We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes, the hype is real!”

Crank & Boom Ice Cream Lounge
Ranked #2 of 31 Dessert in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 3 - USD 9
Description: Crank & Boom Craft Ice Cream started in the back of our family restaurant, Thai Orchid Cafe, with one flavor: Coconut. After making ice cream for about 6 months as a simple dessert option, we noticed some customers were coming in to just buy the ice cream….and they didn’t order any Thai food. From there, we began serving our super premium ice cream at festivals, weddings, parties and schools. The company grew organically from community support and we opened Crank & Boom Ice Cream Lounge in June 2015 in the Lexington Distillery District. Our second location at the Barn at the Summit at Fritz Farm opened in September 2017. Crank & Boom is now sold with 40+ retail partners, like Kroger and Whole Foods and has supported hundreds of local non-profit and community organizations.
Restaurant details
Description: Crank & Boom Craft Ice Cream started in the back of our family restaurant, Thai Orchid Cafe, with one flavor: Coconut. After making ice cream for about 6 months as a simple dessert option, we noticed some customers were coming in to just buy the ice cream….and they didn’t order any Thai food. From there, we began serving our super premium ice cream at festivals, weddings, parties and schools. The company grew organically from community support and we opened Crank & Boom Ice Cream Lounge in June 2015 in the Lexington Distillery District. Our second location at the Barn at the Summit at Fritz Farm opened in September 2017. Crank & Boom is now sold with 40+ retail partners, like Kroger and Whole Foods and has supported hundreds of local non-profit and community organizations.
Reviewed 30 April 2019

We asked around for the "best ice cream in Lexington" and what we discovered is basically the Best Ice Cream on the Planet. Unique flavors, great atmosphere, and friendly & fun employees exemplify this cult ice cream shop in a rehabbed warehouse. It sits in the midst of hip bars which live music at night in an ultra-cool area of Lexington. Must visit!

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tw136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ToaG2, Owner at Crank & Boom Ice Cream Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2019

Thanks for stopping by! We're so happy that you got to be a part of the "hype"!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (258)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 78 of 259 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2019 via mobile

Superb! Marvelous flavors well executed. A must visit. Wonderful recreation of flavor in ice cream. Don’t miss it.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Jim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2019

Have been to Crank and Boom several times and it offers superb, hand-crafted premium icecream with a variety of flavors. They also a potent, locally roasted coffee that is a good compliment to a cone or cup. The servings are plentiful so if you get a double scoop, you'd better be hungry. Tastes/contrasts in the flavors are amazing!

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2019 via mobile

This is a don’t miss experience in Lexington. Our son has applied/been accepted at UK - and we’re hoping he’ll go there so we can enjoy this on the regular.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank annaO3208AJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2019 via mobile

My wife and I stopped on the road. After having pizza nearby we came here for ice cream. Smooth and creamy. Nice place and outside seating.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank AymanPhD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Crank & Boom Ice Cream Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Crank & Boom Ice Cream Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.