We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“enjoyed the weekend away from the city” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Breakwater Inn and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
Ranked #14 of 25 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“enjoyed the weekend away from the city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

spent the weekend with the gf and we had the room on the water. it was a great weekend experience - including the massage at the spa was nice and relaxing and eating at the fish restaurant next door. it was a nice getaway from the city but too slow if you are used to city life but that's a lot of places in maine. anyways, would go back for R&R and getting away from the bustle of the city life.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    66
    26
    9
    15
See reviews for
35
137
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

My wife & I stayed in the spa section of the inn (3 days in late August )which is physically separate from the main inn area. We made this decision because the internet pictures seemed to indicate that these rooms were more modern. The room was very spacious and the bed was comfortable. The views overlook the parking lot and the main street. The air conditioning unit was in the room and in need to a total overhaul/replacement--very annoying. The floor boards squeak and you hear the people above walkling around their room. The TV's are old fashioned CRT but the channel selections are very good. The bath tub is dangerously slippery and the towels have never met a softener---real rough. The room needs more floor lamps. The staff is very good (especially the twins) and try to make your stay memorable. For breakfast you exit the building and walk outside about 25 yards to the main inn whose common areas are very nice. The self-serve continental breakfast is OK, nothing to get excited about. The area behind the inn is great for relaxing as the sun sets on the river/harbor view. There are really good cookies and coffee/tea available in the late afternoon at no charge. Would we stay here again? Yes. The location is very good and the restaurant across the street is outstanding for lobster and other dinner items. Ask to see the rooms in both the Inn & Spa before you settle down. Parts of the Inn are scheduled for rennovation this winter, so things are changing.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BBB57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

Our stay at the Breakwater Inn was amazing. The hotel was close to everything with it's own 5 star restaurant, rooms with views and extremely comfortable beds.a little pricey but well worth it. We spent 2 days there on a road trip through New England to see the fall colors. staff was wonderful and it was a romantic time for us.

Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nissismusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashland, Oregon
Level Contributor
85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

I have stayed here many times over the last 10 years and it only gets worst over time. Front desk is normally staffed but somehow it seems as if they are always to busy to help. The lack of instruction with the coffee service, meals and location of other items is lacking. For example when asked at the front desk if they had a tooth brush (which my wife forgot )they said "we do not have any". When asking for a key to the lockers in the spa I was told, "go to the desk in the spa to get one" however when I went to the spa I could not find a desk or anyone. I returned to the main desk where the same person gave me a key. The breakfast service was unbelievable, no instruction again as to how it works with many staff standing around and doing nothing and when asked for coffee it was if I was bothering them. The best thing is the room. This place needs management!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mps7777777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tucson,az
Level Contributor
120 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

This property is a real mixed bag. The setting is lovely (right on the water) and some parts of the building are fine with others mainly the rooms in need of updating. Our room was so small we could barely walk in it and forget about luggage. We asked about a larger room and were told they had a room with a porch. We kept asking if it was larger and he keep pushing the porch--English was not his first language. WE finally got a larger room.
There are no elevators and the halls and stairs are hot and stuffy. Getting ice is a major hassle as you have to ask at the "desk" which is hidden in a corner. Guests cannot get their own ice and you often get attitude. Some of the staff especially the locals were very friendly. The "imported help" not so much. Basic things like not replacing toiletries and only filling coffee cups half way are just other examples of lack of customer service and attention to detail.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank durigirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
1.5 km away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#2 of 6 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
0.9 km away
White Barn Inn
White Barn Inn
#4 of 7 in Kennebunk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
7.5 km away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#3 of 6 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 7 in Kennebunk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.4 km away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 6 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,553 reviews
1.4 km away
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
#9 of 25 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Breakwater Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakwater Inn and Spa

Property: The Breakwater Inn and Spa
Address: 127 Ocean Ave, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6308
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price range (per night): $109 - $384
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Breakwater Inn and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the 1880's, The Breakwater Inn & Spa is one of the most historic Kennebunkport hotels and inns with all the modern hotel comforts, located right on the Kennebunk River waterfront. Experience our chic water view inn rooms, cottages or spa rooms as you indulge in exclusive signature spa treatments in our luxury spa complex. Delight in innovative cuisine at Stripers Waterside Restaurant, taking pleasure in the freshest seafood, lobster and shellfish from the New England Maine Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelClick and Odigeo so you can book your The Breakwater Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakwater Hotel Kennebunkport
The Breakwater Inn And Spa Kennebunkport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing