We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (219)
Filter reviews
219 results
Traveller rating
137
66
10
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
137
66
10
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub thames path train station scallops both dinner and breakfast excellent place to stay lovely garden pudding main course comfy bed sunday roast quiet location short drive full english night stay kevin henley
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 219 reviews
Reviewed 26 January 2018

Just spent one night here but were made very welcome by all the staff, ate excellent food (both dinner and the included breakfast), slept in a very comfy bed and got the woof of approval from our dog who is still enjoying the doggie treats. All round a very enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JILLIAN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2017

Excellent place to stay over on The Thames Path Walk. A very short walk to the station for the train and a little further walk to the bus stop.
The room we stayed was clean with wonderful comfortable beds, just what’s needed after a day of walking.
The bar is very welcoming with a real fire. The food was excellent with plenty of choice and nice to see where the products came from (most local).
The staff were all very friendly and helpful and made us very welcome, they also allowed us to park before and after our stay in the car park which made things so nice and easy .
Don’t think we will be back in this area but if we are we would definitely stay here.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Sally F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2017

The Baskerville is a lovely 1930's pub with rooms, tucked away in the small village of Lower Shiplake, a short drive away from Henley on Thames.
This characterful pub retains many of its original features and has several bedrooms, we stayed in the family room which was well equipped and spacious.
Our evening meal was delicious, everyone enjoyed their mains, and we managed to make room for the dessert sharing plate which again was totally worth the extra calories.
All the staff were helpful and friendly and the manager/landlord was knowledgeable and justifiably proud of the providence of all the produce used in the restaurant.
Breakfast service was bright and cheerful and the menu offered several alternatives to the Full English.
Foolishly, I left behind some items of clothing, the Baskerville staff phoned me the next day and have kindly offered to post them back to me free of charge- you can't beat that for good service!
Hopefully we will visit this area again soon and will definitely stay at the Baskerville.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank ShepNoakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017

We stayed here in early September for 3 nights, and wouldn't hesitate to return, and Thames Path is an easy walk from here
All the staff, manager and assistant manager were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were clean and comfortable, and we dined here on the Saturday evening and the meal was excellent, and the standard and choice of food at breakfast was amazing
One thing that may need a little attention in the Hurley Lock room is the toilet plumbing!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leasuretaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

We were in the Soning Lock room which is a twin and has all you need with a very decent shower. The staff are friendly and efficient. The meals we had were excellent and the Eggs Benedict at breakfast truly very good. The Baskerville is one short train stop away from Henley or you can take the Thames Path which takes about 40 minutes. You pass some very expensive and exclusive houses on the way including one with its' own model railway and a station modelled on St Moritz station. We hope to return for a longer stay soon.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Highbury_lifeYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews