We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was ok”
Review of Turnpike Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Turnpike Motel
Ranked #12 of 14 Kennebunk B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 September 2015

We stayed here for one night to visit Bentleys. The hotel was easy access to route 95 and wasn’t too far from Bentleys. The room was clean, the staff was friendly and we paid a lot less than the other hotels. The only complaint I have is the awful smell in the front lobby. It was overwhelming and unpleasant. If you need to lay your head for one night, this is the place.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Parrothead1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (19)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 19 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2015

For such a inexpensive rate, in the Kennebunks, I was very skeptical about what I would get for a room and I must say, I was most pleasantly surprised! The woman at the reception desk was very friendly and helpful. I do travel often and usually stay at well known hotels and so am savvy about room security. I was impressed by the keyless entry system for the rooms. The room itself was clean and comfortably furnished, although the bathroom was a bit dated with a very small mirror (difficult for applying makeup) and small. I stayed in room 3, which had a king sized bed, a and a breakfast bar. This room also has a coffee maker, a microwave, and a small fridge.
The motel itself is directly off the Maine turnpike Northbound exit/entrance and so is very convenient for those traveling through, needing a place to spend the night.
This motel is closer to West Kennebunk than to Kennebunk itself but with the size of Kennebunk being what it is, that difference is negligible. This motel would be a good base from which to explore the area, for those on a budget. The beaches and Kennebunkport are a 15-20 minute drive, Portland is about a 30 minute drive.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2015

We were lucky to get a room on Labor Day Weekend, we were there only one night but our stay was very nice. The room was very clean and the women at the front desk spoke broken English but we managed to communicate just fine, she also gave us a choice of rooms which I liked. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Stayed on the first floor, was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2015

I booked this place last minute and did not have any other options. It was cheap and I said to myself, hey its a roof over my head and its just for two days….what a disapointment! Staff was super friendly but room was old and dingy. Dirt and grime on the doors, chairs, walls. A/C not clean. Full of dust as if it wasn’t cleaned or dusted for many weeks. I was afraid to turn it on and the dust would just fly everywhere. Many occupants were bikers and woke us up partying till 1 :00-2 :00am. It appears like there is appartments upstairs for long stay guests and its mostly bikers. Very noisy. The atmosphere was depressing and sad. We stayed out as much as we could, we wanted to spend as less time as possible at the hotel. If only they would renovate and charge more, maybe it would change the type of guests to stay there. Will NOT return…ever!

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caroline g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2015

I was driving to catch a ferry very early in the morning, when I realized I forgot a towel, with no stores open before the ferry left I thought to stop in a hotel and ask if I could buy one. Sally gave it to me, with a smile on her face. That kindness meant alot to me, Thanks Sally.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled solo
Thank rd1882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kennebunk hotels
3.1 km away
Port Inn Kennebunk, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
8.7 km away
Grace White Barn Inn and Spa
8.3 km away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#4 of 8 in Kennebunk
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
The Lodge at Kennebunk
The Lodge at Kennebunk
#6 of 8 in Kennebunk
175 reviews
8.3 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#3 of 8 in Kennebunk
315 reviews
9.2 km away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#5 of 14 in Kennebunk
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turnpike Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turnpike Motel

Address: 77 Old Alewive Rd, Kennebunk, ME 04043-6806
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunk
Price Range: AU$75 - AU$124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Turnpike Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turnpike Motel is conveniently located in Kennebunk, Maine, just off the Maine Turnpike (Exit 25, Northbound I-95). Open year round, Turnpike Motel offer guests quiet comfortable rooms with King size and Double size beds. Guests also receive complimentary no cholesterol breakfast and coffee in the lobby. Room amenities include in room coffee makers with coffee, cream and sugar, mini-refrigerators, microwave ovens, cable TV, modern private baths, telephones, free local calls, free Wifi Internet and free beach parking passes. Pets are welcome! Pets friendly rooms are available for small to mid-size pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Turnpike Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing