We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (13,912)
Filter reviews
13,912 results
Traveller rating
11,316
1,832
521
164
79
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
11,316
1,832
521
164
79
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspreferred clubworld cafebarefoot grillel patioour honeymoonroom serviceamerican idolsecrets boxentertainment staffbuilding conciergecoco cafefrench restaurantwelcome homehydrotherapy circuitocean viewpool volleyballmy pleasure
Filter
Updating list...
675 - 680 of 13,912 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

This hotel is truly 5* The service is superb and staff cannot do enough to make your stay as fantastic as possible. My wife was celebrating her birthday and the special treatment was brilliant.

Food is very good (only restaurant we were not keen on was the Mexican - the menu did not appeal) and drinks were premium brands. We loved the Japanese restaurant including the Hibachi show cooking.

Entertainment team work really hard and you can engage as much or as little as you like.

Beach has beautiful white sand and the beach clean up team remove seaweed that plagues this stretch of coast every morning.

Whilst I love going to new places around the world this is one of those places I would go back to.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge S, Gerente at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Dear Simon H,

We are over-joyed hearing about your fantastic stay here at Secrets Maroma Beach, Riviera Cancún, and very much appreciate your valuable feedback. You and your family are welcome back here anytime, it will always be your home from home!

I will be sure to show our team your kind words and we hope you give us the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

We travelled to this resort March 24-30 2018.

Beach
Under normal circumstances, the beach would be phenomenal and #1 on my list of “pros” below. While we were there there was a moderately bad seaweed epidemic. The resort did what it could to clean up the build up of seaweed at the shoreline (the first couple days it was men raking and they couldn’t make any progress but then the next several days there was a tractor which managed to clean most of it). There was nothing they could do about the seaweed in the water. There were a few bad spots in the ocean were completely brown and unswimmable (where the currents pulled all the seaweed together) but the majority had only a small amount of seaweed floating around and we swam several times. So the seaweed never stopped us from swimming. The last day (March 30) the wind had died down and it was much better.

Pros

- Amazing service overall, most particularly at the restaurants where they were super friendly, polite and attentive. Food service was a little slow one night but otherwise well paced (i.e. about 1.5 hours for a 4 course dinner, the times I mention being slow was when we waited about 30 mins for our first plate of food). We had excellent drink service next to the pool and at the beds behind the beach. All the staff acted so happy like they loved to serve the guests.

- 6 a-la-carte restaurants, no reservations required and we never had to wait at all for a table which was FABULOUS (one night we ate at 6:30 and were basically the only ones at the restaurant, we also ate at 7-8pm when they were more full but still no wait)
Food ranged from very good to excellent. We only ate at the buffet for breakfast. Lunch we usually ate at the grill next to the pool which was both excellent and quick but also ate at the seaside grill 2 times. Supper we always ate at the a-la-cartes and while some of the dishes were only okay many of the them were delicious and we would have liked to have had enough time to go back a second time to almost all the restaurants. The desserts were a bit lacking, the only one we loved was the creme brulee at Bordeaux. The Hibachi table at Himitsu (where you sit around the grill and they cook in front of you) was a nice experience but warm in the private room (2 are in private rooms and one is in the central part of the restaurant). This was the only thing which required a reservation.

- Very clean resort, most notably the washrooms at the beach, there was always staff there keeping them tidy (in my experience at other resorts, beach washrooms are messy)

- Beach beds! There was a large number of beach beds that cost 50$ per day and included concierge service. We did not try those as I thought the price was ridiculous. There was also 5 beach beds directly behind the beach (with a view of the ocean), as well as maybe 10 beds near the pools. We spent most of the week at the beach beds behind the beach.

- There was a wide variety of activities, and the staff were not annoying about getting people to participate. The one pool with the swim up bar was always super busy and more the “party pool” atmosphere whereas the other one was much calmer and quieter (even though they are right next to each other). I liked that there were lots of games to play on your own as a couple (4 in a row basketball, mini putt, pool, ping pong).

- There were lots of evening entertainment, most nights there were 2 or 3 different things going on (live music in the lobby, show on the beach and then a show in the theater). The Beatles show was really good (live band with dancers, and the break dancers were so impressive!) and the fire show was quite good too.

- There are 2 whirlpools and the water is actually quite warm (at other resorts we’ve stayed at the whirlpools are no warmer than the swimming pools)

Cons

- suites were a bit smaller than some other junior suites we’ve had at other resorts. We were told we were “upgraded” to a partial ocean view but that was a lie as partial ocean view is actually their lowest room category. Furthermore, since we were in the building farthest from the beach we actually couldn't see the ocean due to all the palm trees.

- All the good spots got reserved very early (before 9am) but there are 2 signs next to the pools saying not to reserve spots and that personal articles could be removed if a spot was unoccupied for 30 mins. There was a few very rude people who left their stuff on the beach beds all day long and only showed up at 1pm or even as late as 4pm one day to use the bed. I found this extremely selfish given there are only 5 free beds behind the beach (not counting the ones on the beach that you had to pay) so after the first day we simply started remove peoples’ stuff if we saw that they hadn’t shown up as of late morning.

- All beach beds should be free and only require an additional fee for concierge service. There was a dozen beds not being used every day because people didn't want to pay the fee!

- There was a small lineup almost every morning at the buffet around 9am, simply because they were not fast enough at cleaning tables and getting people seated. Luckily it was only a 3-5 minute wait (one day 5-10 mins).

- Air conditioning in the restaurants was not strong enough, my husband who had to wear long pants (but was in short sleeve shirts) was always too warm. It was more comfortable being outside with the breeze but a few times the patios were full and we had to eat indoors.

- Internet in the rooms was poor and would disconnect frequently, but internet access around the pool and on the beach was consistently good.

Overall we loved this resort, it was exactly what we were looking for and we would definitely recommend it to other couples.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank canadagirlincancun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge S, Gerente at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us your feedback about your recent stay with us.

We are glad to learn you enjoyed some of our facilities.

Regrettably, it would appear we did not meet all your expectations. Nevertheless, this will be shared with the appropriate areas so they can look into each one of your observations, since they work tirelessly - day and night, to make our guests’ visits the most comfortable experience ever.

Your observations are very important to us.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at this wonderful resort from March 10-17. We cannot say enough good things about it! We had a swim-out suite in building 22, and it was lovely to have the option of a quiet dip in a pool right outside our room. The main pools were great as well. Staff are friendly and work very hard to make sure your every need is met. Maggie, our concierge, was wonderful. Our room was spacious, clean, and comfortable.

The food—no complaints here! Abundant and tasty. Grilled lobster tails by the pool one day. Barbecue before the fire show one night. Harpist or saxophone serenade at the breakfast buffet that truly was out of this world!

Entertainment was great as well. When we went to the Beatles tribute, we expected just four guys singing—but it was much more than that! Another night there was a classic rock tribute that was very well done.

We loved when the staff took the time to learn our names, like Jair who never failed to greet us so warmly.

Highly recommend this resort!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Pauline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge S, Gerente at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Dear Pauline C,

It has been a pleasure to read such a positive review in regards to our resort.

It is our job to make you feel more than royalty here at the Secrets Maroma Beach, Riviera Cancún.

You will always be welcome here, as your new home from home.

I will be sure to show my team your kind words, which I am sure they will be encouraged by.

Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

Great staff with a beautiful beach ! Entertainment was good too. We felt the service was over the top! The steakhouse and hibachi grill were our favorite dinners, but the grilled fish by the pool or at the beach grill was the best!

Room Tip: We had a partial oceanview room, but the swim outs looked lovely.
Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank shesellssunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge S, Gerente at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Shesellssunshine

Thank you for sharing this review! Truly, hearing from a guest as taken with our resort as yourself is a gift, and I will be sure to show our team your kind words.

Should you plan another trip of luxury and leisure, we hope you will keep our resort in mind. We would be thrilled to serve you again.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

All I can say is wow. We just returned Sunday 4/1 and had the time of our life. Friendly people, great pool activities, great Entertainment team, great rooms/clean. People bending over backwards to help you. Just a awesome place to stay. We already are looking into returning soon. We've never been treated so good anywhere. We were tippers though and that may have helped. Also American beers, no children, fantastic beech, games you can get involved in if you want. What a great time.

Room Tip: Swim ups are nice to have.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank snoopydog72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Concierge S, Gerente at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Dear snoopydog72,

Firstly I would like to thank you for choosing Secrets Maroma Beach, Riviera Cancún as your holiday destination.

Thank you for taking the time to write such a greatly detailed review in regards to our resort. It has been a pleasure to read and receive your wonderful feedback.

I will be sure to share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As an AAA Five Diamond Resort, our hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

Thank you again, we will look forward to serving you again in the future, as this will always be your home from home.

Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews