We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant holiday in beautiful location”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Aislaby, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jwade2015
Great Missenden, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Brilliant holiday in beautiful location”
Reviewed 7 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Immediate help and advice from Mary and Richard for 2 sen cits +adult son+ large dog.

Everything we wanted or needed in accommodation and recreation.Snooker table inspiring !

Local pub friendly ,as were villagers,Moors provided wonderful walks and stunning scenery.

Dog (and walker !) blessed with access to large ,mown, field on site.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bittyboop...
HEYWOOD , LANCS
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“West wing wonder ”
Reviewed 6 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Wow..We arrived at the west wing & got a great welcome from our hosts Richard & Mary..can't describe how delighted we all were when we stepped into this fabulous cottage .Two big bedrooms en- suites with top quality luxurious bedding towels etc & a fantastic power shower .Large fully fitted kitchen with everything you will ever need & I mean everything. Iron hoover also on hand.Great large relaxing lounge with comfy sofas ,a snooker table, well stocked up on books games cds etc .The view is amazing , our pugs loved romping about in the well kept gardens & going for a run down the field All in all a well & truly beautiful cottage ..Loved it ..We are booking to go back .Thank you Richard & Mary xx

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mymble
England
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Absolute heaven !!”
Reviewed 11 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Have just spent a week in the West Wing (4 of us and a dog) and the only downside was having to leave it to return home.
The accommodation was perfect with everything we could possible need. The uninterrupted view from the bay window was spectacular. Our dog was made very welcome and there was a meadow for him to run and chase his ball.
The snooker table kept the menfolk busy for hours on end.
Also recommend the local pub - The Forge - for great food and dog friendliness (but be warned meals sometimes need to be booked in advance)
Thank you Richard and Mary for a truly memorable holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen F
Argyll and Bute, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb”
Reviewed 2 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Well!


First - the hosts: Mary and Richard are great. Friendly and genuinely sincere. They are nearby if needed, and on the one occasion we needed assistance were a great help.

The location: Wow, lovely. In a cracking little village, a decent pub with good food (even a quiz if you like that sort of thing). The locals we found very friendly and entertaining too (OK, I admit, quiz night). The best thing about the particular location of West wing is the large field just down from the cottage. What a fantastic spot right on your doorstep for exercise. Our dog loved it! The views from this field are beautiful.

From another aspect the location lends itself well to daytripping. A great variety of days out available from here. Don't want to go by car - no problem as there is also so much good walking to be had locally. Bridleways and quiet country roads. Plenty of local knowledge on offer from Richard and Mary if asked.

The cottage: Two comfortable ensuite bedrooms, at each end of the cottage (individual privacy for two pairs of couples). The main room is the best feature. I loved the snooker table. It is a very well cared for, top quality and rare snooker table with a quality set of balls, a set of pool balls also available for novelty factor.

There is a full and varied library selection to pick and choose (unless you are on a project, leave your own books at home, impossible not to find something interesting here).

The view from the main room and the kitchen is lovely, looking out over the valley, and is the same view you will enjoy when venturing out the short distance to the large field.

I think I have covered the main features. I should point out it is the only cottage we have returned to more than once. We like to find new places just for the variety, but this place is special.

Very secure off road parking, well out of sight of the quiet village road.

I recommend this cottage to my family and friends - if you are looking for a great place to go in the North East you have found it.

Lastly, I suspect there will be many other great reviews of this place which will never grace a keyboard, because of people out there trying to keep the wee gem a secret! A look through the guestbook on our last stay confirms this!


Stephen & Clara

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Snooker table, warmth and friendliness of the hosts
Liked least: Leaving at the end of the week
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin N
Rugeley
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A wonderful week's holiday.”
Reviewed 21 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

I'm tempted to leave an awful review, because I want to make sure there is always a week available for me to go back to the West Wing! The Truth must be told, however, We spent a week with friends there, and can honestly say, not only one of the best apartments we have ever stayed in, but the owners Richard and Mary (and Buddy) were so friendly and hospitable, on site to help with any advice. Perfect for dogs, with an enclosed garden, and a field that stretches for ever. Nice dog friendly pub within easy staggering distance, and even the flippin' weather was good. One of the huge plus points, though, is even if the weather isn't good, there is the snooker table, a massive library and TV, videos, etc.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing