We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nonantum Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Nonantum Resort
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Halifax,NS
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

Booked at the last minute and found the hotel to be clean and spacious and staff had a great attitude. Got down to breakfast a little late and the staff didn't make a fuss and warned all dinners when they were going to start clearing away.
Room was a little dated but then its a very old hotel in places. Everything worked as it should. The bed was nice and firm and comfortable.
All in all a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fred11Halifax_NS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean Ginn M, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Hello Fred:
It is great to hear you had a nice visit with us! I was particularly happy about your remark that even though you were late to breakfast no fuss was made. I like to think the folks who work here realize the importance of customer service and your letter is a lovely example of exactly that!
We are enjoying beautiful warm days and cool crisp nights. The dining room has adopted a fabulous fall menu. Why not came back and check out the autumn leaves someday soon?
Thanks so much for taking time to post this review!
Jean Ginn Marvin
Maine Innkeeper of the Year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,555 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    949
    408
    134
    43
    21
See reviews for
504
703
33
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (547)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

We just returned from the Nonantum the weekend of 9/15/12. Our stay was phenomenal.Our experience started to be really great as we were greeted by the wonderful host at the chech-in desk. He was beyond helpfull and accomodating. The room we were in was in the portside building with a balcony. This is one of the most beautiful rooms I have ever seen, and very clean. The view is very serene and magical. I loved having a cup of hot tea early in the morning on the balcony while watching the boats go by. We were traveling with our three year old daughter. She really loved the room as well and loved seeing the boats and already asked us to bring her back here. The breakfast was very very good and bountifull. Everything one could ask for. The location of the hotel could not be better. We walked to town from the hotel and did some early Christmas shopping. We love the Nonantum and all its staff, and cannot wait to return. Thank you for a really wonderful stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 763mgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean Ginn M, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
I was so happy to hear your stay was "phenomenal"! Naturally that is always our goal for each and every guest!
Enjoying an early morning hot drink on our patios has to be one of the nicest way to start a day there is. With a nip of fall in the air, a spot of tea is just the ticket to start another magical day in Kennebunkport!
You may want to consider a return trip next summer with your little girl as our Henry's Club is a huge favorite with the kiddo set. Lots of fun with other children as well as our Activities Staff (who lets face it are just a bunch of kids themselves!) I bet your daughter would have a ball!
Have a wonderful fall!
Jean Ginn Marvin
Maine Innkeeper of the Year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

Lovely old hotel with old fashioned ways. Our room was clean and spacious and overlooking the water. Our room was a bit dated decor wise but I think they are updating. Please put a coffe maker in the room -we were on the 3rd floor and are in our seventies so fetching coffee from the lobby was a problem. While this isn't a priority to some people I think nowadays a coffe and tea tray would be welcome. The breakfast was excellent

Room Tip: If you want a good water view ask for the 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janet123186402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean Ginn M, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Hello Janet:
I really like that you noticed we are an old-fashioned hotel with old fashion ways! Not in an out of date sort of way but in an adherence to the hospitality of yesteryear where our guests are treated as members of our large extended family!
This commitment to outstanding hospitality is what makes us different from other properties. I continue to be amazed how many of our repeat guests ask for certain staff members by name and inquire as to their well being. (and by how members of our staff can remember our guests and their families and their special requests!)
Adding coffee makers as we renovate is very much part of our plans. While we have free coffee and tea in our lobby 24/7, about two thirds of our rooms currently have a coffee and tea maker and in time the others will as well. One of the challenges we face is our 129 year old property does not have as many outlets as many of our customers would like for today's electronic gadgets, hair styling tools and communication devices! Each winter we redo a number of rooms and as we do, we add electrical outlets and then coffee/tea makers.
Thank you again for your splendid remarks!
Sincerely
Jean Ginn Marvin
Maine Innkeeper of the Year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livermore, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

We loved our stay at the Nonantum Resort. This was our first visit to Kennebunk. Our room was clean and attractive with our room overlooking the river & boats. We stayed in the main hotel, it was just lovely. The grounds, surrounding area, the atmosphere, felt so romantic. The complimentary breakfast, sitting by the window, looking out over the river was awesome.
We would highly recommend the Nonantum as a place to stay in Kennebunk.

Room Tip: Main building, 3rd floor, overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean Ginn M, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Hello Carolyn:
I hope you had a wonderful safe trip back to California! It was certainly our pleasure having you here for a visit! We only wish you could have stayed longer!
The third floor views from Portside are very special! Maybe next time you come you should consider the 4th floor of the Inn. While the decor is completely different, the views are even more spectecular!
We hope to host you again soon!
Warm Regards,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburnham, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

I had such a wonderful time at this beautiful resort. As soon as I arrived I bellman saw me struggling with luggage and helped. My room was nice, the bed was very comfortable, and the bath tub was so clean that I actually took a bath. The breakfast was delish with many different choices. I also loved how to location was right in between downtown Kennebunkport and the beach so I was able to walk to both. This was my first stay there, but I will defintely be there again and stay much longer.

Room Tip: I loved staying on the first floor Portside. I was able to walk right out on to the grounds and par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Molly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean Ginn M, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Hello Molly:
We can't wait to have you come back and see us! Know that our ace team of Bellmen will be at the ready to help you again with your things!
This has been the most beautiful fall ever and our guests have loved sitting by the River reading a book and watching the boats go by. I was just out there snapping a few photos and there were three groups out there all enjoying the lovely autumn day.
Fall also brings some delicious fall items to our breakfast menu (think pumpkin bread pudding and maple scones!) So good!
Thanks so much for the nice sentiments!
Jean Ginn Marvin
Maine Innkeeper of the Year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
1.1 km away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#2 of 6 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
7.2 km away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#3 of 6 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
1.0 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 7 in Kennebunk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#4 of 6 in Kennebunkport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
1.5 km away
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
#5 of 6 in Kennebunkport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.6 km away
White Barn Inn
White Barn Inn
#4 of 7 in Kennebunk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nonantum Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nonantum Resort

Property: Nonantum Resort
Address: 95 Ocean Ave, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6308
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Price range (per night): $165 - $407
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nonantum Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Maine waterfront resort where traditions begin. The Nonantum has been welcoming guests with genuine hospitality since 1883. Enjoy historic charm with just the right modern comforts. Located on the Kennebunk River, along scenic Ocean Avenue, close to the shops and galleries in Dock Square, near Walker's Point and the beaches. Offering casually elegant accommodations, award-winning dining, family activities, and a gorgeous setting for special events. Seasonal outdoor heated pool, kayak rentals, trolley tours, scenic lobster boat tours, sailing tour and fishing charters departing right from the resort's on-site marina. Free WiFi, free parking, and free breakfast when you book directly with the resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Nonantum Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nonantum Resort Kennebunkport, Maine
Nonantum Hotel Kennebunkport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing