We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful find.”

Museum of the American Printing House for the Blind
Ranked #54 of 176 things to do in Louisville
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Looking for a unique Louisville experience? Founded in 1858, the American Printing House for the Blind is a company like no other. We're the world's largest creator of braille and educational aids for blind users. And you can watch them being made, step-by-step, as you tour our facility. During your FREE visit, you will: -Write your own name in braille. -See books printed on century-old braille presses and modern digital versions. -Explore the efforts of generations of blind and visually impaired students, teachers, and inventors to overcome obstacles to learning. -Handle braille books, tactile maps, and globes. -Tour a working recording studio where "Talking Books" are made. Located on historic Frankfort Avenue, the American Printing House for the Blind is within easy walking distance of charming shops and restaurants.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Stairs / lift
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A wonderful find.”
Reviewed 5 May 2012

We found this museum/ business on trip advisor. We took the kids for a field trip. It was wonderful. Excellent friendly staff. We all learned so much!

Helpful?
1 Thank SleepDr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    10
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
221 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Must see”
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Being blind is like living in a whole other world. With this tour one gets a small glimpse into that world. The ingenuity used to create aids for a sightless world is unbelievable. I learned so much and hopefully you will as well.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank MTravi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Tour of Plant and Museum”
Reviewed 6 April 2012

This should be a definite "must see" for everyone visiting Louisville. The tour of the plant is so interesting and you get to see people actually working in the factory. The tour guide took us into the museum area after the plant tour and touched on several "highlights" of the museum. We were then left to browse on our own. There was sooo much to see and read so we decided to go eat lunch and then return. Since the museum is free, we were able to do that without any problem. Would like to go back some other time, as it is hard to take it all in on one visit. Really amazing to see the progress since the 1700's.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank retired13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great if it Interests You”
Reviewed 28 March 2012

I thoroughly enjoyed my visit to the American Printing House for the Blind, but the visit was important to me because I was interested in the types of resources available for blind students and the history of Braille. I'm a teacher and have a cousin who is blind, so the topic was of particular interest to me. You are able to use a stylus and slate and write your name in Braille. There are even Braille typewriters.

If you are interested in the subject matter or you want to learn more about resources available to the blind, then I recommend this attraction.

The factory tour is only available at two times - 10am and 2pm, so plan your visit accordingly if you wish to tour the factory as well.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Tas05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Bend, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Informative and Fun!”
Reviewed 9 September 2011

The tours are great, the guide having been a former teacher for the blind. Ours was one on one, and she was very knowledgable and kind. She showed us all sorts of tools and books that are currently being used for their education. Not only did we get to see the factory and how things were printed, but we also saw books on tape being recorded and proof-read. She also taught us the alphabet in Braille and allowed us to type our names out to keep. The museum is great for adults. I don't know that I would recommend this place for small children, but older ones would like it I think. The tour is probably about an hour long, but at the end you can spend as much time as you like in the museum.

Overall, one of the best things we did while in Louisville. Plus, it's FREE!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank JLBurnett2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Museum of the American Printing House for the Blind also viewed

 

Been to Museum of the American Printing House for the Blind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing