We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great friendly, independent hotel in excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Camden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 December 2011

We stayed here for a night with two children and were very impressed with this inexpensive, no frills hotel. Lovely staff who were very helpful and friendly. The place has a welcoming atmosphere, the rooms are clean and spacious. The location is right in town - you step outside, wander over the river and you are in town. The kids liked the pool, and really liked that some pool toys were provided. Breakfast was continental, and fine - with a waffle maker for the kids. I dislike the
disposable cups and flatware - as you see in many of these style hotels. Would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OurGrandDayOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (470)
There are newer reviews for Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

389 - 393 of 470 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2011

Stayed 3 days in October. Front desk was very helpful in reccomending nearby places to visit and how to get there. Bonfire and smores at night was very enjoyable and a nice way to get to know fellow travelers. Rooms were clean and had plenty of space.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jstryon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

This place is tucked into a small space next to the Camden River conventient to the shops, restaurants, and the harbor. We are pretty picky when it comes to hotels and Inns and we expect a certain level of friendly service, peace and quiet, and character. We get all of that here. The ducks quacking in the river are amusing and add to the place's charm. It's quaint in its own quirky way and if you accept that you will overlook any of the shortcomings. Just have a good time. They do have fairly nice breakfast with cereals, muffins,fruit and, of course, coffee. By the way, on cooler evenings they light a small fireplace out back to roast marshmallows. Nice touch.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaribMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

I had checked out several Camden B&B's but chose the Riverhouse for it's convenient and quiet location one block off the center of town. We were arriving after a long drive and wanted to be able to walk to restaurants and see the scenic harbor. We received a warm welcome at check-in and although the rooms were fairly standard they were very clean and comfortable. Each evening there is a pit fire surrounded by chairs where you can roast s'mores and enjoy conversation with other guests. The breakfast included fresh fruit, breads, muffins, cereals and make your own waffles. It has quite a repeat clientele as many of the guests said they had stayed there in past years.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanderlust4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

For a touristy town like Camden, this is a good place to stay. Off the main drag by about 1/2 block, its quiet surroundings make for a handy and comfortable visit. Our 2 bed room was large, clean, and well furnished. The continental breakfast is mostly carbohydrates, but the attendant is world class, and the food is plentiful and the coffee memorable. We felt very comfortable in this hotel, and have no reservations about recommending it highly.

Room Tip: Don't pay any extra for a river view room. Maybe the highest floors can see the river, but no on...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wallybaloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camden
0.1 km away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
617 reviews
0.2 km away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#3 of 10 in Camden
159 reviews
0.3 km away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#2 of 10 in Camden
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Whitehall
Whitehall
#7 of 10 in Camden
170 reviews
10.4 km away
Samoset Resort On The Ocean
1.2 km away
Cedar Crest Inn
Cedar Crest Inn
#8 of 10 in Camden
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns

Address: 11 Tannery Ln, Camden, ME 04843-1708
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Camden
#5 Romantic Hotel in Camden
Price Range: $161 - $614 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns 2.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inn is Camden’s finest in-town Hotel. Our village location boasts its own onsite parking, a heated indoor pool, and spacious backyard with beautiful gardens. We are fully ADA accessible, with an entrance ramp, and an elevator that services all floors. A block off busy and noisy U.S. Route 1, our hotel is steps from Camden’s shops, restaurants, and the renowned Camden Harbor, Amphitheatre, and Park. Guests frequently say we have the charm and ambiance of a bed & breakfast with all the conveniences of a modern, up to date, in-town Hotel. The Camden Riverhouse Hotel has 35 beautifully appointed rooms some of which are Dog-Friendly. The Riverhouse Inn is a separate building with 8 luxurious cottage style rooms, and we have a cozy romantic Cottage located at the river’s edge which is also available. Whether you are in the Mid-Coast for one night or many, we have a selection of rooms to meet all needs. Free on-site parking, a heated indoor swimming pool, free Internet, and our spacious backyard, make us unique in downtown Camden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au and Booking.com so you can book your Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camden Riverhouse Hotel And Inns Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing