We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing man, amazing contribution”

Muhammad Ali Center
Ranked #9 of 171 things to do in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in the heart of historic downtown Louisville, Kentucky, the Muhammad Ali Center is a cultural attraction and international education center inspired by the ideals of hometown hero Muhammad Ali. The Ali Center features 2 levels of award-winning exhibits, a five-screen orientation theater film, historic Civil Rights era media footage, video of Ali fights, interactive boxing fun, two art galleries, children's Hope and Dream wall, meeting and event space, retail store and more.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing man, amazing contribution”
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Start at the top and work your way down. Whether your kids know about Ali or not, they will find something interesting in the museum. Old and young alike will love this museum... we all did. Muhammad Ali is an inspiration and his legacy will continue to inspire.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank PopCosmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    524
    198
    48
    11
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Much more than a museum”
Reviewed 12 March 2012

I knew I would enjoy the Ali Center, but had no idea how much. The interactive displays are fun, but the best part is the how Ali's life events are all put into context. Everything becomes much more meaningful when you understand what was going on in Louisville, America and the world around him.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank rachel16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring Grove
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“It's the "greatest"”
Reviewed 9 March 2012

A must stop when in Louisville. Not only for the boxing history, but more so, for the "goodness" of the greatest....

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank buddybo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Wow. This museum brought tears to my eyes.”
Reviewed 5 March 2012

This was one of my favorite museums in the US and how it deals with one mans journey through life that encompasses civil rights, religion, athletics, inner spirit, intelligence (as defined by the testing standards), peace, community, and the list goes on. Go here with an open mind. You will learn about the man Cassius Clay, born poor in Louisville, but you will learn more about US history and the times he lived in and why he became Muslim. I left with tears in my eyes and a better understanding of watching perhaps the Greatest Fighter that has ever lived.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kathyfm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Claus, Indiana
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Cool”
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Neat place named after a neat guy from the great state of Kentucky!

Helpful?
Thank K F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Muhammad Ali Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing