is compact and well-designed. It has a good kitchen, an extremely pleasant and comfortable living room with windows completely lining three walls so it is airy and connected to the lovely perennial garden and large lawn that extends down to the lake. The bedroom is very bright, lit by a skylight and windows that provide gorgeous views of the lake. It is a pleasure to lie in bed in the morning and gaze out. The road is private, and although there are quite a few summer cottages around the lake, it is quiet--no loud motorboats. The swimming is great, and it is a lot of fun to paddle the canoe around the lake which is irregularly shaped, with interesting coves. A pair of loons call to one another at night, and the night is illuminated by the brightest flashes of fireflies I've ever seen. It doesn't take long to drive to interesting nearby towns: Camden and Rockland to the south, Belfast to the north. One can take the ferry over to Islesboro (an island quite close) from Lincolnville Beach and enjoy a lobster dinner and great view near the Lincolnville dock. The only complaints we had: black flies that gave us plenty of bites (common at the end of June in Maine), the second floor got stuffy on hot days, and the bed was too soft. Otherwise, we had a wonderful time and would very much like to return.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPtravell...
Maryland, USA
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“I have never awoken to a better view”
Reviewed 20 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My wife scored major points for picking out this charming little cottage for us to visit with our 11-year old daughter. It was just perfect for a short, relaxing break, and we did not want to leave. The cottage itself is quite cosy. The setting is wonderful, right on the edge of a peaceful pond, and I awoke every morning to a picture perfect view of the pond, sometimes accompanied by loon calls. We swam in the pond, and our daughter loved taking the canoe out on her own (felt very grown up to do that). We built a fire at the fire ring by the water, and ate dinner a few feet away on the elevated deck. Hard to think of a better place for attitude adjustment. It's a 4-mile drive to Lincolnville Beach, and a few miles further than that to Belfast or Camden. I would love to return. Our only complaint was that the bed was too soft, my wife found it rather uncomfortable to sleep in.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pond-side setting
Liked least: Soft bed
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janko3278
Columbus, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 13 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Nice cottage...excellent location...everything you need...beautiful view...peaceful and relaxing...wifi and television...pet friendly...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Stairs to 2nd floor
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC
Reviewed 24 January 2013 for a stay in July 2012
3
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing