We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Hidden gem

After a scenic drive through the green countryside and golden canola fields, we spent a wonderful... read more

Reviewed 12 October 2020
CandC_ACT
,
Canberra, Australia
via mobile
Hidden stately castle outside Young

What a find and such a lovely art deco property. The grounds are gorgeous and we had a very nice... read more

Reviewed 8 August 2019
Pauline K
,
Sydney, Australia
Read all 37 reviews
  
Reviews (37)
Filter reviews
37 results
Traveller rating
23
10
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
23
10
3
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 37 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2015

The homestead was amazing and set on such a beautiful parcel of land. Fantastic views from the balcony, overlooking well manicured gardens. We enjoyed a picnic lunch outside on the lawns and throughly enjoyed looking through the old castle. The $10 entry for adults was a small price to pay for such a great day out knowing the funds raised go straight back into maintaining and restoring the castle. Great coffee van on the day also! Highly recommended.

Date of experience: June 2015
4  Thank SallyM261
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 May 2015 via mobile

What an absolutely amazing surprise. Getting here meant driving to non specific directions that meant we felt were driving into the never never got a while. Glad we were persistent. A huge homestead that presents as a grand old property.

On the day there were sack races, egg & spoon, tug of war and all sorts of good old fashioned fun. Worth going out of your way on an advertised day. You will be thrilled. It has been well kept and is in wonderful condition. Thank you for having open days to share this beauty.

3  Thank reDcentAexec
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 April 2015

Do yourself a favour and visit this magical piece of history in the Cowra region. Find out from the web when the castle is open it is truly amazing.

Date of experience: April 2015
2  Thank Sandra2574
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 February 2015

We liked every thing, what a find in the middle of nowhere! the work that has been put into the beautiful location is a credit to all involved to keep this going and how lovely this is for us to be able to look inside. and enjoy the wonderful surroundings

Date of experience: April 2014
1  Thank Pam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 February 2015 via mobile

What a fantastic day we had at Iandra Castle, I had never even heard of it before but lucky I saw an advertisement in the Cowra Guardian for an open day.
Great Castle, beautiful gardens. Leadlight windows outstanding, period furniture, a real glimpse into early Australian history.
We had a great picnic on the grounds.

1  Thank bondibeach2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews