We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 am - 11:59 pm
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from Oxalis Adventures tend to sell out - travellers recommend booking in advance!
  
Ways to Experience Oxalis Adventures
from USD 350.00
More Info
from USD 670.00
More Info
Reviews (1,320)
Filter reviews
1,314 results
Traveller rating
1,206
75
15
13
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,206
75
15
13
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tu lan hang en cave son doong bao phong nha base camp once in a lifetime porter team professional company local community food was amazing every meal day tour great adventure great company trekking experience amazing experience
Filter
Updating list...
489 - 494 of 1,314 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2017

2 day/1 night Hang Va Expedition - Definitely recommend.

- booked and paid online without any issues. Dao was helpful in answering my questions on the diff tours. We wanted an adventurous tour with photo opportunities and we are so glad we chose this one.
- All details provided on website re tour is accurate.
- Our guide was Vu and he was excellent from briefing to farewell. Spoke well, informative and knowledgable. He was aware of each participants fitness level and attentive. Also went above and beyond in certain scenarios - excellent customer service. We would certainly seek him out if we had the opportunity to do another Oxalis tour.
- To get to/from the caves you trek up and down a hill with about 150m elevation gain. It is strenuous - be ready for scrambling. It was fairly muddy so I was happy I borrowed their hiking shoes.
- Exploring the caves are obviously the highlight. Beautiful and so much fun - especially wading and swimming in the cave.
- Food was plentiful and tasty. Also had a variety of dishes. Very impressive since we are in the middle of nowhere. The chef and kitchen staff also hike in with the group with the supplies on every tour. Hot drinks and snacks were great too.
- Campsite: Tidy. Had 2 compost toilets and 1 changing tent. No running water or electricity.

Tips:
- you really don't need to take a lot of things for the night. Listen to the guide - they really know best. Remember though - no running water and no electricity. So power bank and wipes are handy.
- if you borrow the shoes, try to get insoles for extra comfort. Thanks to some other reviews that recommended this great tip.
- some participants departed on the afternoon we returned. I would recommend staying another night in Phang Nha - get a nice shower and sleep before continuing on your journey.
- Quick dry clothing is so important for comfort. I wore convertible pants which were easy to take off when wet by zipping off lower legs.
- Take bug spay.
- Enjoy your trip!

Date of experience: May 2017
1  Thank travelbugslc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OxalisAdvTours, Manager at Oxalis Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Dear TravelBug,

Thank you for joining us on Hang Va Expedition tour and leave us a very detailed review on TripAdvisor!

Hang Va Expedition is a unique journey to explore the world's rarest formation of cave, we believe you had a wonderful time with us. All of the guide, guide assistant and porter team worked hard to maintain your safety and give you the best time in the jungle & cave!

Thank you once again and hope to have the chance to welcome you back again for another amazing adventure with us!

Regards,
Oxalis Adventure Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

Awesome trip with Oxalis Team!
5d/4n expedition to the Son Doong Cave with Oxalis Team was one of the most fantastic adventure in my life. Guys, i just want to say: thanks a lot to all of your crew! And I hope, that next year I'll see you again.
Every little point of this adventure was perfect from your side: Brilliant food from Mr. Ha, I never eat so good in Vietnam! 10/10. Brilliant work of our group of guides and porters... Nice tents. Excellent camp locations... Our team leader - Phan Đình Dũng - Mr. Seven - I'm very glad to meet you, my friend. I can't describe this amazing trip by words. Thanks to all of you one more time.
This magnificent trip was only your merit!!!

Date of experience: August 2017
2  Thank Ilia_Buzanov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OxalisAdvTours, Manager at Oxalis Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Dear Ilia,

Thank you for joining us on the Son Doong Expedition tour and your comments about us made our day here in Phong Nha!

It's our pleasure to have you on the tour and satisfy you with our hard work. Son Doong Expedition is a like-no-other journey to give you the opportunity to explore the world's largest cave, and very limit number of participants can approach the cave each year. You should be proud of yourself for joining and conquering it successfully.

We will surely pass on your beautiful words to Mr. Dũng and the crew. Hope to have the chance to welcome you back in Phong Nha next year for another adventure with us!

Regards,
Oxalis Adventure Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

I did the Tu Lan 2 Day Tour and I really loved it. Our guide Ken did not only do a great job showing us around but he also helped everybody getting the best possible pictures on their phones/camera.
The trek was not too hard and the guides always made sure we had enough breaks and water.
The supplied food was not only plenty but also delicious. They even brought sweet snacks for everybody (included).
Unlike some other tour providers the equipment used on our tour was in perfect condition and I always felt perfectly safe.
After asking, Ken managed to get one of the assisting-guides to accompany three people of our tour back to a second visit of Tu Lan cave in the morning of our second day so we could take more pictures.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank stefanm407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OxalisAdvTours, Manager at Oxalis Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Dear Stefan,

Thank you for joining us on Tu Lan Cave Encounter 2D1N tour and left a inspirational review on TripAdvisor!

We're happy to know you had a great time with Ken and the team, we're sure that they worked hard to achieve your satisfaction and it's well worth it! While doing the tour, we wants to bring you the best moments in nature but also the great experiences of food, service, facilities..

We believe you had a journey of a lifetime and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in Phong Nha in the future!

Regards,
Oxalis Adventure Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

We did a 2d1n tour of Tu Lan cave and it was genuinely one of the best things I've done in my life - up there with Machu Pichu in terms of mind blowing tourism. Definitely the best thing we did in Vietnam!
Our guides Hung and Hieu were super professional and safe the whole time, they looked after us and helped us throughout and were very good company as well.
The food provided was excellent at all stages, as was the equipment (helmets, torches, dry bag, rucksack, life jacket, gloves). The tent and sleeping bag were in great condition and we slept really well.
Above all, the caves were unreal - do this before it becomes a huge tourist destination in the next few years. It was amazing to go in such a small group (we were 13, total) and swim and trek through them in their untouched state.
It was extremely community focused too, employing lots of locals and contributing charitably to the area. Owned by a local man who gives back. Environmentally aware too.
100% worth the money - couldn't have been better.

Date of experience: August 2017
2  Thank KatSandwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OxalisAdvTours, Manager at Oxalis Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Dear Kat,

Thank you for joining us on Tu Lan Cave Encounter in 2 days/1 night tour and reviewed us on TripAdvisor!

We're glad to know you enjoyed it at the best with Hung, Hieu and the rest of the team. All of the team members are qualified to take care of you or any of the customers in remote area including camping, caving facilities or even in emergency situations. The group size is limited in small group to make sure all of you can experience the best of nature while maintain the safety on top priorities.

We put a lot of efforts on supporting the local community as well financially or mentally. Most of the team members are from locals and they now earn stable incomes.

Thank you for the understanding and encouraging comments, we hope to have the chance to welcome you back in Phong Nha soon in future for another amazing adventure!

Regards,
Oxalis Adventure Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

Had a great time trekking through the jungle and staying over in Hang En. Our guides were personable, professional and tireless! There was always someone to help you cross a rough river, apply ointment to a bee bite or pull a leech off your ankle! As a first time trekker, I found the trek to be a little challenging (going down the mountain was easier than climbing up...you will sweat buckets), but all the more rewarding when completed. Oxalis provides drinking water, trekking boots, a helmet and headlight, gloves, a tent and mattress, meals etc. All you need to bring is your necessities for the night, a light long sleeved shirt, high socks and light pants (tights are not advised for ladies as the leeches can still get you!). Over all, an incredible experience. A big thank you to our guides Tha and Dat for making it so memorable. I hope to come back and conquer Son Doong cave with Oxalis.

Date of experience: August 2017
2  Thank NathanLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OxalisAdvTours, Manager at Oxalis Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Dear Nathan,

Thank you for joining us in Hang En Adventure tour and left beautiful review on TripAdvisor!

Hang En Adventure is quite a challenging journey for someone with little trekking experiences, but hey, you made it back successfully and you should be proud of yourself! Let's say this is the very first start for your adventures ahead and we cannot wait to see you back again for many more of exciting journey with us!

Looking forward to it!

Regards,
Oxalis Adventure Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews