We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful”
other travellers have booked this property
Exterior of Gite de cadran solaire
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Exterior of Gite de cadran solaire
Le gite de cadran solaire Bedroom 1
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Exterior of Gite de cadran solaire
Le gite de cadran solaire
Bedroom 1
Bedroom1
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Bedroom 2
Bedroom3
Lounge
Patio
View from patio
Patio
View from bedroom3
Looking west
View of upstream from waterfall
Canoeing on the river
Canoeing by the waterfall in summer
The ancient cider press
View from the main garden
August 2014. 70th anniversary of the liberation of the nearyby village of Beny Bocage
August 2014. 70th anniversary of the liberation of the nearyby village of Beny Bocage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Le Beny Bocage, Calvados, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
kristyrx
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 18 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We have stayed in Normandy many times, but this has to be the most beautiful of locations. Despite wanting to visit the many beaches and towns associated with the wars, we could have quite easily spent our time sitting by the river, enjoying the peace and quiet, or kayaking along the gorge ( included in the price of the stay ).
With teenagers and a workaholic husband the wifi had been a non- negotiable booking requirement, however within a couple of days this had been replaced by sociable get- togethers with the other guests, ping - pong tournaments,barbecues and relaxing by the river with more than the odd glass of the local vin!
The gite was a beautiful stone building, the kind you hope to find in France. The rooms are spacious with all the facilities you could need. Beds were comfortable and gave for a sound night 's sleep, before waking to the sound of the trickling waterfall each morning.
Lynne and johnny provide the perfect hosting - sociable, engaging and knowledgeable of the area, but not intrusive. They were happy to share the best places to go, times to avoid etc.
This is the perfect holiday for those who enjoy the freedom a self - catering holiday offers and I would recommend it to families and couples who enjoy everything that France and the stunning Moulin L'Eveque have to offer

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Aug 2017
Thank you Kristy. It was a pleasure to have you and your family to stay in our largest cottage for 10 August nights. So glad you all enjoyed your days out sight seeing and some days floating up and down the river in the kayak. We look forward to meeting you all again next August.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela M
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Little Piece of Heaven”
Reviewed 31 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

I have been to France a few times on holiday and this Gite is the best Gite I have stayed in when staying in France. Lyne and Johnny are very welcoming and cannot do enough for you when there,
Very well equipped with comfortable beds.
Kids enjoyed every minute of there holiday, lots for the kids to do they didn't want to come home.
If you want a relaxing holiday with amazing views then stay here you won't be disappointed.
We will definitely be staying again in the future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2017
Thank you Angela. Glad you enjoyed your time here. you seemed to strike a nice balance of days out/days in. The weather has turned since you left.
I hope the M1 and M6 were not too crowded for your return journey. We look forward to meeting you all again on another holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon M
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A wonderful break with wonderful hosts”
Reviewed 30 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

I write this review with some regret as a very early start and packing meant I didn't get to say goodbye to the wonderful hosts, Johnnie, Lyn and their adorable dog which my kids fell in love with. That said I'm not good at goodbyes and will hopefully return.

I can't think of a more relaxing setting to spend a week, it really did feel like much longer. The views of the valley, river or mill pond from almost every part of the property. My kids (OK and me) spent their down time in the barn which had the best WiFi, table tennis table and great comfy sofas.

There are three houses to rent but Cadran is the largest. It is spacious and rustic but with all the mod cons you would ever need. My kids were hugely impressed by the fridge having water, ice and crushed ice dispenser settings.

We visited Omaha Beach, Bayeux, Vire, St Lo, Torigni sur Vire easily from here. We spent a wonderful Sunday afternoon at Le Viaduc which is only around 10 minutes drive away and looks to a favourite with locals. There was a large crowd cheering on bungee jumping (no thanks) and there was a fantastic luge (mini individual rollercoaster) which the kids loved and was great value (even better value before midday at 20 euros for 13 tokens).

If you like rural France and want to tour Normandy then you should really consider Le Moulin L'Eveque.

Thanks for a lovely stay Johnnie and Lyn, I genuinely hope to see you both again in the future.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2016
Thanks for the positive feedback Simon. Delighted that you and the family enjoyed yourselves, and I'm sure all you have written will be beneficial to future visitors>
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James D
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A little slice of rustic heaven”
Reviewed 26 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a week at Le Moulin l'Eveque. We stayed in the biggest Gite which has three bedrooms and comes with its own outdoor space including a charcoal BBQ and loungers. Come the afternoon the garden is a sun trap and a great spot to relax after a days sightseeing. We found the Gite to be perfect for our stay. We are a family of four (2 adults, 2 kids ages 9 and 6), my sister and fiancé joined us from Australia as well and our dog Alfie. The Gite accommodated us perfectly and there was plenty of chairs around the table (both indoor and outside) and in the lounge room for everyone. The kitchen has everything you could possibly need - just remember to bring enough food and drinks for your first night or two as there wasn't much open in the little town on Saturday. The main bathroom has a great shower (with massage option but no bath). There is also another shower room and one of the bedrooms has an ensuite toilet. Both Johnny and Lyn were fantastic hosts and gave us lots of great tips for day trips and eating out. Definitely check out The Viaduct (about 10 min drive from the Gite) which has lots of adrenalin activities including bungee jumping, high swings, a luge and other activities for the whole family. If you have a dog with you can even walk up to the lower area of The Viaduct in about an hour from the Gites just ask your hosts for directions. My daughters loved the horses, cats and dog and all the activities in the barn and river. They picked berries with Lyn and fed the horses. What a fantastic week! We will definitely return. Book it up - you won't be disappointed!

Le Moulin l'Eveque is perfectly located near the town of Vire which has a pool with watersides and you can take the train to Paris in under 2 hours. We went to Bayoux and saw the Bayoux Tapestry and the stunning Cathedral. You could also do the D Day beaches the same day. Villediey-les-Poeles has agreat market on Tuesdays which was fantastic for food, clothing and brass/copper items. Another day we drove to Avranches and took a walk through the town (lovely view of Mont Saint Michel from the Botanical Gardens) and then drove onto Granville via Genets. Granville was beautiful and you can go swimming, paragliding over the cliffs, check out the Christian Dior Museum and Gardens and eat some lovely local seafood including the local speciality Whelks. Definitely try the Le Routier for dinner one night. It's fantastic value and a great experience - ask Lyn.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The activities in the barn, farm animals, the river and tranquility
Liked least: Road closures but these couldn't be helped
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2016
Thank you James for this lovely review. you did pack a lot into a week but still managed to spend some relaxing in the garden and taking in the sounds of the river. I look forward to seeing you all again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonyaE68
1 review
“Idyllic”
Reviewed 23 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Superb home in a beautiful setting with lovely hosts. Perfect for visiting the beaches, museums, Bayeux and Mont St Michel, to name just a few.

Drive through stunning scenery to a market everyday and enjoy a local patisserie.

Or, if you're really adventurous visit the viaduc for a bungee jump or giant swing.

Perfect.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2016
Thank you Sonya. Glad you all had a good time during your weeks stay here at le moulin l'Eveque. It's always nice to see 3 generations of the same family enjoying time together
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing