We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“another good breakfast place”
Review of Blue Moon Cafe

Blue Moon Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 4 - USD 19
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Description: The Blue Moon Cafe serves breakfast and lunch 7 days a week and is conveniently located on Commercial Street right on the water. The restaurant offers both indoor and outdoor seating overlooking scenic Boothbay Harbor. The atmosphere is casual and we serve fresh and creative food at reasonable prices. Several of the Cafe’s specialties include, Fresh Baked Muffins, Cinnamon Pecan Crusted French Toast, Homemade Corned Beef Hash, Breakfast Burritos, Maine Lobster Rolls, Haddock wraps, Reubens and Crab Quesadillas. We also serve beer, wine and spirits so you must try one of Fred’s Most Excellent Bloodies which are always a favorite for Sunday Brunch. On Sundays we serve Lobster and Crab Benedicts as well as special seafood omelets. Please contact us about hosting a private dinner party on our gorgeous deck for 10 or more people. It is super reasonable.
Reviewed 15 August 2017

Three of us ate breakfast here a few weeks ago, and we all enjoyed the variety, the view, and the service. We got there right before they opened, but we were still welcomed and told to get coffee while we waited for them to be ready to take our orders. Food was plentiful and tasty!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Frugal-Teacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (460)
There are newer reviews for Blue Moon Cafe
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 38 of 460 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2017

We loved the cozy deck overlooking the water and found it be an idyllic setting for breakfast or lunch. The girls who work there were all so friendly, polite, and attentive. We were a bit disappointed with the food...the omelette were slightly overlooked, and the potatoes were dry and a little shriveled. In spite of that, we would absolutely return, and just try something different on the menu. The blueberry muffin was fantastic- moist with lots of fresh blueberries in it. So maybe I will try the sweet stuff next time, like French toast or pancakes!

Thank markav99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017

We went for lunch. Great location. Ordering at the counter was very slow due to apparent disinterest. Find your own table. Slow to get food. Restroom was dirty; nothing else was exactly clean. Food was okay. Kaler's, nest door, was terrific. I imagine Blue Moon stays in business by offering breakfast when others don't, but I don't really know.

Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017

Located right on the harbor, both indoor and outdoor seating, very casual -- customers order food at the counter and then someone delivers it to the table. Generous lunch portions, everything was delicious, from haddock reubens to burgers. Would definitely go back next time we're in Boothbay Harbor.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank eli1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

We headed here for breakfast on our first morning after reviewing the TA advice and it being one of the few options with outside seating for breakfast.

I must say, the food was really disappointing, to be honest, one of the most tasteless breakfasts I've had in the US. It is very cheap, so I guess you get what you pay for.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank UkSil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Percy-kbunk, Owner at Blue Moon Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Hello UkSil,

We are really sorry to see that you did not enjoy your breakfast at the Blue Moon. We wish you had told us while you were there so that we could correct it. What did you have? We are surprised as well because all our customers rave about the fluffy omelettes, delicious french toast and out of this world homemade corned beef hash.

Please come back again and we hope you enjoy your visit in the US.

Stephanie and Fred

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Moon Cafe also viewed

Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Blue Moon Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing