We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You MUST check it out!!”
Review of Museum L-A

Museum L-A
Ranked #1 of 21 things to do in Lewiston
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Museum L-A documents and celebrates the economic, social and technological legacy of Lewiston-Auburn and its people. Engaging exhibits, programs and special events for all ages connect history and generations - past, present and future. Gallery exhibits feature the rich heritage of the Lewiston-Auburn Maine community in relation to the amazing history of mill workers, shoe workers, and the brickyard industry as well as its prominence in the region's culture and influence.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

A FUN time for my boy & I. Great little tour!!! We learned about L/A & a lot about the Mill & all that took place. Really cool to step back in time a bit & see how things were once done if our community & the people who all made it happen. GREAT history lesson for my homeschooled boy & myself! We'll be visiting again for sure & are excited for upcoming events :)

Thank mandyznz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy B, Director of Development at Museum L-A, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Hello! Thank you so much for the very positive review! I am happy that you and your son enjoyed visiting Museum L-A. Our local history is amazing with the talent, skill and grit of the people who worked within the walls of the mills and shoe shops in Lewiston-Auburn. Please come back and visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"next year"
in 2 reviews
"old mill"
in 2 reviews
"equipment"
in 2 reviews
"machinery"
in 2 reviews
"mills"
in 4 reviews
"history"
in 9 reviews
"workers"
in 2 reviews
"canal"
in 2 reviews
"exhibits"
in 3 reviews
"maine"
in 5 reviews
Filter

14 - 18 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2018

It was unexpected treasure we found in our own backyard. We had said from time to time we wanted to go here and check it out. It turned into our own private tour of the history of our community. It was amazing to walk in the mill where some of this history took place. See the pictures of the faces that tell the story. Thank you for this wonderful surprising experience. We shouldn't have waited so long. I look forward to seeing you in the new location.

1  Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy B, Director of Development at Museum L-A, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2018

Hello Lynn, Thank you so much for your wonderful rating and comment! We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit to Museum L-A. Our museum is an unexpected treasure, and we often hear from local people that they should have visited us sooner. Please encourage your friends and family to stop by to experience local history. Follow us on Facebook if you'd like to find out more about what's happening at Museum L-A. Thank you again...come and visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2018

A great story is told inside the beautiful historical mill! If you live in the area, there is no good excuse not to visit Museum L-A. Learning more about Lewiston's history was interesting, being in the space where much of it happened, very cool! There was an impressive textile industry that flourished in Lewiston.
I learned the canals were built to be used to generate electricity for the mill! How cool is that?

Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy B, Director of Development at Museum L-A, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

We are honored that you gave us the highest rating of 5 and for your very positive comments! We really do have great stories to tell, and we hear more every day from people who visit our museum. Thank you so much for taking the time to visit us to learn about the grit and solid work ethic of the mill, shoe, and brick makers of Lewiston-Auburn, Maine. We encourage you to follow us on Facebook to stay tuned with what's happening at Museum L-A! Thank you again for sharing your comments! Kathy Becvar, Director of Development

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2018

Wonderful opportunity to tour the old mill building as well as see the textile machinery, designs and drafting procedures with the old cards, or as my daughter said 'the ancestors to the early computers. Amazing history and great tales of the area. This little museum is truly a historical gem, hosted by people who grew up with these workers in their families. Real life shared from past centuries. Enjoyed by all the family from the 3 year old to the seniors.

Thank GreenAcresTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy B, Director of Development at Museum L-A, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

Thank you so much for your 5-star rating and your positive comments! We are so happy that you enjoyed your tour of Museum L-A and that you had an opportunity to hear about the grit, ethics, and quality of the work performed by the mill, shoe and brick workers who literally built Lewiston-Auburn. Please come back to visit us again. We would be honored if you would follow us on Facebook to find out more about what's happening at Museum L-A! Thank you again! Kathy Becvar, Director of Development, Museum L-A

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2018

Had a wonderful time here, got a private tour of the second floor which provided very interesting history of the general area and how Auburn and Lewiston grew around the Bates Mill. The information was entertaining and very informative, and the space is very beautiful and well-maintained. I can highly recommend this to anybody interested in the history of Maine, textile industry or Lewiston/Auburn.

Thank Vincent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy B, Director of Development at Museum L-A, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2018

Hello Vincent! We are pleased that you enjoyed your tour and visit to Museum L-A. As you learned, we are very proud of the history and heritage of the mill workers, shoe workers, brick layers, and our community. They are a shining example of the grit and determination that the people of Lewiston-Auburn and beyond represent. Thank you so much for your positive accolades that you shared! We encourage you to visit again and share with your friends and family. Please look us up on Facebook if you'd like to stay informed of what's happening at Museum L-A!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Museum L-A? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing