We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (219)
Filter reviews
220 results
Traveller rating
137
66
10
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
137
66
10
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub thames path train station scallops both dinner and breakfast excellent place to stay lovely garden pudding main course comfy bed sunday roast quiet location short drive full english night stay kevin henley
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 220 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2016

Lovely hotel with charming atmosphere and spectacularly good food . Well worth a visit .Staff are extremely friendly and efficient and the local clientele are very friendly as well . Room was great and so was the bar

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank 280thebells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

Very friendly and welcoming staff. Excellent service , comfortable accommodation , delicious food . Would definitely return . Myself and a friend stayed for 3 nights during the rewind festival . Good transport links via train and the river taxi .

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Lynsey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2016 via mobile

Perfectly located next to beautiful Hurley and close to Henley and with train on the doorstep , the Baskerville is a welcoming comfortable village pub offering the very best in fine dining and accommodation. The Baskerville has a delightful large garden , and separate play area. We were warmly greeted by the charming Maitre d' Kevin and the service and quality of the locally sourced food was exceptional from the delicious scallops and black pudding to the mouthwatering fillet steak with peppercorn sauce and sea bass, ending with a highly recommended sharing plate of desserts . We can't wait to come back.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank BostonSpaann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2016

Booked this pub/inn due to its location- close enough to Henley but not in the thick of it all. Perfect location with the train station a 2 minute walk and regular trains to Henley (4 minutes ) , Twyford and Reading and just 40 minutes to London. Made to feel very welcome upon arrival. We had booked the family room for 2 of us and our dog and found it to be very clean and spacious, ensuite was shower no bath but this was no problem for us. Dogs are allowed in the garden and bar area but not the restaurant but can stay in your room while you dine. Food is first class, not a large menu choice but everything we tried over 3 days was superb with the home made soups being exceptional. Wine list is vast and the bar is very well stocked.The garden is very pretty and quiet with lots of space and a separate childrens play area. Staff are very welcoming and friendly. Breakfast is fantastic with a good range of choice. The beds are the most comfortable we have ever slept in and we travel a lot! all in all- fantastic and we will happily return.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Amanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2016

My wife and I were celebrating our 40th wedding anniversary with another couple and decided on a couple of nights at The Baskerville in Lower Shiplake - what a fantastic find! The pub is situated down a fairly quiet lane, has its own car park and is very close (but not obtrusively so) to the railway station (known simply as Shiplake) which is about an hour's journey time from London.

We arrived late Sunday afternoon, the staff were winding down after a busy lunch session, but as soon as we appeared, tiredness was forgotten and their customer service skills clicked into action. Every member of staff we met had superb customer service skills combined with a 'can do' attitude; this extended to offering to prepare some sandwiches for us even though the kitchen was closed that night - this has hens' teeth rarity value in my experience and is very refreshing.

The bedrooms all have names based on locks on the nearby Thames, my wife and I had 'Sonning Lock' - a room that was superb, very comfortable single beds in a well appointed room with all the usual extras no longer provided by most of the cut price hotels, such as plenty of tea/coffee making equipment, biscuits, plenty of liquid soap, etc. Our friends were also very pleased with their room ('Hurley Lock'), none of us could find fault.

We had excellent and very filling breakfasts, each of us seemed to have something different, something that did not psyche either the waiting staff or the chef. Only one evening were we able to eat in the restaurant, but what a treat that was: I had what could have been a simple burger in a bun with chips, but the burger was made with 28-day hung beef and in addition there was cheese, bacon, salad, etc. In my opinion the burger was probably the tastiest one I have ever eaten (and easily on a par with my wife's homemade versions). Dessert was a selection of cheeses, not the usual run of the mill English ones, but something slightly different, all very tasty!

The Baskerville has a well stocked bar with four 'real ales' at the time of our visit, we noticed a large number of whisky varieties available.

Finally mention must be made of the staff, earlier I said how motivated they were when we were there, two in particular deserve special mention: Firstly, the guy (sorry, I have forgotten his name) who looked after the bar, he was so helpful and so friendly, it was as though I had known him all my life! He took his responsibilities seriously, allowed us to sample the 'real ales' before making our choice and during the evening he even found the time to take our baggage upstairs to our room. Secondly, all the waiting staff were very good, but one shone that little bit brighter, she was always there when you needed her, nothing was too much trouble; she is a stellar asset to the business, and her name was Sophie.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stuart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews