We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from Jean Lafitte Swamp Tours tend to sell out - travellers recommend booking in advance!
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Reviews (948)
Filter reviews
948 results
Traveller rating
733
135
40
14
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
733
135
40
14
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews airboat tour captain jason baby gator captain chip small airboat live gator small air boat new orleans great tour pontoon boat small gator hotel pickup national park take pictures knew his stuff smaller boat highlight of our trip
Filter
Updating list...
130 - 135 of 948 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Always wanted to do an airboat ride and am glad we did. The tour was informative - Lane was great! Easy pick up at our hotel so we didn’t have to try and drive out there. You can choose between a large and small airboat or a pontoon boat. We did the large airboat and thought it was great. The ride was a big part of the fun, so I would have been very disappointed with the slow pontoon. We went in April and didn’t need bug spray, but I can imagine that at other times of the year you ‘d want some. No matter what time of the year, sunscreen is a must. No food (can buy water and maybe soda) so make sure you eat before heading out - the trip from pick up to drop off was 4 hours.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank dhnc2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bigeasydotcom, Communications Specialist at Jean Lafitte Swamp Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Sounds like y'all had a great time on your first airboat ride! We do recommend sunscreen and bug spray during the summertime and we don't allow food on the boats but we do offer lunch at Restaurant Des Familles with your swamp tour. Thank you for your review and we hope you enjoy the rest of your trip in the Big Easy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

The swamp tour I took was in a regular boat and not air-boat. It lasted 1.5 hours going through the swamp leisurely. We saw not only the very interesting swamps waterways and alligators but also other wild animals like turtles, nesting bald-eagle and owl. The guide was very informative and lighthearted.
You get the chance to hold baby alligator but like other reviewers I did not like the idea. It felt lime animals abuse but others may enjoy it.
If you drive yourself there (About 45-50 Miles from New Orleans) you save as compared to paying tour company that would charge you more for transportation. They have a parking lot. I purchased my ticket online.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank tzraik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bigeasydotcom, Communications Specialist at Jean Lafitte Swamp Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

So Glad you enjoyed yourself on the bayou and all the information we had to share about its ecosystem! As for the cute lil gators, we take good care of them. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

My family and I booked the Jean Lefitte Swamp Tour over the phone last week. We provided them with all of our information and I received a conformation email. They told us to be ready outside our hotel. Our group of 4 was ready for a fun swamp adventure and stood outside our hotel starting at 8:30. At 9:05 we still had not seen the bus, I called the company and they said that the bus driver was running late and was on their way to pick us up. At 9:30 I called the company again and they said that the tour bus came to the hotel, LEFT WITHOUT US, and was NOT COMING TO PICK US UP. We were waiting outside for an hour to be told that they came to our hotel and picked up a group of people (at some other entrance that we were told not to be at) and left without making sure they had all of the people scheduled on the tour. Such a terrible experience. Heed my warning, DO NOT BOOK WITH THIS COMPANY. Such a waste of time and completely unprofessional.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Jenna369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bigeasydotcom, Communications Specialist at Jean Lafitte Swamp Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

We apologize for your experience with our pickup service. Some hotels have multiple entrances/exits and if they do we make sure that our passengers know where to stand for their pickup. We strive to make our pickups smooth and easy for our passengers and here it seems there was a gap in communication. Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

This was a very enjoyable tour in the Louisiana swamps. The gators hiding and relaxing spots were known by the boat captain so we saw a good number. We also had the opportunity to hold a small Gator. Overall a good tour... definitely find a groupon to

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank byings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

We really enjoyed this excursion. The location is easy to find and well laid out. We were told which boat to board on our tour started on time. The tour guide was cheesy funny and ensured that everyone had a chance to see all the animals. Lots of gators but also some birds and other animals.
The best is getting to hold a gator at the end.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Allen0116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews