We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A new favorite place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spencer Pond Camps

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Greenville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Spencer Pond Camps
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Gorham, Maine
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A new favorite place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

We hadn't even been at Spencer Pond for a full day when we'd already decided that we'd be back next summer -- this time, for a week. It was clear that four days wouldn't be enough time here!
We stayed at the Moose cabin & enjoyed the swing on the screened in porch more than anything, I think. Lucky the cat was a companionable visitor and the kids loved the "chicken parade!" when the hens & rooster would stroll through the lawn.
It's a very special place and the love that Christy & Dana have for it shines through. They are excellent hosts & we loved our stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    7
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
56
50
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kenduskeag
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

Great couple days with my wife and dogs. Very dog friendly place. Great views across the lake and looking up at Spencer Mountain.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kbrowning65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grenoble
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

We rented a cabin at Spencer Pond after browsing through the website, and without really knowing what to expect. The reality was even much better than predicted from the already very nice website !
This place is absolutely unique, probably even more for European people, and since we left it I keep recommending it to every people we meet.
Despite some heavy rain, this will remain one of our very best moments in Maine !
Thanks Christy and Dana !

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dom_Bourgeois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sewell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

We enjoyed a two night stay at Spencer Pond Camps in "Lunkers Lodge". It was perfectly sized and situated for two couples. The view of the mountain and the serenity of the "Pond" .....matchless. Dana and Christine are a hard working couple that understand what their guests want.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mainer04917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

We stopped off at Spencer Pond Camps for 3 nights of our holiday in Maine and I can safely say it was the best 3 nights of our trip. The location is spectacular with sweeping mountain,s a beautiful lake and peaceful forest. Our cabin was so cosy and homely, we loved the hand pump which brought clean water in to drink, the wood burner was lovely, there is nothing better than the smell of woodsmoke on an evening whilst drinking tea on the balcony overlooking the lake. The canoes and kayaks were readily available and it was such fun to head out onto the lake where it was peaceful and tranquil and there were no others around. The wildlife was brilliant, we were woken by the sound of the hens and cockerels outside our cabin which was lovely in the morning and the sound of the loons at night was amazing!!! We would recommend this place to everyone and can't wait to back in the future. A place where special memories are made and will be held forever!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heatherkinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenville
24.5 km away
Lodge at Moosehead Lake
Lodge at Moosehead Lake
#2 of 6 in Greenville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
28.0 km away
Greenville Inn at Moosehead Lake
28.0 km away
Gray Ghost Camps
Gray Ghost Camps
#2 of 5 in Rockwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.8 km away
Maynard's-in-Maine
Maynard's-in-Maine
#1 of 2 in Rockwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Spencer Pond Camps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spencer Pond Camps

Property: Spencer Pond Camps
Address: 806 Spencer Pond Rd, East Middlesex Canal Grant, Greenville, ME 04441-6100
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Greenville
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Greenville
Price range (per night): $130
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind "unplugged and off the grid" in natural beauty, the way life used to be. Built in 1901, Spencer Pond Camps are an authentic and historic Maine Sporting Camp. They are the only cabins on the pond and sit in the shadow of Little Spencer Mountain. 14 miles via dirt roads from our closest neighbors, on an undeveloped and scenic pond. Recognized as an environmental leader, we offer you a choice of six rustic wilderness lakeside housekeeping cabins - each with its own unique personality. The cabins are fully furnished for comfort including screened porches, rocking chairs, woodstoves, libraries and homemade quilts on the beds.Canoes and kayaks are provided free of charge. Plumbing is "out back" and relaxation is everywhere, non-modernized without electricity and reminiscent of "Little House in the Big Woods" these cabins will take you back in time. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Spencer Pond Camps Greenville, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing