We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A MUST "DO"”
Review of Grand Harbor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Harbor Inn
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Camden
Certificate of Excellence
Stamford, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A MUST "DO"”
Reviewed 6 December 2011

An incredible experience. All the amenities one hopes to enjoy while visiting one of Maines most picturesque towns. Incredible views of Camden's harbor while enjoying a breakfast by the fireplace in our room is a memory my wife and I will cherish forever.

Room Tip: Corner suite is a must!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJreviewedit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    25
    5
    4
    3
See reviews for
52
251
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

This is one of the most beautiful hotels in Maine if you get one of the 4 rooms that overlook the water otherwise you might as well be in a Motel 6 in Rumford . Whatever you do - do not let them put you in Room 6. Room 6 is a well appointed super disapointment. It is right above the lobby, next to the stairs and elevator and overlooks the parking lot.

You will sit on a beautiful leather couch, lounge in your jacuzzi or in front of the fire place or even lay in a sumptuous king bed and listen to the front door slam over and over and over, hear every conversation the front desk clerk has and your fellow guests have as they walk by your room. The front door litterally shakes the room. And you will wake to the sound of the delivery truck just below your balcony with the back up beep and all.

The best part is the very nice staff will tell you with absolute conviction and complete shock that you are the only person who has ever complained about the noise and they will do so with even more passive aggressive sarcasm than I am putting in this blurb. They will offer you no discount or solution.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sleepless220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnsManager, General Manager at Grand Harbor Inn, responded to this review, 21 December 2011
I would like to take the time to personally thank you for the review of your recent stay with us, and further more thank you for your great comment placing us as one of Maine's most beautiful hotels! I am saddened to learn of your disappointments however, and for that I greatly apologize as we strive for the highest levels in service and comfort. I am interested in learning more regarding your customer service experience as we had presented other solutions to you and your husband during the initial part of your stay when you had voiced your discomfort, in which you declined and remained a guest of ours for the evening in the room you had reserved. The delivery truck comment also intrigues me, as all deliveries are accepted in the rear of the property. I will still look into as to what this noise may have been.

We take all forms of feedback seriously. Rest assured the points you mentioned in your review, such as the front door closing mechanism have already been investigated and remedied. We hope to welcome you back to Grand Harbor Inn in the future!

Sincerely,
Erick Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2011

We stayed two nights in a waterfront suite. The suite was huge, nicely laid out, and very comfortable. Minor gripe was that it was overheated by the gas fireplace (it was cold outside) and kept the outside door open a bit. Breakfast is served in the room, and was very nice, consisting of yogurt, juice, muffins, granola and fresh fruit. Only minor gripe was that the juice could have been a bit higher quality. Nice touch is that they serve all beverages in glass jars..adds a bit of class. The room had two large TVs, but was a bit confusing to use, and the advertised movie availability was pretty lacking for the price. The staff excellent, friendly and very helpful. We have stayed in the Lord Camden Inn (owned by the same company) and loved it, so these folks know what they are doing. Overall very highly recommended, but comment on minor gripes so they improve some of the details. We will visit again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MidMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 November 2011

My partner and I (along with our dog, Bailey) recently headed up to Camden to celebrate a friends birthday. I've stayed in a few b&bs in Camden before and they've always been very nice but this time we wanted to bring our dog. After some research we realized our options were limited. It was either the Grand Harbor or a generic motel or stay 20 miles away. Lucky for us we picked the Grand Harbor Inn. This is a small hotel with a dozen or so rooms and is located right on the harbor in Camden. The front desk staff was wonderful, from the minute we checked in the young woman at the desk was gracious & helpful and patient. She even went so far as to check in on our dog who was whimpering while we were out for dinner one night. We returned to find our Bailey being led around the hotel by the front desk manager so that she wasn't left alone in the room. I've stayed in a lot of pet friendly hotels before but this was a first. I thought that was truly above and beyond. Our room was beautiful too. Very well appointed, comfortable beds, flat screen tvs (two of them), gas fireplace, balcony, marble bath, fancy multiple-jet shower. You name it, this place had it. I was in the travel business for many years and have stayed at some of the nicest hotels in the world. The Grand Harbor Inn stands up pretty well against some of those. I would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a weekend getaway in the mid-coast area of Maine and is a welcome addition to the world of pet-friendly hotels.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulRobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 November 2011

My hubby surprised me with a long weekend at Camden Harbor Inn & I was very surprised at the level of detail and luxury I found there. The front desk staff members were all very helpful & courteous. Our room was complete with every amenity one could ask for-from heated marble floors in the bathroom to a Keurig coffee maker complete w/an array of beverage options. The bed was very comfy, which was important to me because I'm 5 months pregnant. The gas fireplace was a nice touch to the elegant & luxurious feel. My only complaint would be that our room was located near a busy ramp in the hall and we heard every creak of the floors, but this was only a minor disturbance. The living room and main areas had hardwood floors and the bedroom was carpeted (they thought of everything). The views from the room were great. There were lots of boutique shops within walking distance as well as several restaurants. I cannot wait to visit again soon.

Room Tip: Room 8 is close to a ramp that made a lot of noise when walked over so stay in another room if you h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camden
0.1 km away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#1 of 10 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.2 km away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
0.3 km away
Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 km away
Samoset Resort On The Ocean
0.5 km away
Camden Maine Stay Inn
Camden Maine Stay Inn
#1 of 19 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
0.4 km away
Relais & Chateaux Camden Harbour Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Harbor Inn

Property: Grand Harbor Inn
Address: 14 Bayview Lndg, Camden, ME 04843-2249
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Camden
#2 Family Hotel in Camden
Price range (per night): $461 - $831
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Harbor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the beauty of Camden Harbor from the luxurious comfort of your waterfront suite at the Grand Harbor Inn, Camden’s newest and only luxury, waterfront boutique Inn. Recently awarded the coveted and prestigious AAA Four Diamond Rating, the Grand Harbor Inn’s enviable waterfront location, overlooking the marina of yachts and local fishing boats, provides the perfect haven for that needed escape or romantic getaway. Located at Bay View Landing, the Grand Harbor Inn is surrounded by a vibrant mix of unique shops, fine dining, and exciting schooner and kayak tours.The Grand Harbor Inn features several waterfront rooms and suites, offering guests unparalleled views of Camden Harbor and the islands of Penobscot Bay. Each guest room and suite is exquisitely well appointed with private balconies, gas fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs and separate marble and glass enclosed rain showers, high definition 37” LCD TV’s, high speed wireless internet, luxurious bed and bath linens, and so much more!The interior style of the Grand Harbor Inn is inspired by Tuscan Villas, evoking a rustic, old-world, warm and elegant feel combined with all the contemporary comforts and amenities that today's guests expect. The exterior is Coastal Cottage, shingle-style architecture, blending perfectly with the historic waterfront buildings on Camden Harbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Wotif.com so you can book your Grand Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Harbor Hotel Camden
Grand Harbor Inn Camden, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing