We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe you'll have a dish named for you”
Review of A1 Diner

A1 Diner
Ranked #1 of 29 Restaurants in Gardiner
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast
Reviewed 16 September 2017

We'd heard about the A-1 Diner from relatives in Maine who just happened to see it featured on some cooking show. And it is an old-time trolley-style diner: a long counter on one side, booths on the other. The waitress can fill you in on local history and events and is a local from birth. She fits right in. When you go, check out the specials board next to the neon clock. They change every day. Try the seafood platter or the bacon burger. Both were excellent. The lemon coconut meringue pie is HUGE. If you come to the diner long enough, you may have an entree named after you, like Carol's chocolate cake or the undertaker's wife's sandwich.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank hus4154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (211)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile

We came based on the Triple D recommendation. We we're hoping to have what Guy F. got on the show...but the items weren't on the menu, must have been a special!

Anyway, after being sad the items we went for weren't on the menu we tried to meatloaf and special steak and mushroom salad. Both were amazing! We were very happy we stayed and tried something else. The flavors were great and very comforting. We chatted with Kim who was wonderful! It was overall a lovely experience with delicious food.

Date of visit: August 2017
1  Thank HLM_PTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017 via mobile

Best fried chicken ever. Great liver and onions, lovely server, and charming old dinner. We drove about 15 miles out of our way based on the knowledge that Guy Fieri had been there. Totally worth the trip.

Date of visit: August 2017
1  Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017

For anyone who is intrigued by the allure of an iconic diner, this place is worth a trip to Gardiner. Literally perched beside a bridge right in the center of town, the A-1 has an extensive menu full of the traditional and not so traditional diner fare. How many diners have a selection of noodles? We stopped for lunch and had the curried chicken salad wrap with a side of slaw. It was full of chicken, great curry flavor, and fresh bread. We also had the fried haddock sandwich with fries. The fish was fresh and perfectly cooked, and the fries were crisp and tasty. There are so many salads, wraps, sandwiches, burgers, and entrees to choose from..... and that doesn't include the breakfast choices. Service was friendly and not rushed. Such a great place!

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank circe64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

We came around two pm on a weekday and the restaurant was out of many items from chicken salad to desserts! I had a tuna plate with only a single scoop of runny mayonnaise tuna on a plate, with nary a pickle or tomato. Husband had a Vietnamese concoction sandwich which he said was
The
Worst thing he ever put in his
Mouth!
I know it is a popular place but we won't be
back!

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank offthecuff2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to A1 Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing