We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice...Very quite!”
Review of Topside Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boothbay Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Topside Inn
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
637 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
“Very nice...Very quite!”
Reviewed 8 November 2011

I discovered TOPSIDE INN B&B on the internet and reserved our October weekend stay in late May. A very detailed, organized email confirmation was immediately received along with details on arriving and check-in. Friday and Saturday rates were $195/nightly; Sunday rate was $175 excluding taxes.
TOPSIDE INN B&B is at the perfect location at the top of the hill for a great view of the harbor and a quick walk to downtown Boothbay Harbor to shops and restaurants! Ed and Brian are gracious hosts and provided us with a memorable stay in such a cute town. This is a great place to stay if you have doubts about the B&B experience where you stay in the house. Here you can select from the many rooms in the large main house or in the adjacent "bunkhouse" buildings. We stayed in Room 8 in the "bunkhouse" which is on the lower level, excluded from all the other rooms. We had an enormous deck right outside our room that was very private and exclusively for our use. Room 8 was an extremely clean room with daily maid service, something you rarely find in B&B. A very spacious room with an even more spacious bathroom with double sinks! Very nicely decorated with wicker chairs and a table for 2! A small frig and microwave is also in this room. If you are taller than 6 feet, don't book this room as there is a low positioned ceiling support beam right at 6 feet.
A hot breakfast was served in the main house each morning between 8am-930am. We loved the blueberry lemon pancakes with turkey sausage! The main house is cozy and comfortable with a fireplace lounge stocked with loads of games, magazines and books to enjoy!
Also available for guests are afternoon snacks of cookies and/or crackers. Wine glasses are available for those who BYOW. Loved the Adirondack chairs in the yard - sooooo relaxing!
The only thing that puzzled us was a message from Brian and Ed that was on the outside of a plain, white envelope that was in our room--obvious to us it was for tips, which explained that the hardworking housekeepers traveled far from home this year from Bulgaria, Russia, Lithuania and Vietnam to clear our room and hoped we appreciated their efforts.

Room Tip: Avoid staying in Room 1 right inside the front door of the main house as occupants' conversation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Napunani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,030 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    951
    66
    7
    5
    1
See reviews for
122
723
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

My parents had stayed at the Topside for decades and felt Ed and Brian's place was their "home away from home". When they both passed away recently we agreed to fulfill their request that their ashes be dispersed in the waters outside of Booth Bay.
Ed and Brian found a very nice boat captain to take us out. We had a brief ceremony and then he brought us back to the dock and refused any compensation despite repeated attempts.
This type of treatment is a perfect example of what to expect at the Topside Inn. Caring, warm, owners and the "home away from home"atmosphere we all are looking for!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RetiredEric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Stratford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2011

What a lovely place to stay! Rooms were clean, tidy and well decorated. We received a warm welcome and help getting the cases to the rooms.

Views from the rooms over the harbour were beautiful.

Brian gave us his recommendations of places to eat in the town - we braved the evening chill to sit out on an upper deck! On the second evening we went to a restaurant on the other side of the bay and had dinner by a lovely warm, open, roaring fire - the food was excellent.

Breakfast served by Brian and staff in the main house, was fabulous and different. I would recommend Topside Inn to anyone without a moments hesitation. Hope to visit again in the future. Jo

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradenton, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

We visited Topside Inn in September and loved everything about it. The location is beautiful and the personal service provided by Ed and Brian was superior. Breakfast is a special treat. Bring a book and sit in the chairs overlooking the Bay!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bogey57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blythewood, SC
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

What a great B&B! The charming house sits at the top of a hill overlooking the harbor, just a short walk downhill to shops and restaurants. The rooms are well-appointed, and the main house is cozy and comfortable. Ed and Brian are gracious hosts and serve a delicious hot breakfast, complete with fresh fruit, homemade granola, and cinnamon scones. We regretted that we had only scheduled one night in Boothbay, and hope to return. We highly recommend this B&B to anyone visiting Boothbay Harbor.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank foxsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boothbay Harbor hotels
0.2 km away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
454 reviews
0.2 km away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#6 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
490 reviews
1.3 km away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast
Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
677 reviews
0.1 km away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#7 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
271 reviews
2.4 km away
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
#1 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Topside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Topside Inn

Property: Topside Inn
Address: 60 McKown St, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-1863
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Boothbay Harbor
Price range (per night): $196 - $347
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to the top of the hill and enjoy our incredible views of Boothbay Harbor, Maine at Topside Inn! At our Bed and Breakfast set in a beautiful 19th-century sea captain's home and two summer guesthouses you'll find a warm welcome, comfort and style with modern amenities, fabulous breakfasts, and easy access to shopping, restaurants, boat excursions, botanical gardens, hiking trails and much more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Topside Inn b&b
Topside Hotel Boothbay Harbor
Topside Inn Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing