We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 am - 8:00 pm
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Houmas House Plantation and Gardens
from USD 26.28
More Info
from USD 169.00
More Info
Reviews (1,515)
Filter reviews
1,515 results
Traveller rating
1,178
232
59
20
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,178
232
59
20
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gift shop our tour guide bette davis gardens are beautiful southern belle new orleans period costume live oaks river road old south water features hush hush oak alley mint julep baton rouge the main house southern hospitality
Filter
Updating list...
166 - 171 of 1,515 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018

Beautiful mansion, breathtaking gardens/scenery. Our tour guide was very informative and charming. The food, beverages, and service were all top notch.

Date of experience: April 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank tbarbree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

Had and amazing time beautiful property lots of history great food! The tourd guide was very knowledgable and etertaining I would definitely go back again.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank gespino12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

We took a bus tour from New Orleans to Houmas House. There is a short film about the history of the house. Guided house tours are a included. We had an excellent mint julep in the tiny Turtle Bar.

Date of experience: April 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Retiredtraveller27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

We booked a tour of Houmas house that involved pick up in downtown New Orleans. Everything about this tour was great!! It was the perfect amount of time, and it was really nice to spend the day doing something a little more low-key and away from the Bourbon Street craziness. The bus was very comfortable and arrived just before 10:30 at the Marriott downtown. Our driver was very friendly and was waiting for us to return at 2:30. He was even willing to drop us off after getting off the highway because we happened to be right down the street from our AirBnB, saving us a good 30 minutes in travel time and allowing us more time to enjoy our afternoon. As for the house, gardens, and guided tour, it was beautiful, informative, and super fun!! The tour lasts one hour, and then you have the rest of the time to wander around the beautiful property or get lunch at the restaurant on property. We had lunch, which was delicious, and got a drink at the Turtle Bar which is very cool inside!!! You should definitely pop in to take a look. Overall it was a super fun day and would highly recommend this tour to anyone looking for a glimpse into the history of old Louisiana!!

Date of experience: March 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Kendall474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

This is a plantation home located in Darrow, Louisiana on the banks of the Mississippi River. The home is rich with history and is beautiful throughout. The site also boasts a restaurant, cafe, and coffee bar. The beautiful gardens are numerous and immaculate. We spent 4 hours here, but plan to return to enjoy this beautiful home with more leisure. We also plan to introduce friends to Houmas House and look forward to having them enjoy it too! It is a lovely place to visit in south Louisiana.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank 2travel2eurorpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews