We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Hidden gem

I stopped by on the recommendation of a friend. I will revisit again lovely little beach area... read more

Reviewed 24 September 2018
itsdig
,
Palmetto, Florida
Beautiful with amazing beach stand food

Beautiful white sandy beach with calm water - with barely any waves at all. The beach is clean and... read more

Reviewed 16 September 2018
A J
,
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Read all 57 reviews
  
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveller rating
42
11
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
42
11
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews snack bar concession stand clean beach white sand great beach nature center beach area picnic tables state park seaweed waves tide rocks maine seagulls ocean bay
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 57 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

I love nearby and is my favorite place to go with all my kids. Sometimes we pack a picnic, sometimes we buy food there. Sometimes we pack toys, other times we rent them. A gem rest beach to keep an eye on kids. They can't go far! But still lots of exploring to do. Kids swim in anything. I only go in on the hottest days. Water is chilly.

Date of experience: July 2016
2  Thank mainemumma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2016

This is a clean beach and the water temperature was a little cool but not freezing. We would have stayed longer but the wind picked up and the sand hurt. There are showers available but they are cold showers. That was no problem for us but it's good to know.

Date of experience: August 2016
1  Thank Swandawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2016

We vacationed in this area many years ago when our children were young but had not been to this beach as a family for many years. This time we had our two year old grandson along with us as well. It's a wonderful beach for children because the waves are not very big and the white sand makes for great castle building. It is a small beach that gets smaller when the tide comes in, so plan accordingly when setting up. The park has many picnic tables tucked under the pines and is surrounded with beach plum bushes that smell divine. You can rent sand toys and floats and there is also a snack bar that is reasonable priced. However, watch out for the gulls who will snatch food right out of your hands if you are not cautious! There are cold showers for rinsing off before you leave. This beach is scenic and you can watch lobster boats and sailboats off in the distance. There is a $4 fee for adults and kids over 12. If you are in the area, make it part of your visit.

Date of experience: August 2016
2  Thank zancooneymcd41769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2016 via mobile

This is a small beach and it can get crowded. The good news is that the bathroom is close and you're never far from the car. The beach is enclosed by rock formations at each end so there's no long walks to take. It's a nice change of pace. And you can buy food there.

Date of experience: August 2016
2  Thank 5mirzaians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016

This is a perfect place to spend a day or an afternoon. And if you forget beach toys, like shovels, pails or boogie boards, you can even rent them - what a novel and great idea! This beach is not wide, but has enough length that you can walk right or left and find a rather quiet place to enjoy the cove. The sand is clean and soft. What else could you ask for?

Date of experience: August 2016
2  Thank EmEs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews