We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Off-Season Getaway”
Review of Kennebunkport Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kennebunkport Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2012

My husband and I stayed here in mid-April, which is not Kennebunkport's high season. The prices were perfect, and the staff was no less attentive--they were great at making recommendations for places to eat and things to see. The Inn is ideally situated to the main shops and restaurants of Kennebunkport, and walking most anywhere is not a problem (and is probably preferable to looking for street parking!). The lobby area makes great use of natural light, and has a subtle nautical theme that really works. It was crisp, fresh, and really inviting. You really could spend the morning reading the paper in the breakfast room and feel satisfied!

The room was nicely decorated, too; it was a floral theme, but it didn't go too over the top (i.e. no complaints or sarcastic comments from my husband!). The bathroom was the best part: it was outfitted with a whirlpool tub and a double-headed shower. We were just in a standard room, so I'm guessing these amenities come throughout?

I can't speak to the prices over the summer, but if you can snag this place at a deal, do it. It was amazing!

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms get a lot of sunlight and are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christinem818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (657)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

443 - 447 of 657 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2012

Stayed here last weekend (May 4th - 6th) and we really liked the Inn itself as far as the lobby, bar, and restaurant. The location is unbeatable, as we parked our car on Friday and didn't use it again until we left on Sunday. Walked to all the shops and restaurants in Dock Square, which was perfect. I would honestly recommend this place based on it's location alone. Every member of the staff we encountered was incredibly friendly and helpful, and I can't say enough about them.

However, despite the fact that we had booked a Wharfside Room, we were told upon check-in that we had been "upgraded" to a room in the main Inn. Not having stayed here previously we didn't think it would be a problem, and their use of the word "upgrade" sounded good. However, the room was by far the smallest room I have ever seen. It had a king - size bed, with less than a couple of feet on each side of the bed, and the shower in the bathroom was smaller than one you would find in a camper.
Also, there were no curtains on the window. There were wooden blinds that provided privacy, but didn't keep any light out whatsoever. This time of year, it is bright outside at around 5AM, which is early when you're on vacation. Some room - darkening curtains would have been great.
Again, these issues are not enough that I would rate the Kennebunkport Inn negatively, it is a nice place with nice people in a great location, they just need to make some upgrades to these older rooms.

Room Tip: Do some homework and inquire as to the size of your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FFRDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KPTMGR, Guest Relations Manager at Kennebunkport Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2012

Thank you FFRDA for taking the time to review us! The Kennebunkport Inn does
have an excellent intown location and we are glad to hear that you were able
to take advantage of being in walking distance to all of the area
attractions. We apologize that your upgrade wasn’t what you expected. The
room you were upgraded to is one of our Riverhouse rooms...terrific location
but some are on the cozier side. We have many guests that prefer its’
location to the Wharfside, but we should have informed you before you
arrived that you were moved. Thank you for the recommendation regarding the
darkening blinds. We will see that this suggestion gets looked into. We
appreciate hearing your comments as we can only improve if we are aware of
the problems. We hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

I got a gift certificate for my 40th birthday to the Inn from family members and was finally able to use it. The inn was in a great location. We walked to all of the stores, galleries and dinner both nights. The renovations downstairs were very nice. Our room was decent. The decor of the bedroom and sitting area worked well w/ the house and the gas fireplace was great. The bathroom was disappointing. It didn't match anything else and felt less than luxurious. It's very small, the fixtures are dated, the cold faucet turned backwards, the toilet seat slides off when you sit on it, and the towels were tiny. Didn't feel comforting. On the second day of our stay I noticed the stools under the bed to help you get up onto the bed. I'm 5'7" and had a hard timing getting up onto it. And the mattress was really bad. I couldn't wait to get up each morning... not how you want to feel when staying at an inn. I actually enjoyed the noise from the room, it felt like we were in the middle of everything. The singing and cheering in the bar could get loud, but everyone seemed to be having a good time. The breakfast was okay, there was a good variety of foods out to pick from.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KPTMGR, Guest Relations Manager at Kennebunkport Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

Thank you Katie B for your review. We are very sorry to hear that your
accommodations were not up to par for your visit with us. We appreciate your
feedback and due work diligently to insure that our accomodations are well
maintained and current. Our guest rooms as well as the bathrooms are on an
ongoing renovation schedule. I will be sure to look immediately at your
concerns with this room.We can only get better by knowing the areas of
improvement. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our lively bar and the area
shops as well. We hope you might visit us again in the future and give us a
chance to make your stay perfect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

The Inn was superb - bar and dining areas had been refurbished and looked fabulous. Cosy bar with the ability to have a meal without going into the main restaurant was a bonus.

The room on the first floor was beautiful with gas fireplace and comfortable bed. We were at the rear of the building. If we stayed here again we would definitely insist on an upstairs room. The occupants of the room above us had a late night and then checked out at 4am. The noise of footsteps was also accompanied by an even more annoying squeaky floor. This took a slight edge off an otherwise excellent stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KPTMGR, Guest Relations Manager at Kennebunkport Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2012

Thank you dingle58 for taking the time to review the Kennebunkport Inn. We
are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time in our newly renovated
restaurant and pub. It is quite the happening place! Our chef has some
fantastic items on the new menu. I apologize that your room was noisy and
will endeavor to determine if we can solve some of that sqeakiness.. We
understand this can be tricky when trying to get a good night's sleep.
Please let us know in the future and we would be happy to accommodate you
on the 2nd floor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

This inn is in downtown Kennebunkport, close to all the sights. We chose the less expensive room with a king bed and the room was quite small though they did say on their web site that these rooms were 1/3 smaller than the more expensive rooms so no complaint there. Breakfast was quite good. Room was spotless. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank theskycop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
0.4 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#3 of 8 in Kennebunk
304 reviews
6.8 km away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#4 of 6 in Kennebunkport
259 reviews
1.1 km away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 6 in Kennebunkport
1,769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
#8 of 25 in Kennebunkport
286 reviews
0.6 km away
Yachtsman Lodge & Marina
Yachtsman Lodge & Marina
#11 of 25 in Kennebunkport
236 reviews
1.5 km away
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
#14 of 25 in Kennebunkport
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kennebunkport Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kennebunkport Inn

Address: 1 Dock Sq, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6012
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Price Range: $138 - $525 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kennebunkport Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kennebunkport Inn, located in the heart of Dock Square, provides the classic Maine inn atmosphere you're looking for with modern, luxurious amenities and exceptional guest service. With four room categories, this property provides an accommodating array of options, perfect for your romantic getaway or family vacation. Their onsite restaurant, The Burleigh, features classic fare and creative cocktails. Live entertainment is also featured in the bar on Thursdays from 7pm to 10pm. Kennebunkport is one of the East Coast's premier vacation destinations and the Kennebunkport Inn is the perfect location for your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kennebunkport Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kennebunkport Hotel Kennebunkport
Kennebunkport Inn Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing