We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Wonderful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cape Arundel Inn & Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cape Arundel Inn & Resort
Ranked #11 of 25 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
1 review
“Just Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

Just a wonderful experience at this Oceanfront Inn. The front desk staff was friendly, efficient, and well informed and knowledgeable about surrounding activities. The rooms are tasteful decorated and extremely clean. The morning breakfast changes daily but the service was superb and the food quite good (continental breakfast with one hot food item daily). My trip got delayed and the hotel was able to rent my room for that evening so they did not charge me. Views from all of the rooms and the front porch are spectacular. Hint: get to the front porch early in the evening as the chairs fill up quickly. Just an overall great experience and will surely stay there again in the future.

Mike E.

Room Tip: Get a room that faces the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    47
    18
    8
    10
See reviews for
33
207
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
NY, NY
Level Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

We spent three days and loved every minute at the Inn. Lovely public areas and great ocean views. Our room was in the newer wing and it was spacious, beautifully decorated, and again, that wonderful view of garden and ocean. Continental breakfast was plentiful and varied. We enjoyed dinner every night, and the food was expertly prepared and presented. The wine list was a treat with lots of choices at various price points. Everything we had was delicious. Outside there was a sidewalk running along the cliffs so you could walk for a long distance and enjoy the view -- you could even take a long walk into Kennebunkport. We very much look forward to returning to the Inn.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KL185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

My husband and I were looking for a relaxing weekend away from the kids. My only wish was to hear the waves from my bed. Well, we received much more than that at the Cape Arundel Inn. I must say that the staff was very personal and exceptional. The food was delicious too. The dinners as well as the breakfast was fabulous. My husband and I enjoyed our meal at Cape Arundel more than at the prestigious White Barn Inn. Our weekend was full of walks by the Ocean and afternoons reading on the adirondack chairs that they have scattered on the lawn overlooking the spectacular views of the ocean. The accommodations were comfortable and elegant. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank My3sons03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

Our family had rented a home on the ocean, for a week, in Freeport , Me. We had not planned to meet our son and his family during our brief overnight stop in Kennebunkport, before we finished our trip north to our destination. However, they called while we were having dinner at Cape Arundel Inn, and they were thirty miles out and closing. There was not a room anywhere within a 50 mile radius on this Friday night, in early August. The owner, learning of our dilemma, had his receptionist call every hotel, while we ate dinner, trying to find a room for the night. He even offered to have my son's family stay at his home if we could not find a room for the night. After an hour of calling, we were fortunate to find a last minute cancellation five miles down the road. The Cape Arundel Inn food, accommodations, and scenery is amazing. The hospitality - priceless!!! I will never forget our dining experience at the Cape Arundel Inn!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cecil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOUSTON
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

This destination was selected as the result of a Web search for interesting accommodations along the southeast coast of Maine. We had planned to motor our way from Boston north to Portland, staying at attractive seaside venues with, we hoped, good food on site or, in the alternative, in the area. Cape Arundel Inn paid off in spades and we only regret not booking for more than one night. Advantageously sited on the roadway by the water, this structure originated in the late 1800's and commands a sweeping view looking south. From our room on the second floor, we could see the Bush Family compound on Walker Point to the east. As Texans, we cannot remember the last time we spent the night in August cooled only by a ceiling fan and open, screened windows.The restaurant offerings provided choices of the expected and others less so. Since one goal was to ingest lobster with regularity, I selected the Lazy Lobster whose name became apparent when served. Bathed in a tasty simple chardonnay-butter sauce, I had but to fork it and eat it. The next morning breakfast buffet comprised a handsome and generous spread of traditional items. For our getaway, we chose, from the array of pastries, positively Amazon-sized blueberry muffins. Hospitable folks. Maine is definitely the ideal destination to escape the more than 80 days of triple-digit days we've experienced this Texas summer. We'll be back to visit the friendly folks at Cape Arundel Inn.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JWDONJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kennebunkport hotels
2.4 km away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#2 of 6 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
7.8 km away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#3 of 6 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
1.3 km away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 6 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
#9 of 25 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
1.0 km away
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
#14 of 25 in Kennebunkport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
2.1 km away
Maine Stay Inn and Cottages
Maine Stay Inn and Cottages
#4 of 25 in Kennebunkport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Arundel Inn & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Arundel Inn & Resort

Property: Cape Arundel Inn & Resort
Address: 208 Ocean Ave, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6307
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price range (per night): $201 - $436
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cape Arundel Inn & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests choose from two distinctive locales to book their stay; Cape Arundel Inn, located on exclusive Ocean Ave or Old Fort Estate, tucked away in a tranquil, wooded setting on Old Fort Ave. Guests staying in the Cape Arundel Inn building’s guest rooms enjoy breathtaking ocean views, onsite restaurant, Ocean, and a spacious lawn area – replete with Adirondack chairs in which to sit and soak in the fresh sea air. At the Old Fort Estate, a short drive away, guests can enjoy the Club House featuring vintage pool table, full bar, light lunch, library and spacious patio surrounding the heated lap pool. Resort highlights include a full a la carte breakfast at Ocean restaurant, spacious, tranquil grounds at Old Fort Estate and elegantly appointed guest rooms throughout. While the time away on your chaise lounge at Old Fort Estate, soaking up the summer sun’s rays, then enjoy a stroll to Cape Arundel Inn for an afternoon porch cocktail as you drink in breathtaking ocean views. In the evening, savor a wonderful dining experience at Ocean, prepared by Chef Pierre Gignac. Ocean offers fine cuisine inspired by southern French and Mediterranean flavors, beautifully presented and enhanced by the outstanding wine list. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Cape Arundel Inn & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Arundel Hotel Kennebunkport
Cape Arundel Inn & Resort Kennebunkport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing