We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (102)
Filter reviews
102 results
Traveller rating
99
2
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
99
2
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine and cheese other guests cookies yogurt night stay each morning spent a week five star wealth of knowledge quiet side every evening relaxing oasis personal touch three courses salad greens exercise equipment boutique hotel
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 102 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2015

We spent 3 nights here while visiting the Bar Harbor area and really enjoyed our stay and would definitely return. The hosts were friendly and helpful, the breakfasts delicious and the accommodations 5 star quality. We stayed in the Eagle's room and the bed was the most comfortable we have ever slept on. The location is great too as it is close to local attractions but away from the hustle and bustle of Bar Harbor. The Eagle room features a large room, private patio, gas fireplace, large walk in closet and well appointed bathroom with luxury toiletries. The free wifi worked great too. We didn't need the a/c as it was nice and cool with the windows open and the ceiling fan circulating the cool air around.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kingpgmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2015

Me and my boyfriend stayed here this past weekend for our 4 year anniversary and although we were much younger than the other couples there, the inn left us speechless. We stayed in the Mallard room which had a 2 person hot tub. The room was more than we thought we were ready to spend, but it was worth every penny. EVERY morning Jeanette prepares a homemade 3 course breakfast. It starts with a pastry, then a refreshing fruit course, and finally a deliciously decadent main course. We were so full we never needed lunch! We also attended the wine tasting that occurs at 5:30pm in the evenings. We tried amazing local wines and beers that paired amazingly with the local cheeses. Everything was perfect. The views were stunning and it was the most peaceful place.

Room Tip: Mallard is the only one with a hot tub. All have amazing views.
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Rosa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2015 via mobile

My partner and I have just returned from 2 weeks in the U.S. the first of which we spent in the Acadia National Park staying at the Ann's Point Inn.

It's hard to think of how we could have had more luck in picking somewhere from so far away which exceeded expectations in so many ways.

Firstly, the owner/hosts Jeanette and Alan are serious pros. Un-flappable, helpful and knowledgeable, kind and welcoming.
Jeanette also happens to be a genuinely brilliant cook.

We opted for the cheapest room of the four available, and although apparently it is the oldest and has had the least refurbishment it was immaculate and huge. Double height and with a vast double king sized bed. There was also room for two large and comfy sofa chairs in a sitting room area and a separate WC with a double shower. The room has an entire wall of windows looking over the lawn to the bay.

The main part of the Inn is best described in two parts; the 'spa' and the kitchen/dining/living areas.
The spa is a sauna, showers, jacuzzi and some exercise equipment all in a large barn like room which is part of the main house but located right next to the guest rooms. All the equipment was new. We actually only used the sauna and jacuzzi. This was a lovely add-on. A rack of free weights would have been absolutely brilliant and would bridge the gap between the spa-gym like facilities on hand here.

The kitchen and living areas are modern and beautifully done with high ceilings and lots of windows looking over the truly spectacular bay beyond. This was the perfect area for sitting with a book, having a chat or just staring out at the wildlife - with the evenings being pretty cool in this area it's the perfect space to admire the outstanding beauty from a warm, comfy spot!

Breakfast. We were so excited for breakfast every day! 4 courses. Homemade granola, a sweet, baked treat (highlight was the clafoutis and the rhubarb custard tart - I can still vividly remember it today!) followed by fresh fruit and then an amazing, freshly cooked course. But not just eggs, this usually constituted a really complex savoury pastry or recipe from Ottolenghi or some other chef, cooked at the Ann's Point by Jeanette. Every day it was different and everyday it was absolutely wonderful - clear plates all round.

Also at breakfast, all guests are invited to opt in or out to a cheese and wine session that afternoon from 5pm hosted by Alan. This is a great opportunity to meet other guests and to grill Alan on local Maine life, the area or the next day's restaurant reservations. We did this a few times during our stay and had some lovely wines, great cheeses (local and from further afield) and even Alan's own brewed beer (which was genuinely delicious). During these, we also met some absolutely lovely fellow guests from all over the States and had some good chats about all sorts.

The area that Ann's Point is located in is stunning. It has water on three sides and although you can see a few houses and various buildings over the bay you're mainly looking at a gorgeous, ever-changing tidal bay and trees. We saw a huge bald eagle in the trees opposite for two days running (very clear in the house telescope).

In terms of the Acadia National Park, Ann's Point is on the quieter South-Western side. Having visited Bar Harbour a couple of times during our stay we were 100% satisfied with our choice of that side. The nearest town is South West Harbour - prettier, quieter than Bar but still with some great shops and restaurants (please do go to Red Sky - superb). Even if you do want to explore Bar Harbour, it is only 40 minutes drive away. For all of the major park highlights Ann's Point is an ideal base.

Alan and Jeanette also know everything there is to know about the area. So from restaurants to which kayak company to go to, to which route you might want to approach a specific local mountain from: they had a wealth of knowledge.

If you're heading to the Acadia National Park you couldn't wish for a better place to stay, or more perfect hosts.


Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank MattCooke2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2015

We stayed at Ann's Point Inn in Bass Harbor and could not have been more pleased. We have been traveling to the region for years and never found a place we truly loved until now. The inn is clean, the rooms beautiful and the breakfast outstanding. Loved the views from every window and the innkeepers were so friendly. They have so many amenities including movies for your room, pool table, hot tub, etc. There are no stairs to climb so if you have painful knees, this is the place for you. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: One room does not have a deck so if you would like your own deck, make sure to ask for one.
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lbmgator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2015 via mobile

I took my girlfriend here as a romantic getaway and to hike through Acadia as we are both avid hikers. We loved our stay here. The place is nicely located away from the crowds and the excessively busy Bar Harbor area, but not so far as to be inconvenient. Bar harbor and the national park are both easy and close drives away.

The grounds of the B&B are nice situated and secluded with a beautiful view over the water. We stayed a few days in the Blue Heron room which was nicely appointed, very spacious, and most importantly for us: very clean!

The bathroom is nice and clean, and modern. It has a great dual head shower. Best of all the kind bed was easily the most comfortable bed I have slept on in all my travels. And I travel a lot. The in suite gas fire place is a great addition, especially after a long and cool hike in the fall.

The owners are incredibly friendly and knowledgable of the area. Great resources.

I will admit my girlfriend and I are younger so most of our interactions, being of this generation, are usually through social media. So it was a little jarring to have to share a breakfast table with complete strangers and have conversation with them. That being said it was an amazing experience that taught us the importance of putting down the phone and meeting people the way it was meant to be done. We had the chance to meet an elderly couple from California and they were such great people. Given how little we interact beyond social media these days, it is refreshing to do it the normal way.

We plan on coming back soon since we enjoyed the stay so much. You'd be crazy not to book a weekend or longer here!

Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank matt b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews