We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little museum”

Louisville Slugger Museum & Factory
Ranked #2 of 178 things to do in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Batter up! It takes a special place to craft the #1 Bat in Major League Baseball. At Louisville Slugger Museum & Factory, experience history-in-the-making as you stroll through the actual factory where world-famous Louisville Slugger bats are created. The award-winning factory tour is a highlight of the visit here, but there's plenty more to enjoy along with it. Admire the World's Biggest Bat - stretching 120 feet into the sky. Hold bats actually used by baseball superstars like Mickey Mantle, Johnny Bench, Cal Ripken Jr. And Derek Jeter. Face down a 90-mph fastball hurled by a major league pitcher. Count the homerun notches Babe Ruth carved into his Louisville Slugger bat for every home run he hit with it. Step into the batting cages and take some swings with a replica model of your hero's bat. Guests even get a free miniature souvenir bat at the end of the factory tour. You can even create a bat with your own name on it, just like the pros. They make great gifts for all kinds of special occasions, from newborn babies, to groomsmen gifts, to team trophies and more. The museum store is also loaded with lots of sporty merchandise for every budget. Be sure to swing by! Please visit our official website for up-to-date hours and admission prices.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great little museum”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

I loved watching my son and husband in the batting cage.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,749 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,153
    1,314
    253
    23
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leadville, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A step back into history.”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Went on a Sunday and was able to park on street for free. Tour was $11.00 but worth it. Great demonstrations, exhibits and museum pieces. Give yourself at least an hour and half for the experience. Tour includes a small bat to take home.

Helpful?
1 Thank n0zeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Zurich, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great stop for baseball fans!”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Factory tour and displays were quite interesting. If you are a recreational baseball player or MLB fan, you will enjoy this museum. It was very interesting to see how they make the bats and see the ONE machine in the world that makes Louisville Slugger bats for the MLB players. Lots of hands on opportunities. You can even get your picture taken with a bat that a few of the standout MLB players have actually used. My husband had his taken with one of Cal Ripken's bats. Great place for young baseball fans. My boys would have LOVED this place!

Just spent the weekend in downtown Louisville. Also went to the Mohammad Ali Museum (which I highly recomment) and a concert (Van Halen!) at the KFC/Yum! Center. If you stay stay at a downtown hotel, everything is within walking distance. We stayed at the Galt House Inn and loved it! Very enjoyable weekend. We would definitely go back to downtown Louisville for a weekend getaway.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank SueZet80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temple, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

I posted the comments earlier, this was a very educational tour for someone who is not really a sport fan but loves history. I learn so much about baseball that I will view the next game with a different prospective.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmount, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“NFMS nice kids day out”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

You don't have to be baseball fan to enjoy. The smell of the wood being made into bats is wonderful. Has adjoining parking garage. Great for all age kids.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank bjbeckley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Louisville Slugger Museum & Factory also viewed

 

Been to Louisville Slugger Museum & Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing