We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saw 5 Moose and 2 loons on our canoe Moose safari”

Northwoods Outfitters - Day Tours
Ranked #1 of 11 Tours in Greenville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Northwood's Outfitters Is Maine's Premiere outfitter and guide service. We offer guided trips like Moose Watching & Wildlife Photography tours, Fishing Trips for Salmon, Trout and Bass, Guided ATV, Snowmobile Trips, Canoe, Kayak, and Rafting. Our Gear rentals include Canoes, Kayaks, Paddle boards,Camping gear, ATV's, UTV's, Snowmobiles, Bikes and more. The outfitters shop carries great outdoor brands like Patagonia, The North Face, Trek, Salomon, Wilderness systems and much more!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
east coast
Level 6 Contributor
395 reviews
91 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Saw 5 Moose and 2 loons on our canoe Moose safari”
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Took the 6 am trip this past Wednesday with an excellent guide, Bill. We were to have Ashley but she did not make it. Bill was awesome, did most of the work paddling and provided loads of info. We saw 5 moose in the water and he got up close to 2 of them. We also saw a couple loons and heard the call of them. Canoeing on the lake at that early hour was amazingly calming and relaxing. Unfortunately was a bit chilly on the ater though. Defintely worth every cent we paid.

http://www.maineoutfitter.com/adventures/wildlife.html#Anchor-"Our-13002

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank foodfancierEastCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    18
    6
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dundas, Ontario, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Poor business decisions, poor customer service”
Reviewed 11 September 2011

My husband and I stopped at the store after spending 2 fabulous days in the Moosehead Lake area. Wanting a memento of our time there, we settled on nice dry-wick T-Shirts with Moosehead Lake on them. ($25.00 each) I was told by the sales clerk that they came only in men's sizes, so even though it was a little long, I settled for the men's small. My husband tried on the Large which was a bit small, so he went back to the shelf and took an XL. When we got home, he put it on, and the body length was barely to his waist! I paid to have the shirt shipped back from Canada to the store ($7.00) in order for them to replace it - as it turned out the shirt he took off the shelf was a women't size. Upon receipt of the shirt we were told it was in fact a women's size. After calling twice, I was told the only way they would replace it was if we paid the shipping back. I'd already paid for shipping one way, and this would never have happened had we not been told by the store personnel that they were all men't sizes. Clearly, after 4 phone calls to rectify the problem, we wanted the shirt and not a refund. To "nickel-dime" a customer like this is just bad business and poor customer service. I have to conclude that because we are Canadian and may never be back, they just don't care. They did give us a refund, but we didn't want the money back. We wanted the shirt. Its not understandable how a retailer in the tourist business can be so cheap. Out of principal, I will not pay for shipping twice. After all, the whole thing was their fault! So now we don't have the shirt and it still cost us money. Very POOR!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Watlog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Bedford, MA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Incredible Experience”
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We spent 4 days at Moosehead Lake. Northwoods Outfitters provided us with a wonderful cabin in Beaver Cove only a few feet from Moosehead Lake and a short walk to a great beach with an open field and playground equpment for our young children. The cabin was fantastic and provided everythig we would need for our stay including plenty of firewood.

We took two trips with trheir guides.

The first being led by Ashley who took us on the Moose Safari which was exceptional. We sighted a calf and later on a 5 y/o Bull Moose who actually came within about 50 feet of us. We watched him graze comfortably and at ease for nearly 40 minutes. Truly an impressice sight. Ashley was chock full ofinformation and very familiar with the area and great get along with.

The second was takng my 7 y/o son on his first fishing trip to Indian Pond. Erik our guide was awesome. He spent all his time with my son who ended up catching 2 nice bass, all I had to do was fish. A great time for both of us.

The staff was great at the store answering any questions and reccomending places to go during our stay.

Even in August though make sure you bring a few fleeces and maybe some long [pants as it does get cool at night.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank aerospin40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Moose Safari”
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Went with Ashley and had a spectacular event. Drove and then paddled to view moose from the canoe. Ashley truly cares about the environment and is respectful of the wildlife. She handled everything and assisted my husband with his knee concerns in a very unobtrusive way. Very happy with our experience!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Cathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roskilde, Denmark
1 review
“Absolutely amazing.”
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We had a private moose safari with start at 6 am. We saw two females but in a distance. We had hoped to see them a little closer. The guide did all he could – but that is how nature is – unpredictable. But to paddle in the early morning on the lakes was absolutely amazing with or without moose. If you want to be sure to see a moose – visit zoo, if you want to be sure to be part of the beautiful nature and probably see a moose – make a reservation of a private moose safari.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank TheDane44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Northwoods Outfitters - Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Northwoods Outfitters - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing