We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Wonderful stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Captain Lord Mansion

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Captain Lord Mansion
Ranked #3 of 25 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
405 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2007

Our 3rd stay since 2006 - need I say more?

This establishment continues to provide a wonderful and relaxing environment. I would recommend The Captain Lords Mansion for those special getaways!

  • Liked — Upscale accommodation and service. Relaxing environment.
  • Disliked — This establishment is getting too well known !! :-)
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stewart T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

942 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    878
    45
    9
    8
    2
See reviews for
36
733
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2007

We just had a thoroughly enjoyable stay at this delightful inn. We stayed for 4 nights over the Thanksgiving holiday, and could not have been more pleased. Our room, the Cactus, was spacious and comfortable, with a king sized bed, gas fireplace, a couple of large, cozy wing chairs, a CD player with a selection of relaxing CDs, a large standup shower, heated tile floor in the bathroom, and one VERY large whimsical stuffed monkey (a cute touch).

The CLM is in a very quiet, mostly residential area, but only a few blocks walk away from Kennebunkport's charming town center. There is ample off-street parking. Breakfasts were delicious, served family style in the kitchen at two moderate-sized tables. Note that there are some rather steep stairs to get to the third floor rooms, so you might consider a first or second floor room if stair climbing would be a challenge for you. There is a lovely sitting room with comfy furniture and a large fireplace, and a smaller one downstairs with a flat screen TV. Most of the rooms do not have TV's (except for the four rooms in the separate guest house), but that was just fine with us. Overall the inn gives the feel of a lovingly restored 1800's house, but with unobtrusive modern conveniences throughout.

Although the inn does not serve dinner, Rick and Bev put out a lovely light supper and snacks for the guests on Thanksgiving evening - it was a great way to share some companionship and conversation with our hosts and fellow travellers. Without exception, the staff was friendly and helpful. We met a number of guests that were repeat visitors (several couples had made 10+ visits; one couple was on their 30th!). After this delightful and relaxing stay we expect to be repeat visitors as well.

  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank B0st0nTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmond, OK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2007

Sure wish Kennebunkport and Captain Lord Mansion were closer to Oklahoma! This was our first trip to Maine, Kennebunkport, and our first bed & breakfast. After the incredible experience here, we've stayed at a couple of other B & B's in other states...while nice, they couldn't even compare with Captain Lord Mansion. Their attention to detail and making us feel at home (not to mention the incredible breakfast) made this a memorable experience! Would definitely do again.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — That we only got to stay one night
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BethDEdmond_OK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2007

What more is there to say about lord mansion than has already been said. It is perfect in every way and there is no way you will be disappointed( no matter how picky you are)

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank wandajuneTennessee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macon, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Capt Lord for the night of our 10th anniversary. It is easily the most romantic inn we have ever stayed in. From the most comfortable bed ever to the fireplace in our room to the steam sauna and jetted shower, it was an amazing room. We also appreciated the personal note and chocolates from the staff as well as complimentary fridge full of beverages in our room. The breakfast was a 3 course delight and we were able to take complimentary bikes from the inn to town and for a nice ride. The inn is in a beautiful historic neighborhood about a block from town. we wish we had planned more nights at this amazing inn and look forward to going back someday.

  • Liked — bed, bath, food
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mercermed05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
0.6 km away
White Barn Inn
White Barn Inn
#4 of 7 in Kennebunk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
0.5 km away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#2 of 6 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
0.5 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 7 in Kennebunk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 6 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
1.1 km away
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
#14 of 25 in Kennebunkport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
0.1 km away
Maine Stay Inn and Cottages
Maine Stay Inn and Cottages
#4 of 25 in Kennebunkport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Lord Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Lord Mansion

Property: Captain Lord Mansion
Address: 6 Pleasant St, P.O. Box 800, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6164
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price range (per night): $267 - $464
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to experience the only 4 Diamond AAA bed and breakfast in Kennebunkport, ME., A Select Registry Property. Enjoy spacious guest rooms at our Kennebunkport inn with comfy oversize beds, heated bathroom floors, luxurious amenities, gas fireplaces, & Jacuzzi-style tubs. Our B&B in Kennebunkport also features complimentary, three-course breakfast, beach chairs & towels, Wi-Fi, in-room snacks & afternoon beverages. Three short blocks from wonderful shops, galleries, and restaurants, our Kennebunkport bed & breakfast is perfect for a romantic Maine Coast getaway. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Captain Lord Mansion Hotel Kennebunkport
Captain Lord Mansion Kennebunkport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing