We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maine 2018”

Meanwhile in Belfast
Reserve with OpenTable
Meanwhile in Belfast is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 64 Restaurants in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 10 - USD 25
Restaurant details
Reviewed 15 October 2018 via mobile

Super deluxe Italian trained and certified pizza place.

Equipment from Italy.

Large beer list.

Not to be confused with Domino's, Little Ceasar's or DiGorno's.

Excellent pizza and service.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Bulldawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 174 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2018

We were one of three couples, all local, that went to dinner together here a few nights ago.The restaurant policy is completely inflexible in terms of the menu and the portions. The pizza was good but the waiter had an attitude. He was unhelpful, sarcastic and even condescending. The first thing from the waiter after sitting down was that there are no changes to the menu and if we understood that we would all be friends. We ordered two shishito pepper appetizers and the amount of aioli sauce was barely enough for one order. When we asked for more aioli the waiter said that was probably not possible as the is carefully calibrated to the order and it was meant for dipping. We explained that 6 people sharing can hardly dip/double dip and they need to adjust the portion upward. When we asked for a spoon to put the sauce on our peppers his first reaction was that he did not have one. The waiter refused to have a hamburger cooked medium and said the only option was medium rare. One member of our party called him on his attitude and said he owed us an apology which we received and he was better after that. When he thought we had all left, not realizing one of our party was in the restroom, he was caught bad-mouthing us to the owner. The winters are cold and long in Maine and we are three couples that will not be patronizing this restaurant this winter.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank McKenziesMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018

Meanwhile is our go to for great food & wine in a very special, family owned restaurant. My daughter always orders the oysters which are amazingly fresh. The wine selection is extensive, the food is traditional & authetic & service is exceptional The tiramisu is the BEST EVER!!! This is above and beyond a typical pizza place & well worth a visit!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank mbblake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2018

After suffering a poor meal at lunch at Delvino's, and leaving the Nautilus because it smelled so dirty, we thought we could do no wrong at Meanwhile. The waiter truly seemed stoned and warned us we would be in for some "surprises" as new-comers to this restaurant. One of us ordered the vegetable pizza as it purported to have fresh vegetables and the waiter reported they tried to "locally source" their foods. The pizza was covered with artichoke hearts ('don't know of any local growers here), way too many Kalamata olives, a few fresh cherry tomatoes and way too much olive oil. When asked about where the fresh scallops came, as we know the season here in Maine is the mid-winter, the owner replied: "from the fish market". The pizza crust was very good, but the whole experience was disappointing.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DayTrip608037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2018

Not sure how to describe this place. You can have our pizzas but they only come the way we choose to make them for you. You can pay for your pizza but no more than 2 checks per table and no exceptions. You must listen to our pitch rather you are interested or not. That said, the ambience otherwise was nice - clean, charming small place near the water. The pizza was pretty good but not the best I've had. The salad was fresh but the dressing seemed to have been missed - later we found it to be at the bottom of the plate. The waiters were bordering on ridiculously pushy - each step of the way trying to push us. The first push was to have some wine or other drinks (we had been walking a lot and weren't interested in alcohol for this meal) - he didn't want to take "no" for an answer so we had to insist that he did. Then he proceeded to tell us about everything *but* the famous certified Neapolitan pizza they were supposed to be known for - he pushed the seafood dishes, the homemade pasta, etc. We were there for pizza and patiently waited. Then he told us their "policy" - "we make the pizza one way and one way only - no special requests" - okay, no big deal, we trust you to make us a good pizza. Then after we chose one, he insisted we should order 2 pizzas since they were "only" 11 inches. We saw a pizza being delivered to another table about that time and knew 1 pizza was plenty for us. We do not like to eat heavy meals. We ordered a pizza and entree salad to share. He was sure we would "need" dessert after this (preparing to push us again later to order some dessert I guess). As we waited we heard the pitch to several other tables by the two waiters where the patrons seemed a little put off by the attitude when they asked for "light cheese" or any other special request and the answer was "we will use the RIGHT amount of cheese" and similar comments. We also read the menu in the meantime and chuckled many times over the "RULES" of the pizza and the place in general.

Anyway, the pizza was fine - I have ordered my own special flour from Italy before and have made similar pizzas so maybe I am already spoiled and not so easily impressed, but it wasn't "amazing" or "the best pizza I've ever had" - it was simply a good pizza. The owner checked in on us when we first arrived which was nice. The waiter annoyed us by hawking over our table too many times and making comments regarding our "progress" on our dinner.

He was pretty much sure we were going to order dessert and seemed disappointed when we didn't.

Bottom line - don't pressure sell your concept and lighten the up sale on the menu, let diners relax and have a nice time. It's fine to have some restrictions on the menu but it's a matter of presenting that in a considerate, relaxed manner that seems important.

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank organicfoodlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Meanwhile in Belfast also viewed

Belfast, Mid Coast Maine
 
Belfast, Mid Coast Maine
 
Belfast, Mid Coast Maine
Belfast, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Meanwhile in Belfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing