We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great airport location, but very average hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Louisville Airport
Ranked #10 of 98 Hotels in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 22 May 2012

First, the positives. The location is great if you are using the airport, expo center, Louisville Athletics, or Churchill Downs. All but the airport are walkable- and there is a shuttle for that. I 65 and 264 are very accessible.
The fitness center and pool area are nice, but are a little small for an 8-story hotel. That being said, equipment was available and it was appointed nicely.
Check in and out was easy and smooth.

Unfortunately, there are some negatives. The room was super average. There were clearly no perks or upgrades available for Hilton Diamond status. In fact, there didn't seem to be any benefits for HIlton Honors at all at this property.
Back to the accommodations. The hallway on the fifth floor smelled a bit. Kind of a subtle, rotting garbage. Not overpowering, but not pleasant. When I opened my room door, it was worse. Someone had tried to cover up the garbage with an awful perfume odor. Now it smelled like cheap perfume and garbage. Not awful enough to ask for a new room; but irritating. The next treat was the plumbing.
Have you ever had a toilet with a slow leak? you can hear the water slowly trickling through, then every 5-10 minutes enough leaks out of the tank that the fill gets triggered and you've got the tank filling up. Because of that, sleep was rough. Again, I didn't feel it was necessary to get dressed and call an engineer to fix it in the middle of the night, but it was annoying.
I had hoped to let the front desk know of my experiences on check out, but they never asked. My only passive aggressive recourse is an extremely mediocre review.
If you don't need to stay at the airport, I suggest the hotels downtown or on the East End.

Room Tip: Don't know. All the views should be decent, (airport/expo on one side, U of L football/Churchil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TDbusiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (894)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

834 - 838 of 894 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2012

The Hilton Garden Hotel was clean, convenient (nothing in Louisville is too far away), and the room was a great value for the rate charged, as was the breakfast. The breakfast buffet offered a large selection, including made-to-order omelets and waffles. The staff was friendly and helpful. All in all, a nice hotel and we will stay there again. Our only disappointment was the Hilton version of the sleep number bed: the mattress was fine, but turning the dial never changed the firmness at all.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simonthecellar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Hilton Garden Inns are always nice locations to stay and this was no exception. Even though this was only a one night stay, the hotel took care of us as if we were staying the whole week. We arrived early for an event and they were able to check us in and as a result, we were able to enjoy breakfast.
Wonderful location!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Just a one night stay with family (husband, sister-in-law and 5 kids under 7) and the Hilton Garden Inn Louisville Airport was spectacular. The accommodations were perfect for our huge group. The indoor pool and spa was well-used to keep our kid crew entertained. The breakfast deal was a great addition as we paid $5 for all 8 to dine (we tipped pretty lavishly to counter the 5 kids factor). Easy to get to and just about everything you could ask for in a quick get away.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cindy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Each access, friendly staff. Nice. Breakfast for four included in my package. Amazing food. Small but nice pool area. I will return! :)

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JillT2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Hyatt Regency Louisville
#11 of 98 in Louisville
1,428 reviews
Fairgrounds
Crowne Plaza Hotel Louisville-Airport KY Expo Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairgrounds
Hampton Inn Louisville Airport
South Side
Courtyard Louisville Airport
Courtyard Louisville Airport
#50 of 98 in Louisville
258 reviews
Fairgrounds
Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Louisville Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Louisville Airport

Address: 2735 Crittenden Dr, Louisville, KY 40209-1113
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > Fairgrounds , South Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Louisville
#7 Family Hotel in Louisville
#11 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
#18 Business Hotel in Louisville
Price Range: $161 - $400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Louisville Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hilton Garden Inn Louisville Airport hotel. We are located in the airport corridor, five minutes from downtown. We are convenient to a variety of local restaurants, the corporate offices of Yum! Brands and attractions like Churchill Downs, the University of Louisville and the Kentucky Expo Center. Enjoy easy access to Interstate 65 and Interstate 264. Stay connected while traveling with complimentary WiFi throughout our Louisville, KY hotel. Feel at home with complimentary amenities including a 24-hour business center, fitness center, indoor pool and 24-hour airport shuttle service. The restaurant serves hearty cuisine for breakfast and dinner, and the 24-hour pantry offers beverages and snacks. Select from 9,000 sq. ft. of flexible function space for business meetings or social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Hilton Hotels Direct, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Louisville Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Louisville Airport Hotel Louisville
Hilton Louisville
Louisville Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing