We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gracious B &B”
Review of Hawthorn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hawthorn Inn
Ranked #2 of 19 Camden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, Vermont
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Gracious B &B”
Reviewed 19 November 2011

My husband and I have stayed with Maryanne and Bill on four occasions in the past 3 years. They consistently provide us with a relaxing unhurried lovely time as well as delightful three course breakfasts which are carefully prepared and always delicious. The beds in this inn are all equipped with mattress toppers, which turns them into featherbeds of incomparable comfort.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank SilverySunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    298
    14
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
31
180
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

After staying in major hotels for many years, this Inn (bed and breakfast) was a revelation!
Beautifully furnished rooms, great breakfasts, and excellent restaurants nearby. Innkeepers, Mary Ann and Bill, went out of their way to give each guest personal attention. Our three night stay was too short! Don't miss the lobster rolls in The Brass Compass Cafe, in nearby Rockland, and the lobsters and clams in Young's Lobster Pound, a bare bones picnic table restaurant with incredibily low prices, in nearby Belfast. .

Room Tip: Every room is individual, beautifully furnished, with large modern bathrooms with amenities..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheridanroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 October 2011

We chose the Hawthorn Inn to host our wedding ceremony and reception, and could not have picked a better venue. Our closest family and friends all stayed at the inn with us for the weekend, and we were all welcomed and attended to with personal care throughout the weekend. The service was exceptional, and included a delicious homemade breakfast each morning. The rooms were charming and comfortable, and we loved being able to walk down to the harbor and into town each day.

The wedding ceremony and reception were perfect. Every detail was taken care of, and as the bride, I did not have to worry about one thing the entire weekend. Maryanne and staff took care of everything behind the scenes, making for the happiest and most relaxing wedding I could have hoped for. The venue itself was beautiful, the catering phenomenal and the wedding details - flowers, place settings, etc. - were attended to personally and with much care. The event was both intimate and elegant.

The Hawthorn Inn was a perfect choice for the small intimate wedding we wanted, and we could not have asked for a better experience. Many of our guests have already expressed a desire to return to the inn, and we are hoping to return on our anniversary.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewBrideTSC_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

I actually stayed here a year ago but was too lazy to write a review. I've been feeling guilty since then because the inn is really a gem.

The owners are very caring and helpful. They'll make your stay everything you want it to be and also give you great recommendations for other things to see and do.

I can't remember the name of the room I stayed in, but it's right at the first landing. Still quiet though. Huge room and bathroom. Well-lit. Excellent water pressure. Wifi works fine. Lots of towels, pillows, blankets.

The breakfasts were superb. Multi-courses. Local ingredients. A real treat! And the afternoon tea was a lovely touch.

The location is great--if you want to go to dinner in Camden, no need to move the car. You can easily walk to any restaurant, and Camden's not that big but very picturesque.

I'm actually planning to return and deeply regret the horribly late review.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AKAZengi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
münchen
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

We called in advance to get a reservation - first thing the owner asked for was my credit card number to be sure to be able to get money from me (never happened when calling other B&B in advance). When we arrived we saw that the Inn is directly located at the through main road - with the consequence that the rooms viewing the street are very noisy. The bathrooms are tiny! The breakfast was a joke (kiwi + banana = fruit salad) and scrambled eggs - that's it! No bread and so on! NO VIEW to the sea (but stated differently in a advertisement brochure!). Bottom line: Do not go!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Travelrate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Camden hotels
0.4 km away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#3 of 10 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.3 km away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
0.4 km away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#1 of 10 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns
0.2 km away
Camden Maine Stay Inn
Camden Maine Stay Inn
#1 of 19 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
0.8 km away
Blue Harbor House Inn
Blue Harbor House Inn
#4 of 19 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Inn

Property: Hawthorn Inn
Address: 9 High St, Camden, ME 04843-1610
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Camden
Price range (per night): $232 - $431
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hawthorn Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian mansion with spacious, beautifully appointed rooms, just 180 steps from the Harbor and a short walk to the picturesque sailing village of Camden, Maine. Warm, inviting, comfortable, serene, plenty of seating in the garden; an oasis in Camden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Priceline, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hawthorn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Inn Hotel Camden
Hawthorn Inn Camden, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing