We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bufflehead Cove Inn
Nearby Hotels
USD 228
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 194
AscendHotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 271
Hampton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Beach House(Kennebunk)(Great Value!)
USD 282
Official Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
USD 399
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lodge at Kennebunk(Kennebunk)(Great Value!)
USD 138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Grand Hotel(Kennebunk)(Great Value!)
USD 356
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elizabeth Rose House(Kennebunk)(Great Value!)
USD 210
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
King's Port Inn(Kennebunk)(Great Value!)
USD 217
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 627
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (505)
Filter reviews
505 results
Traveller rating
494
10
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
494
10
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbalcony roomkennebunk riverwine and cheesedirt roadmy husband and iporch overlooking the rivernew englandbooks and magazineshideaway suiteweather permittingfront porchother guestseach morningour honeymoonthe main housesmall balconyfamily run
Filter
Updating list...
318 - 323 of 505 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Wish we could linger longer, but all rooms were sold out. We stayed overnight and found the peace which we'd expected. Amazingly tranquil, you can hear the silence. Wonderful owners. Harriett is simply delightful. (Say "Hi" to Cassie:) We did not meet Erin or Jim, although Jim's breakfast was out of this world. Everything here is so well detail-oriented: from the room layout, amenities provided, even down to the thin watermelon slice, carefully picked and cut to the right bite size--sweetness & perfection.
¤ Balcony Rm +view, superb.
¤ Bufflehead ducks surrounding water & lovely in flight
¤ WiFi with strong signal
¤ Jacuzzi tub and Fireplace are magical
¤ Tea then evening turndown treat, a nice touch.
¤ Excellent restaurant recomendation
¤ High quality bedding, towels, robes, soaps & sundries
¤ Bed was extremely comfortable
The only thing to construct is the hallway squeeky floor. Expect that and love it for its historic character. Otherwise, everything else is contemporary, beautiful, and beyond your expected comfort. A Ralph Lauren feel. --Billy&Nomi

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2scorpios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mainehatty, Owner at Bufflehead Cove Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2011

Hi Billy and Nomi, We enjoyed your brief visit and wish you could have stayed longer. I hope the rest of your trip went well. Cassie is still here and says, "Hi".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Not much to add to the reviews to be honest. We stayed at the Bufflehead Cove Inn at the same time as many of the recent reviewers (I can tell because they all mention the terrible weather!) and can only go along with their comments.
My wife and I did a 2 week roadtrip around New England and can honestly say that this was the best B&B we stayed at (close runner up Captain Farris Inn at South Yarmouth if you're interested).
You feel so at home as soon as you enter the wonderful house which is fully of antiques and curios, the garden is beautiful it's just a shame the weather was so bad as we didn't have a chance to experience it, or even the small balcony we had.
Breakfast was great (in an American sort of way!) and plenty of it, plus by all being seated around a large table it's a great way to get to meet your fellow guests and pick up tips and advice about where to visit.
We stayed in the River Room which is small but other reviews have already stated it so I knew what we were in for - it's not a problem as it's laid out very well and is extremely cosy but the bathroom is very small, it was a case of one in, one out so if you're a little on the large size do not consider this room!
Harriet and Erin make you feel right at home without being obtrusive, hopefully we will return one day when the sun is shining!

Room Tip: River Room is beautiful and a great view of the river but a definitely on the small side.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pressure_Drop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mainehatty, Owner at Bufflehead Cove Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2011

Thanks so much for your positive review of your visit with us. I loved the comment..." in an American sort of way..." about our breakfast. I have been to England so know that your breakfasts are minus the sweet stuff we do here. I love the English breakfast!
I hope you found some sunshine along the way on your trip. Harriet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

Wonderful place. Wondrful rooms. Wonderful staff. We will go back again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

There's not a lot more to say. All the excellent reviews below are right. Stayed in the River Cottage for 5 days at the beginning of October and although it rained hard for several days, it didn't seem to matter. The lovely Cottage was in a beautiful location to spend time just relaxing waiting for the rain to stop. The Inn's website is one of the best we've seen and totally accurate. Lots of good restaurants in the area inc Cape Arundel Hotel for an upmarket meal and where George Bush Snr and Barbara were dining when we were there.

Room Tip: River Cottage is 100 yards from Inn and also has great views.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KAYJAYDEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

My wife and I recently spent three nights at Bufflehead Cove during a recent vacation in the USA. Wonderful Inn and hospitality provided by Harriet, Erin, Rochelle and all the entire staff. We could not have asked for more despite two days of rain. We arrived to a warm welcome and delicious Apple Cider and cheese :-). We stayed in the Cove Room. Comfortable, quiet room, great for those chilly evenings in the Fall. Very comfortable bed, large bathroom and a separate sitting area where we could enjoy the gas fire. On our second night, we arrived back from a day in the rain to chocolate dipped strawberries on our bed; a lovely touch.

We arrived on our wedding anniversary and Harriet had earlier recommended dinner at Joshua's in Wells and had kindly organised a taxi for us. Wow, we couldn't have asked for a better recommendation, fantastic evening and wonderful food.

Breakfasts were scrumcious each morning, especially the blueberry pancakes and poached pears; both of which were to die for. It was just a shame that the weather wasn't better to allow us to enjoy breakfast on the Porch, enjoying the views of the river.

All in all a fabulous few days and a lovely family! Definitely on our to stay again list.....

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank footieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews