We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“R&R at a beautiful B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bufflehead Cove Inn
Ranked #2 of 14 Kennebunk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Maine
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“R&R at a beautiful B&B”
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Peaceful, serene, off the beaten path. If this is what you're looking for, Bufflehead Cove is for you. Rooms are spacious, nicely decorated, and impeccably clean. Breakfasts are fabulous and filling. Loved sitting in front of the fire in the great room overlooking the cove. Bufflehead is a slice of heaven.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank surfsidemaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    450
    9
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
32
371
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Wish we could linger longer, but all rooms were sold out. We stayed overnight and found the peace which we'd expected. Amazingly tranquil, you can hear the silence. Wonderful owners. Harriett is simply delightful. (Say "Hi" to Cassie:) We did not meet Erin or Jim, although Jim's breakfast was out of this world. Everything here is so well detail-oriented: from the room layout, amenities provided, even down to the thin watermelon slice, carefully picked and cut to the right bite size--sweetness & perfection.
¤ Balcony Rm +view, superb.
¤ Bufflehead ducks surrounding water & lovely in flight
¤ WiFi with strong signal
¤ Jacuzzi tub and Fireplace are magical
¤ Tea then evening turndown treat, a nice touch.
¤ Excellent restaurant recomendation
¤ High quality bedding, towels, robes, soaps & sundries
¤ Bed was extremely comfortable
The only thing to construct is the hallway squeeky floor. Expect that and love it for its historic character. Otherwise, everything else is contemporary, beautiful, and beyond your expected comfort. A Ralph Lauren feel. --Billy&Nomi

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2scorpios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mainehatty, Owner at Bufflehead Cove Inn, responded to this review, 26 October 2011
Hi Billy and Nomi, We enjoyed your brief visit and wish you could have stayed longer. I hope the rest of your trip went well. Cassie is still here and says, "Hi".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Not much to add to the reviews to be honest. We stayed at the Bufflehead Cove Inn at the same time as many of the recent reviewers (I can tell because they all mention the terrible weather!) and can only go along with their comments.
My wife and I did a 2 week roadtrip around New England and can honestly say that this was the best B&B we stayed at (close runner up Captain Farris Inn at South Yarmouth if you're interested).
You feel so at home as soon as you enter the wonderful house which is fully of antiques and curios, the garden is beautiful it's just a shame the weather was so bad as we didn't have a chance to experience it, or even the small balcony we had.
Breakfast was great (in an American sort of way!) and plenty of it, plus by all being seated around a large table it's a great way to get to meet your fellow guests and pick up tips and advice about where to visit.
We stayed in the River Room which is small but other reviews have already stated it so I knew what we were in for - it's not a problem as it's laid out very well and is extremely cosy but the bathroom is very small, it was a case of one in, one out so if you're a little on the large size do not consider this room!
Harriet and Erin make you feel right at home without being obtrusive, hopefully we will return one day when the sun is shining!

Room Tip: River Room is beautiful and a great view of the river but a definitely on the small side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pressure_Drop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mainehatty, Owner at Bufflehead Cove Inn, responded to this review, 26 October 2011
Thanks so much for your positive review of your visit with us. I loved the comment..." in an American sort of way..." about our breakfast. I have been to England so know that your breakfasts are minus the sweet stuff we do here. I love the English breakfast!
I hope you found some sunshine along the way on your trip. Harriet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed 19 October 2011

Wonderful place. Wondrful rooms. Wonderful staff. We will go back again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guidford, England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

There's not a lot more to say. All the excellent reviews below are right. Stayed in the River Cottage for 5 days at the beginning of October and although it rained hard for several days, it didn't seem to matter. The lovely Cottage was in a beautiful location to spend time just relaxing waiting for the rain to stop. The Inn's website is one of the best we've seen and totally accurate. Lots of good restaurants in the area inc Cape Arundel Hotel for an upmarket meal and where George Bush Snr and Barbara were dining when we were there.

Room Tip: River Cottage is 100 yards from Inn and also has great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KAYJAYDEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunk
0.7 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 8 in Kennebunk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.7 km away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#3 of 8 in Kennebunk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
1.6 km away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
The Inn at English Meadows Bed and Breakfast
5.7 km away
Port Inn
Port Inn
#1 of 8 in Kennebunk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
2.5 km away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#4 of 14 in Kennebunk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bufflehead Cove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bufflehead Cove Inn

Property: Bufflehead Cove Inn
Address: 20 Bufflehead Cove Ln, Kennebunk, ME 04043-7762
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunk
Price range (per night): $219 - $566
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bufflehead Cove Inn is Kennebunkport Maine lodging at its best. Visit this intimate Bed and Breakfast in Kennebunkport Maine today to experience the serenity and seclusion of waterfront lodging. Secluded and private, the Bufflehead Cove Inn is the perfect destination for summer vacations, rejuvenating weekend getaways, or simply a trip to get away from it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bufflehead Cove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bufflehead Cove Hotel Kennebunk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing