We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hawthorn Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Whitehall(Camden)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (381)
Filter reviews
381 results
Traveller rating
356
17
6
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
356
17
6
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscarriage housemy husband and iturret roomb bshort walkother guestsboth morningsfood allergiesseparate showereach morningnew ownerswonderful hostslovely homefresh flowerstwo coursesthe main housebreakfast was delicious
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
259 - 264 of 381 reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2011

After staying in major hotels for many years, this Inn (bed and breakfast) was a revelation!
Beautifully furnished rooms, great breakfasts, and excellent restaurants nearby. Innkeepers, Mary Ann and Bill, went out of their way to give each guest personal attention. Our three night stay was too short! Don't miss the lobster rolls in The Brass Compass Cafe, in nearby Rockland, and the lobsters and clams in Young's Lobster Pound, a bare bones picnic table restaurant with incredibily low prices, in nearby Belfast. .

Room Tip: Every room is individual, beautifully furnished, with large modern bathrooms with amenities..
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sheridanroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

We chose the Hawthorn Inn to host our wedding ceremony and reception, and could not have picked a better venue. Our closest family and friends all stayed at the inn with us for the weekend, and we were all welcomed and attended to with personal care throughout the weekend. The service was exceptional, and included a delicious homemade breakfast each morning. The rooms were charming and comfortable, and we loved being able to walk down to the harbor and into town each day.

The wedding ceremony and reception were perfect. Every detail was taken care of, and as the bride, I did not have to worry about one thing the entire weekend. Maryanne and staff took care of everything behind the scenes, making for the happiest and most relaxing wedding I could have hoped for. The venue itself was beautiful, the catering phenomenal and the wedding details - flowers, place settings, etc. - were attended to personally and with much care. The event was both intimate and elegant.

The Hawthorn Inn was a perfect choice for the small intimate wedding we wanted, and we could not have asked for a better experience. Many of our guests have already expressed a desire to return to the inn, and we are hoping to return on our anniversary.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NewBrideTSC_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

I actually stayed here a year ago but was too lazy to write a review. I've been feeling guilty since then because the inn is really a gem.

The owners are very caring and helpful. They'll make your stay everything you want it to be and also give you great recommendations for other things to see and do.

I can't remember the name of the room I stayed in, but it's right at the first landing. Still quiet though. Huge room and bathroom. Well-lit. Excellent water pressure. Wifi works fine. Lots of towels, pillows, blankets.

The breakfasts were superb. Multi-courses. Local ingredients. A real treat! And the afternoon tea was a lovely touch.

The location is great--if you want to go to dinner in Camden, no need to move the car. You can easily walk to any restaurant, and Camden's not that big but very picturesque.

I'm actually planning to return and deeply regret the horribly late review.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AKAZengi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2011

We called in advance to get a reservation - first thing the owner asked for was my credit card number to be sure to be able to get money from me (never happened when calling other B&B in advance). When we arrived we saw that the Inn is directly located at the through main road - with the consequence that the rooms viewing the street are very noisy. The bathrooms are tiny! The breakfast was a joke (kiwi + banana = fruit salad) and scrambled eggs - that's it! No bread and so on! NO VIEW to the sea (but stated differently in a advertisement brochure!). Bottom line: Do not go!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Travelrate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

The Hawthorn Inn and the village of Camden were absolutely charming! The Inn was immaculately clean, the staff efficient and the location perfect. It was only a very short walk out the back lawn to the main part of town so we never had to use our car once we arrived! The breakfasts each morning were fabulous. The Innkeeper is an amazing cook and we enjoyed her fresh and delightful creations each day. The presentation was beautiful, delicious and filling! She also put out snacks each afternoon! If In Camden, this is the place to stay!

Room Tip: The rooms were all lovely and except for the Rose Room were spacious.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatiedooWV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews