We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent ”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Commadore Room @ The Manor Inn
Ranked #6 of 13 Restaurants in Castine
Price range: USD 15 - USD 30
Cuisines: International
Restaurant details
Reviewed 12 August 2018 via mobile

This is by far the best place to eat in Castine. The food is consistently good, the salmon was amazing with the beets and grapefruit. The strawberry dessert was amazing. We will be back!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Resort276668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (21)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2018

My wife and I had dinner at The Manor about 20 years ago while on vacation and upon our recent return, we were not disappointed. The dining room view. food and service were sublime. We plan to come back again and stay at this Inn as well.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Gary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018

The food was indeed excellent: fresh salad, fine crab cakes, etc. The service was not--simply inexperienced, I think--and the dining room was loud. A single large party was enjoying themselves so much that we heard every word. If this happens to you, ask to move to the bar! The Manor Inn is lovely, though, and the views over the water are nice. Worth a try for those crab cakes.

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2018

The Manor restaurant has a limited but excellent menu. This inn in owner-operated and has a capable staff and good kitchen. There is a cozy bar. The main dining room has large windows overlooking a big lawn toward the Castine harbor. The Manor was built for the Commodore of the South Boston Yacht Club more than 120 years ago, and is well maintained. My guests like to eat dinner here. Reservations recommended in season.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank PostPainter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017

We had an excellent dinner in a very nice dinning room. The Manor Inn has the feel of a luxury lodge, both elegant and relaxing. Dinning room has table cloths, candles, piano music on a former large porch that has been enclosed, and features large windows with a nice view.

We had chicken marsala and parmesan encrusted halibut, and both were excellent. The wedge salad was huge but very good, and the corn chowder was homemade and excellent. Desert was a pastry filled with ice cream and covered in a chocolate sauce. Excellent.

Nice adjoining pub with a country club feel.

We would eat here again.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank wiiildbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Commadore Room @ The Manor Inn also viewed

Castine, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Castine, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Castine, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Castine, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Castine, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Castine, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to The Commadore Room @ The Manor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing