We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (492)
Filter reviews
492 results
Traveller rating
246
166
51
14
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
246
166
51
14
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great view indoor pool room was clean massage chair king suite complimentary breakfast adirondack chairs on site restaurant bagels first floor view of the bay hard boiled eggs sitting room would stay here again off season sit outside enjoy the view
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 492 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2018

Entire Property is very used, outdated, smells of chlorine.. Our room was on the first floor which felt like a basement. It is reminiscent of an old time beach motel room. Bathroom was small and very outdated..tub with a very used shower curtain. Rooms had patios but no furniture to sit on. Property has an extraordinary water view and a decent included breakfast but the guest rooms leave something to be desired.

Room Tip: Stay on second level.
Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2018

I'm sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay, and I thank you for writing. However, to clarify on a couple of items: There are seventy adirondack chairs a few paces from your room in the grass overlooking the water. If you were on the first floor as you described, the flooring was installed just two weeks before you arrived.
If you would consider us for future visits, I can suggest that you stay on the 2nd or 3rd floor where there are chairs on each balcony, and you are further from the pool.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2018

The hotel itself is average with rooms being about the same. From someone who grew up in Maine, moved away and was back for training, this hotel served it's the purpose of providing a bed and someplace to relax. The bed, bathroom, and room were good, the couches left a lot to be desired but I did not watch that much tv. For the price, this was enough to make me happy but if I were paying I would not choose to stay here.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank adammhunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Welcome back to Maine!
I'm happy that you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully, you'll have furthere trainings and we will see you again.
Sincerely,
Barry Asalone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2018 via mobile

Two good things...water view was beautiful and the beds were comfortable. However, the rooms were small and in desperate need of updating. The two straight padded chairs very uncomfortable. There was mold in corner of bathroom in shower. We were here with another couple who were in adjoining room but there was no convenient place to sit and visit. The lobby/breakfast area had 3 upholstered chairs next to tables. They didn’t have air conditioning in lobby/breakfast area and told us the area was too big! Therefore, they had the front door and the door to the deck open and flies came in. There were also flies in our rooms. The breakfast was typical but the hot items were the same each day we ate here. Would not recommend this Inn.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank bettydeihm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2018

Clean, welcoming, extremely comfortable, beautiful views, (breakfast on the deck overlooking the water, at sunrise, was magical), Staff, to a person, treated us with kindness and consideration. Other hotels should look at this one and see how to run an establishment that people will want to return to.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mjsolomon46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2018

I'm glad that you enjoyed your brief visit here. Perhaps you can return some day for a longer visit. Thanks for your kind words.

Sincerely,
Barry Asalone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2018

Surprisingly excellent twin lobster meal for $19.99 and not just for early birds. Lobsters were big one pounders cooked perfectly. Potatoes and steamed veggies were likewise well prepared - not overcooked. Excellent view of Penobscot Sound from inside or from the outside patio. We will eat here on all future visits.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank 2000Intruder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

Thanks for your review. Chef went overboard on the lobster this summer. (excuse the reference) However, guest's love it, and we love showcasing fresh Maine lobster. We hope to see you again before Columbus Day.
Sincerely,
Barry Asalone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews