We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxation at it's best”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Oak Lodge

Contemporary living, eco-friendly design, all the comforts for a great getaway
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Contemporary living, eco-friendly design, all the comforts for a great getaway
Bi-fold doors open onto the wide sun-deck and private garden The open plan living room is comfortably furnished, with armchair and large sofa
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Contemporary living, eco-friendly design, all the comforts for a great getaway
Bi-fold doors open onto the wide sun-deck and private garden
The open plan living room is comfortably furnished, with armchair and large sofa
The spacious south-facing decking is equipped for outdoor dining and lounging in the sun
The deck area is for evening use too, with ample and atmospheric lighting.
In countryside in the heart of East Anglia, close to the attractive town of Bury St Edmunds
The bedroom has ample wardrobe space, a dressing table/desk, small TV/DVD player, and patio doors
Comfort levels are high - all windows and doors are triple glazed, and there is underfloor heating
The Elizabethan Wyken Hall and Vineyards, a short drive or pleasant country walk away.
Our two lodges are situated in our large garden, but within their own private space
Just a short walk away, Sid's Piece is Stanton's local wildlife reserve.
Oak Lodge is one of just two high specification lodges, each with private garden and secure parking.
The dining table has its own stylish lamp for a romantic dining experience
The fully equipped kitchen will keep most cooks happy, with four hobs, conventional oven and freezer
You will find the large shower in the stylish contemporary bathroom
Suffolk has a wealth of local food producers, and a small selection of food will greet you
Suffolk is one of the driest and sunniest parts of the UK - enjoy the al fresco experience!
The dining area is close to the modern kitchen, which also includes dishwasher and a washing machine
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Stanton, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
burdee67
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Relaxation at it's best”
Reviewed 2 February 2018 for a stay in November 2017

The lodge is set in its own secluded setting, and has all the top notch facilities you require. Very well laid out and decorated to a very high standard. Debbie and Ian are available to assist with help should you need it. A lovely welcome basket on arrival and a welcome letter (Hand Written) Personal touch. Lots of attractions to visit, Cambridge, Norfolk and Bury St Edmunds and on return to the lodge to unwind from all the walking a spell in the hot tub is worth having at the end of the day. Definitely the place to go back and stay. An enjoyable 4 weeks.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Feb 2018
Thanks for choosing to stay at Oak Lodge, and for your kind comments. Much appreciated!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellen C
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic up to date accommodation”
Reviewed 4 July 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Oak Lodge near Stanton in sunny Suffolk was the perfect place to base ourselves for a few days in Suffolk. Spotlessly clean with every modern amenity, it was also private and very quiet. The front garden with large timber deck was also appreciated as a sunny spot for a quiet drink. Handy to the local pub and shop, with plenty of parking, Oak Lodge was a great start to our 7 week EnglandWales/Europe holiday. Thanks for welcoming us and making us feel right at home.
Ellen and ken

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jul 2017
Great to hear you found everything to your liking. We're lucky that Suffolk is one of the sunniest counties in the UK of course! Hope the rest of your grand tour was everything you wanted it to be.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June H
2 reviews
“Perfect ”
Reviewed 30 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We went to oak cottage for a five day break. Wow what an amazing home from home. We will be returning in the summer. Everything you need is here. Spotless modern..yet so homely..Thank you

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2016
Your review is greatly appreciated and we hope to see you again. Many thanks.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly B
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gem of a find! ”
Reviewed 25 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Wow! Oak lodge is breath taking in its own private garden, on arrival a short walk from the car park, beautiful surroundings and peacefully quiet, didn't hear anything from the other lodges even though they were all booked. A lovely welcome note and treats awaited such a lovely personal touch, with a really informative folder of local amenities!
I was looking for a last minute retreat for rest and relaxation and that is exactly what was achieved; very much a home from home feel with a good supply of books and dvd's to watch, if needed. Stanton is situated 30min drive to bury st Edmunds and plenty of information of other interests and things to do locally. I will definitely be returning!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2016
We're pleased to hear that Oak Lodge provided the peaceful break you were looking for, and thanks for submitting your review. We hope to see you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish B
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 6 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had another excellent stay at Oak Lodge this Bank Holiday, this time our friends came too and stayed next door in Cedar Lodge, which has a hot tub. We had a thoroughly lovely time, the weather was great, we cycled to the next village for lunch in the Blue Boar which I would highly recommend and also had dinner one evening in the Six Bells in Bardwell, again excellent food and a friendly landlord who gave us a lift home!! Ian and Debbie have done a great job with these lodges, they are building two new ones on site. They have south facing very private gardens and lots of birds come to visit. We will definitely be back again next year for another visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the spacious lodge
Liked least: not enough cutlery and glasses
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 May 2016
Thanks for a great review and we're pleased you found two pubs nearby which are well-known locally for their good food. We'd love to see you all back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing