We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Snow storm caused us to stay another night - like we needed to be forced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Captain Lord Mansion
Ranked #3 of 25 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2011

New England's weather caused us to extend our stay by another night! Oh the "disappointment" of the thought of spending yet another night in a great hotel beside a warm fire reading a book!

Our 4th visit and not the last!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stewart T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RWL21, Owner at Captain Lord Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2011

Many of our off-season guests enjoy just relaxing by the gas fireplace in their guestroom and snuggling into one of our delectable four poster beds. In fact, as I write about it, I could use a relaxing getaway! Maybe I should book into one of our rooms! Your innkeeper, Rick Litchfield

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,030)
There are newer reviews for Captain Lord Mansion
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

698 - 702 of 1,030 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2011

We stayed at the Captain Lord Mansion over 20 years ago and have looked forward to a return trip. We were finally able to do so and we were not disappointed. Bev and Rick and the staff have made improvments that have kept pace with modern conveniences but the charm, quiet and atmosphere have been maintained. The staff is welcoming and friendly and makes every effort to create a pleasurable stay. The inn itself becomes like home within a few hours. Breakfast is terrific and a great way to start the day. The location in Kennebunkport is very convenient. We certainly wished we lived closer for we would be more frequent visitors.

S & S
Savannah, Georgia

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sfgfiat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RWL21, Owner at Captain Lord Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2011

Thank you S&S from Savannah for your review. We appreciate your encouraging words about our "keeping pace with modern conveniences, while maintaing the charm, quiet and atmosphere of the inn." As we have added updated touches such as Phones, TV's, I-Pod Docks and such, we have been concerned that we might loose the flavor which we created 34 years ago. It is nice to get positive feedback about these changes encouraging us that we've not lost the warmth and hospitality. Rick Litchfield, Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2011

Room was wonderful, staff very friendly (especially the breakfast staff of Rhonda and Sue!), and made our anniversary special. Unfortunately, they were unable to make the sun come out for more than a few hours, but the massages took our minds off of the gray clouds. Can't wait to return!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stewjsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RWL21, Owner at Captain Lord Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2011

Unfortunately we had a spate of really chilly and overcast weather here in Maine in May. We are grateful these guests enjoyed their stay despite the weather. Each of our guest rooms is quite large and each includes a gas fireplace and heated bath floor, so the atmosphere in the inn certainly somewhat compensates for inclement weather outside! Rick Litchfield, Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

We just returned from another wonderful vacation at the Captain Lord Mansion. They do so much to make you feel at home and comfortable. It is the little things like the welcome plate of cookies in the room, the ring holder besides the bed, the makeup remover towel in the bathroom, the complimentary beverages in the room refrigerator, the 24/7 coffee maker and snacks on the first floor. These are just some of the things that make this place so special. I didn't even get into the wonderful breakfasts served family style, the ultra plush beds or the spa like showers/tubs. We will definitly be back.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yoheadden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RWL21, Owner at Captain Lord Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2011

Thank you Connecticut for your rave review. Bev and I appreciate when guests notice and also appreciate all the small touches in each of our guest rooms. Rick Litchfield, Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Just got back from a very nice stay at the Mansion's Garden House. I chose this B&B based on the positive and was glad I did. I also stayed at the Breakwater Inn this week which had lovely ocean views, but overall, preferred my stay at the Garden House. Dave, our breakfast cook, was warm and friendly and made us feel comfortable. He also served a wonderful breakfast. Thank you tripadvisor for once again helping me find a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Napalicoastkauai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RWL21, Owner at Captain Lord Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2011

Thank you Portsmouth, NH for your positive review. We try not to make comparisons with the competition; our guests do that for us. We believe we offer an excellent value as well as a comprehensive B&B experience, so that many discerning guests will weigh their options and choose our B&B. We really appreciate their business. Rick Litchfield, Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
0.6 km away
Grace White Barn Inn and Spa
6.8 km away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#4 of 6 in Kennebunkport
257 reviews
37.7 km away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.4 km away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#5 of 20 in Portland
1,423 reviews
0.4 km away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#2 of 6 in Kennebunkport
649 reviews
0.5 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#3 of 8 in Kennebunk
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Lord Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Lord Mansion

Address: 6 Pleasant St, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6164
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range: $295 - $609 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Captain Lord Mansion 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to experience the only 4 Diamond AAA bed and breakfast in Kennebunkport, ME., A Select Registry Property. Enjoy spacious guest rooms at our Kennebunkport inn with comfy oversize beds, heated bathroom floors, luxurious amenities, gas fireplaces, & Jacuzzi-style tubs. Our B&B in Kennebunkport also features complimentary, three-course breakfast, beach chairs & towels, Free Wi-Fi, in-room snacks & afternoon beverages. Three short blocks from wonderful shops, galleries, and restaurants, our Kennebunkport bed & breakfast is perfect for a romantic Maine Coast getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au and Booking.com so you can book your Captain Lord Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Lord Mansion Hotel Kennebunkport
Captain Lord Mansion Kennebunkport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing