We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (454)
Filter reviews
454 results
Traveller rating
135
212
82
13
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
135
212
82
13
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews seafood mg road karimeen pollichathu curry authentic kerala food appam value for money mouth watering travel desk the heart of the city south indian rooms are spacious room service is marine drive comfortable stay cochin ambience
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 454 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2018

We had opportunity to enjoy a lunch here. Nice food quality and variety. Specially traditional Kerala thali was awsome. Malabar paratha was good too. Overall a nice experience.
The hotel has good parking as well.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarvesh16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarath C, Sales & Marketing Manager at Grand Hotel Cochin, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2018

Dear Sarvesh16

Thank you so much for taking the time to review The “Grand Hotel” – Cochin restaurant The “Grand Pavilion”. We have ambitions to be Cochin’s best restaurant, so we’re really pleased you enjoyed your time with us. Just so you know, we also offer Accommodation / Banquets Halls / Confectionery shop/ and an Executive bar which is great to experience with friends and family.

Looking forward to your next visit,

With Warm Regards
Sarath Chandran
Sales & Marketing Manager
Grand Hotel – Cochin
Sales@grandhotelkerala.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2018

We stayed at Grand Hotel in Kochi last week. We stay here almost every year but each time we find that the service has been going down gradually (Except the restaurant and food which has always been Fantastic and consistent ). Wish the same could be applied to the accommodation part.
We were informed that we have been upgraded but had to change rooms the moment we entered as there was dust from the AC vent that was found on the bed the very moment we checked in. After informing the manager Shyam (as i remember) he changed the room for us. We also requested for the room we had originally booked (Which was the one with the balcony) instead of the upgrade and were informed that we would have to wait till the next morning once it was ready. After agreeing there was No News from the reception as promised.
The biggest complaint we have is the ventilation!!
If you are a non smoker or an asthmatic and have requested for a NON SMOKING room then it's pretty pointless.
We were woken up at night by a thick cloud of Cigarette smoke which was really really bad and we lost sleep as we count breathe!
The next morning as we got out of the room for breakfast and the entire floor was engulfed in a THICK FOG of Cigarette smoke..like a haze!! It was so bad that our clothes were smelling of Cigarette smoke!! This I haven't experienced in any hotel and was really disappointed since it's the Grand Hotel which we have visited for almost 10 years!!
There was no house keeping done during our stay and we were given the excuse that they knocked our door and there was no answer. (There wasn't any knock) and if there was what about the evening service????? Again we had to inform the manager. They need to take a page out the the service and hospitality at their restaurant. Doesn't even come close!! Very disappointed !!
Hot water in the shower was luke warm through out. As I opened the wash basin tap there was Rust water. But that we can let go as they had informed us about some pipe work which was going on. Sad that we will have to think twice before booking the next time with the number of options that have sprung up!!

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank homechennai107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotelCochin, General Manager at Grand Hotel Cochin, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank You for being a loyal patron of Grand Hotel for the past 10 years. At Grand Hotel we strive to deliver exceptional service to create memorable experiences for all our guests and thereby earn a long lasting association with us. I am glad that we have succeeded in doing so till your very last visit.

Unfortunately we have failed to rise up to your expectation this time. I understand that a simple word of apology cannot make up to the agony you have undergone throughout your stay, but please accept my humble apologies.

I had a detailed investigation about that days incident and would like to describe that certain unfortunate happening occurred. Adjacent to us there is a temple where some sort of rituals were going on the day of your stay which was during ayudha pooja. It was not the cigarette smoke, but the smoke from the rituals which entered inside the corridor and eventually the room.

On the same day there were air conditioning works in certain rooms, as a result the dust particles was found on the deluxe room which was the only room left with a balcony. Hence we had to shift you to another room. My housekeeping team did come for evening service but they were completely baffled and only knocked very briefly which could have been very low.

It was these occurrences which was beyond our control and spoiled our reputation. I have shared this with my team and have initiated necessary steps to negate such occurrence in the future.

Nevertheless we do have utmost regards for you and your family and I request you to please accept our apologies. Kindly consider this incident as one of case and please give us one more chance to redeem our pride.

Warm Regards,
James K C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2018 via mobile

It very good maintenance and excellent design receiption. The business hall arranged so good and they arranged the food also Good. Spacious car parking area . Ithis hotel is in near to railway station for easy access.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank YuvarajS41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarath C, Sales & Marketing Manager at Grand Hotel Cochin, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2018

Dear YuvarajS41,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Grand Hotel – Cochin

We are pleased to hear that you were happy with your recent stay with us. We would like to thank you for your kind words and compliments regarding the hotel. I will circulate your review to our teams too.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

With Warm Regards
Sarath Chandran
Sales & Marketing Manager
Grand Hotel
sales@grandhotelkerala.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2018

Our stay at hotel is very comfortable. Staff are very responsive and courteous. Best value for money. If I come to Cochin again, I will stay in this Hotel. It is very near to Ernakulam Jn Rly Station and in the heart of the city. I recommend this Hotel.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank sreedev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018 via mobile

I love the place partly because of the excellent location on MG road as well as the outstanding restaurant attached. They have managed to retain its old world and homely charm over the years while modernizing their rooms. Plenty of parking available. The only flip side is the congestion on MG road due to the ongoing Metro construction work. This has been remedied to some extent by opening out the rear entrance. Will anyday stay here while in Ernakulam

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Sivan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews