We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“it was what we expected - convenient and good value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vacationland Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Vacationland Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Brewer
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Gray, Maine
Level Contributor
112 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“it was what we expected - convenient and good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

As other reviewers have mentioned, room was a bit dated but it was very clean. we were in a first floor room, and we parked right at our own door. room had cable, large tv, mini fridge & microwave. No hair dryer though so don't forget yours. Location was quiet but very convenient to stores, restaurants, etc. Greeting at check-in was a little lukewarm but staff at check out the next morning was very nice! Best price we found was on their own website, other sites were at least 20 dollars more. A great deal for the $60+ tax we paid.

Room Tip: annex rooms looked like they may be more updated but were also more money, not alot of extras/toilet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SandieS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    252
    75
    26
    22
See reviews for
205
251
43
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Castine, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

Have done some business there, staff is very friendly and nice, rooms are good, beds are comfortable. Great Place!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

Always stay here when I am in Bangor to shop . It is always clean and the price is well worth the short drive to the Bangor shopping area 5 min. We stayed here on the weekend and got our 2 nites for the price of one nite over in Bangor.Though dated it is always clean and the staff is so nice. To me it is a little bit of home while traveling.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brigadoon80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gardiner, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

My wife and I stayed at Vacationland Inn in January of 2012 and the folks there were some of the kindest, most hospitable staff I've ever seen. Everything from check-in to breakfast to check out was done with not only the utmost professionalism but also a sense of joy and pride in their establishment. I would recommend them to anyone staying in the greater Bangor-Brewer area.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MEBuzbys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

Our family has been staying at this motel location for well over 30+ years when it was called TWIN-CITY-MOTOR-INN. Under that ownership it got worse and worse over the the years until it finally got to a point that we say: "Enough is enough, there are plenty of alternatives !". From then we avoided the place and, from a distance, watched it go severely 'down-hill'.
THEN - came new owner, operators in late 2007. As we drove past 2-3 times a year we saw: New Paint, new signs, new....etc but still we were unaware of the new ownership.
Yesterday (March 1st, 2012) we thought, well we'll check it out and probably go 'somewhere else'.
Well, let me say this - from the minute we arrived to inquire about availability and pricing, to the time we checked out ~ we were made to feel like we were the MOST IMPORTANT customers they've ever had.
Firstly, they offered a great deal, right in line with all the other local alternatives, Secondly, they made sure we could park our car close to the room door ( we were loaded up to the roof and wanted to keep an eye on it). Thirdly, they went out of their way to explain where we could get a great deal for supper ( the restaurant right next door offered a discount for Motel guests AND great food/service). Fourthly, they called the room to make sure we were happy and the room was suitable for us and our dog.
In the evening we spotted the owners wife cooking up Strawberry and Blueberry sauces which she explained were for the guest breakfast ( INCLUDED ) for the morning.
Most of all, they offered an absolutly FANTASTIC breakfast with just about everything anyone could possibly ask for, including freshly made waffles with home-made sauces (see above). Most of all, they had a very attentative staff-member standing by to offer help/assistance with making waffles or get anything not already there. WHOW ~ we had no idea service like this was still available in North-America !
In the morning, there was a knock on the door and a stafff member inquired if we were leaving that morning because it had snowed heavily during the night and he wanted to know if we would like him to shovel out the car and clean it off ! We were STUNNED - when we came out of the bathroom to offer him a tip, he was already finished and gone. "THAT" is service ~ WHOW !
On check-out, the day-staff was so attentative and helpful, we felt that she went out of her way to make sure we felt ~ Like Royalty.
WHOW - what an experience. !
We're heading back through Brewer, ME in April and - we WILL make it a point to stay there again - just for the experience.
We are truly speechless - What a fantastic experience. Absolutely NOTHING negative to say ~ only 100% POSITIVE experience
Thank YOU ! ! !

Room Tip: The - check-in staff will help you get the perfect room for what you need. Their recommendations for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Juergen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vacationland_Manager, Manager at Vacationland Inn, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Thank you for your kind words. Your review was shared with the entire staff and the owners of Vacationland Inn. We strive daily to continue to improve not only the Inn but people's travel experience. We are pleased that you experienced exactly what we strive. Here to serve. We look forward to your next stay.

We are overwhelmed with humble thanks.

Kind Regards,

Leeanne
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brewer
9.1 km away
BEST WESTERN White House Inn
2.5 km away
Residence Inn Bangor
Residence Inn Bangor
#7 of 26 in Bangor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
2.7 km away
The Charles Inn
The Charles Inn
#20 of 26 in Bangor
3.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 km away
Howard Johnson Inn Bangor
6.0 km away
Hampton Inn Bangor
Hampton Inn Bangor
#1 of 26 in Bangor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
4.7 km away
Courtyard Bangor
Courtyard Bangor
#9 of 26 in Bangor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vacationland Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vacationland Inn

Property: Vacationland Inn
Address: 453 Wilson St., Brewer, ME 04412
Region: United States > Maine > Brewer
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Brewer
Price range (per night): $97 - $147
Hotel Class:2 star — Vacationland Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five (5) Beautiful Themed Suites with hydro-massage bath! Over 40 Drive up rooms. Vacationland Inn offers a variety of rooms to meet travelers needs (Economy to Themed Suites). A home away from home experience. Complimentary Continental Breakfast with Home-made waffles and Wild Maine Blueberry sauce, strawberry sauce and syrup. Vacationland Inn's Organic Coffee freshly roasted by local roasting company and privately labled just for our guests. Juices, toasting breads, cereals and more. Friendly staff that will always go the extra "Smile" to serve our guest needs. The Adventure begins at Vacationland Inn. Your first or return visit - experience the newly remodeled lobby and breakfast room. See you on your future stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Expedia APAC so you can book your Vacationland Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vacationland Hotel Brewer
Vacationland Village Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing