We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Day trip to the fantastic Iandta Castle” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Iandra Castle

Iandra Castle
Attraction details
Macarthur, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Day trip to the fantastic Iandta Castle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2015

Do yourself a favour and visit this magical piece of history in the Cowra region. Find out from the web when the castle is open it is truly amazing.

Visited April 2015
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cowra, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a place to "must see"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2015

We liked every thing, what a find in the middle of nowhere! the work that has been put into the beautiful location is a credit to all involved to keep this going and how lovely this is for us to be able to look inside. and enjoy the wonderful surroundings

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fantastic Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2015 via mobile

What a fantastic day we had at Iandra Castle, I had never even heard of it before but lucky I saw an advertisement in the Cowra Guardian for an open day.
Great Castle, beautiful gardens. Leadlight windows outstanding, period furniture, a real glimpse into early Australian history.
We had a great picnic on the grounds.

Helpful?
1 Thank bondibeach2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cowra, Australia
Level Contributor
256 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Breathtaking!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2014 via mobile

I have lived of my life and hadn't ever been to Iandra until today and I'm glad to say that it was definitely worth the visit. It is a beautiful old building with so many rooms which have great insight into the how the Greene family lived all those years ago. The grounds are extremely neat and tidy and are the perfect spot for a picnic.

Admission prices are reasonable. $10 for adults & $5 for school-aged children.

I recommend making the time to visit Iandra Castle on its open days. It is a great place, for all ages, to explore.

Visited September 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank quinni_224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkes, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

For years we have been sying we would visit Iandra Castle at Greethorpe, finaly we have, what a lovely experience, with parking attendants to direct parking, a cheap $10 enty fee each, the crowd was large, but it never seemed crowded, with easy access to the rooms, you could wander freely, We picniced on the lawn at lunch time, while we listened to the history of Iandra Castle and the Greene family which could be easily heard over the PA system. The gardens were lovely, and the house bathed in history was magnificent, well worth a visit,

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathryn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Iandra Castle also viewed

Been to Iandra Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing