We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible!”

Crank & Boom Ice Cream Lounge
Ranked #1 of 112 Quick Bites in Lexington
Price range: AU$4 - AU$13
Description: Crank & Boom Craft Ice Cream started in the back of our family restaurant, Thai Orchid Cafe, with one flavor: Coconut. After making ice cream for about 6 months as a simple dessert option, we noticed some customers were coming in to just buy the ice cream….and they didn’t order any Thai food. From there, we began serving our super premium ice cream at festivals, weddings, parties and schools. The company grew organically from community support and we opened Crank & Boom Ice Cream Lounge in June 2015 in the Lexington Distillery District. Our second location at the Barn at the Summit at Fritz Farm opened in September 2017. Crank & Boom is now sold with 40+ retail partners, like Kroger and Whole Foods and has supported hundreds of local non-profit and community organizations.
Restaurant details
Description: Crank & Boom Craft Ice Cream started in the back of our family restaurant, Thai Orchid Cafe, with one flavor: Coconut. After making ice cream for about 6 months as a simple dessert option, we noticed some customers were coming in to just buy the ice cream….and they didn’t order any Thai food. From there, we began serving our super premium ice cream at festivals, weddings, parties and schools. The company grew organically from community support and we opened Crank & Boom Ice Cream Lounge in June 2015 in the Lexington Distillery District. Our second location at the Barn at the Summit at Fritz Farm opened in September 2017. Crank & Boom is now sold with 40+ retail partners, like Kroger and Whole Foods and has supported hundreds of local non-profit and community organizations.
Reviewed 28 March 2019 via mobile

Small establishment but ice cream and craft drinks were superb! The gentleman working the front counter was amazing, he made the experience so great. Gourmet ice cream, made in house, you have to try it!

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank BucketTravelerSis
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (309)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 136 of 309 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2019 via mobile

If there is a line, it is worth the wait. The bourbon-honey ice cream is great as I normally pair with buttermilk-blackberry but, I finally changed it up tonight and went for the coffee stout with buttermilk black berry. It is an awesome combo. My son had mint oreo.. loved it! My wife had salted caramel as her go to staple - great as always. We plan vacation around stopping in at least twice. See you again soon!

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank cyberchef67
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 March 2019

the honey and bourbon ice cream is absolutely to die for! Even though my body doesn't always love dairy, I took the risk and wasn't sorry.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank 61megano
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 March 2019 via mobile

They make the best ice cream in town. I especially love the blueberry lime cheesecake ice cream. The sundaes are good too. Scoops are pricey, but it’s a worthy occasional splurge.

Date of visit: February 2019
1  Thank robinr740
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 February 2019 via mobile

If you are looking for a wonderful treat then you have found the right place for some of the best ice cream you've ever tasted! They use quality, real ingredients that are locally sourced to make their ice cream. Located in a hip, fun area of Lexington in the distillery district (also in the Summit at Fritz Farm now too) but seriously it's also served at restaurants and you can buy it at some of the grocery stores too. I love the bourbon and honey but seriously it's all good here. There's coconut which they are famous for and you can also get a "spiked" scoop here too if you would like. So I'd recommend it for families or those who are going on the bourbon trail too. There is something here for everyone and there's a reason it's so popular as it's just really really good. You won't be disappointed.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank pattiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Crank & Boom Ice Cream Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Crank & Boom Ice Cream Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.